We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, clean hotel in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Versalles Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Gran Versalles Hotel to your Saves list
Gran Versalles Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Covarrubias 4, 28010 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant, clean hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was our second stay at the Gran Versalles. The location was great for us - we wanted an area that was within walking distance of the city centre without being right in the middle of all the noise and bustle. The hotel is about 10-15 minutes walk from the Gran Via but there is a Metro stop nearby (Alonzo Martinez). The area felt very safe, even at night. The room was nice and clean, and the bathroom had a good range of supplies (including a comb and toothbrush, should you need them!) There was also a safe and a well stocked mini-bar. We found the staff at reception to be helpful and pleasant. The one negative, as far as we were concerned, was the girl working in the bar, who stopped just short of being downright rude. Don't let this put you off the hotel, however - you're not dependent on the hotel bar as there are plenty of good eating and drinking places nearby. (In fairness, the snacks we had there were good so it was a pity that the waitress wasn't!)

We had an excellent breakfast every day at the the Cafe Santander (turn left when coming out of the hotel, then left again and it's on the other side of the crossing.) It's also open late at night and has a good selection of snacks and meals. Cerveceria Santa Barbera has tasty food and we also liked a nearby bar called Bulevar.

Going on the tourist bus is a good way of getting a general idea of the city. If it's sunny it's worth visiting the Retiro gardens and we would also recommend making time for a drink or two in the Plaza Mayor (we found the Torre del Oro bar to be a good place to soak up the sunshine!). Cafe Gijon on Paseo de Recoletos (a cafe with historical literary connections) is brilliant for people watching - not cheap but the tarta de Santiago is lovely, and the menu del dia there is really good value. Its also well worth visiting the Mercado de San Miguel market just off the Plaza Mayor to see (and taste!) an amazing array of food. (There are good toilets there as well!)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    224
    71
    14
    6
See reviews for
63
189
25
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hotel was very clean. The cleaners did a thorough job each day. The location is great. The only downside is that there is no soundproofing at all. You can hear everything that is going on in rooms around and above you.
Overall it is a good place but not a four star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We wanted a hotel away from the areas busy with nightlife, and this was just what we wanted. It is still close enough to the centre to walk to most attractions, and there is a metro station close by. The hotel has a modern feel to it, our room was nicely decorated and well equipped. It was a decent size too for a city centre hotel (just don't expect an American sized room). Breakfast buffet was also good. It is a short walk to the Plaza Colon where you can find plenty of bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed in room 209, it was very old, wallpaper was detached, rust was falling from bathroom ceiling, the bed was with spings and very unconfortable. The room was quiet as such, oriented to the inner court but we could hear everything from rooms around us. If we spoke Spanish, we would understand every single word said by a person on skype in the room next to us, the persons talking were like in our room with us. The wifi was very weak and most of the times unusable. Breakfast was ok, the food was constantly added even close to closing time. It was nothing special, but worth 9 euros. The location was great, close to the metro, the center, and restaurants. I would not recommend this hotel. This is not a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dauphin, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We recently stayed in this hotel on a layover in Madrid. It was located in a nice neighborhood with several nice nearby restaurants and bars. The room we had was standard European size, somewhat smaller than in North America. Lots of room for the two of us. Front desk staff were helpful and attentive, We enjoyed the offered breakfast (Fee) and felt it was well worth the cost.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you are visiting Madrid and you don't have too much time, the hotel very good. It is very peaceful, near the city center (15-min walk from Fuencarral) and metro station. The rooms are very comfortable and nice, but my room was smelling cigarretes. Free wifi and good breakfast. The staff is very nice, they helped me with some problems I had. Definetely, I would come back to that hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Some positives that are somewhat rare in this price range in Europe: LARGE contemporary bathroom with double sinks (maybe the first I have seen in Europe in this price range), FREE couple of computers with printer attached in lobby - nice for printing boarding passes, A/C that could really make the room COLD like I like it. Some expecteds, indoor/outdoor carpeting that looked a little dirty, worn draperies and bedspreads, but other linens just fine, two twin beds placed adjoining each other rather than the one double I requested, little drawer space. Some negatives: poor wi-fi signal in my room, kept coming and going, thin walls within the hotel, but no problem with annoying outside noises.

Pluses included being right across the street from the Alonso Martinez metro stop, convenient to both the airport and city metro lines. Only a 20 minute walk thru the Chueca district direct to Gran Via. Though there were bars and restaurants nearby, it is not a happening block, kind of quiet, but that was okay, 15 minutes and you can be in mayhem.

Good value for the money. I have been to Madrid many times so I was fine with it given the price. Again the size of the room and bathroom was wonderful compared to even hotels much more costly. I would stay here again, but probably only if the price point beat another location more central to night life.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Versalles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Versalles Hotel

Address: Covarrubias 4, 28010 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#100 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Versalles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gran Versalles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gran Versalles
Gran Versalles Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Versalles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.