We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel for our short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Versalles Hotel

Save Saved
You added Gran Versalles Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Gran Versalles Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Covarrubias 4, 28010 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 456 hotels in Madrid
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very good hotel for our short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, which was very convenient to get to by public transport from the airport (4.70 Euros for a single Metro ticket; line 8 (pink line) to terminus, Nuevos Ministerios and then line 10 (navy blue line) south to Alonso Martinez. The ticket machine at the Metro is easy to use and takes credit card. Allow yourself 45 minutes to 1 hour to get from airport to hotel, 30 mins for the metro if the connections are good and about 15 mins walk, 10 of which was needed to get between airport terminal and metro! Hotel was a few minutes walk from the station and located 20 minutes walk from Gran Via and a further 10 minutes walk from Plaza Mayor. We liked the area and felt safe, did not experience any hassle at all and we did wander off the beaten tracks several times.
Hotel and bedroom were clean, we were in room 405 a quiet room facing the court-yard with good Wi-Fi connections, we actually slept with the window open as we found the room warm, however as experienced by other light sleepers the walls were thin and we could hear our neighbours next door and the person above us. This would be the down-side of this hotel as I am a very light sleeper. It didn't bother my husband who can sleep through anything.
We loved the shower and all the toiletries on offer (comb, toothbrush, razor were included), and used the fridge to store our own water bottles and sandwich fillers!
We only had breakfast once here, cost us 9 Euros each plus VAT, which was for a "eat as much as you like buffet breakfast" (cooked breakfast was a selection of scrambled eggs, yucky bacon, some sort of meat and veg casserole which tasted ok), a selection of continental style cereals which we didn't try as not to our liking as looked too sweet and with not much texture, lots of sweet pastries, bread rolls, sliced white and their version of sliced brown bread which can be toasted, meat and cheese selection, fresh and pickled salad, a variety of fresh and dried fruit, a selection of yoghurt pots, a choice of 3 fruit juices and plenty of hot beverage choices.
We made use of the hotel computer opposite the lifts but it was so so so so slow.
All the receptionists were excellent - spoke very good English.

Room Tip: I've already given some tips but maybe try the top floor so that you don't get to hear peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    260
    66
    15
    7
See reviews for
54
156
22
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Nice hotel, good location, terrible wifi. The rooms are a good size, location is central as it is 2 metro stops to Gran Via. The only downfall to this hotel is the wifi signal. It was difficult to maintain a signal from the second floor and not much better from the lobby. I would recommend staying here if accessing the internet is not of importance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szentendre, Hungary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a week in February 2012. It was a girly trip, with my teenage daughter. We had a good time in Madrid, and the hotel definitely helped: the location was convenient, both for walking or for taking the public transport (clean and efficient metro system), and the evenings were quiet. We would often go back after lunch for a recharge, and the room was comfortable. The breakfast is sufficient and standard - being an espresso fan, I usually asked for one and the staff started bringing one without asking. By the way, there are several Starbucks and churros places in the area - definite plus for my daughter, and cheers you up on cold winter days! Mind you, Madrid has a mildish winter (depending of course on your definition) - in February it was around 12-15 degrees during the day, pleasant enough for long walks and even sitting outside, with plenty of sunshine!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel was just fine for the price. Clean and comfortable. The staff was not especially helpful but they were not useless either. We did not do the breakfast buffet because they are only open till 11 and we slept in alot. (Late nights are the norm in madrid!) We liked the cafeteria across the street. There is a lady there that spoke great english and was pretty nice. There is also a starbucks. The best part is its location to a subway stop. I was impressed with the cleaning staff as they always managed to get the room clean even though we were sleeping in so late. the only drawback was the noise. The walls are on the thin side, but it didn't bother me too much. my internet connection was great. there are two computers downstairs with printers if needed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rzeszow, Poland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We got spacious room, matching what we wanted. Location is good, but you need 15 minutes on foot to reach old city centre. Breakfast was good, but not anything exceptional. Beds were comfortable enough. However, they advertise high-speed internet connection and even if you will be able to connect, forget about any speed at all. It's like using modem 10 years ago. Plus, you get disconnected every 10 minutes.
Another story are the pillows, very hard, long and rather uncomfortable. Cleaning staff a bit noisy and not very polite.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Another review said the staff were older, yes, they were but, they were professional and pleasant to us. the Hotel iteself was comfortable and clean. There were English language newspapers in the lobby as well as fruit and umbrellas to borrow when it rained. We were able to purchase some tours from the front desk. We did have some charges made to us that were incorrect and the front staff corrected the problem with no discussion when we checked out. We did order a dinner from the resturant in the hotel. I WOULD NOT EAT THERE! THE FOOD IS MICROWAVED! NOT PREPARED FRESH. They were pleasant enough to remove the charge from our bill when I complained that we could not even eat the meal. They did so without making us feel uncomfortable. We really appreciated that fact. They were professional top to bottom. Everyone on the front desk spoke english well. There are resturants across the street. There is a market one block east and one block west. (turn right out of the hotel go to the end of the block turn left go one block turn right and it is on the left side. We were able to snacks and drinks there. There are only English speaking news channels on the TV, so one evening we found a Theatre that showed the movies in English.(V.O- Version originale) Got to see the new James Bond movie in English. Most of the small resturants don't open until 8:30pm. The two across the street are open all the time. I'm asian american.
There is a self serve laudry an 8 min (timed it)walk from the hotel as you head south toward the Grand Via. The Gran Via is an additional 10 min further south. There is a bus stop right around the corner as well as a metro stop. Everything was close. We bought a 5 day tourist pass at the airport that got us into town and with one transfer got to the Alonzo Martinez metro stop. It was reasonable and easy to use. We were able to use a car transfer company to get us to the airport for an early morning departure for 24 euros. We had a great time in Madrid but, watch your purse. My wife got pickpocketed on the metro.
This is a definite yes as to a return stay at the Gran Vesalles. The biggest reason. The front desk staff were attentive and responsive to our needs and concerns. A huge plus when you want things to be perfect for your stay

Room Tip: We had a room that faced the street. It was a tad hot for us so we opened the window. this neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Clean hotel and Convenient to the metro.Not a bad place at all to rest your tired feet after a long walk and sightseeing. The pillows are extra heavy and very hard. I ended up with a stiff neck!
Old and not too friendly front desk staff but efficient. They all look grouchy and in their retirement stage of their lives and nothing good to look forward to!
Not much going on around the area.There are good cheap restaurants in the vicinity . The buffet restaurant around the corner from the hotel was good for the price of 9.95 Euro.
It is strange that they put the computer right in front of the elevator where everybody can see what your are writing, no privacy there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gran Versalles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Versalles Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Gran Versalles
Gran Versalles Madrid
Address: Covarrubias 4, 28010 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#120 Business Hotel in Madrid
#142 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Versalles Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Otel so you can book your Gran Versalles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Versalles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.