We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Football trip to Madrid” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rafaelhoteles Orense

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Rafaelhoteles Orense to your Saves list
Rafaelhoteles Orense
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pedro Teixeira, 5, 28020 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #234 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Football trip to Madrid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

On a recent trip to Madrid to see the football,we stayed in this hotel.Nice and clean and staff friendly.Ideally situated for the Bernabeu stadium.Breakfast not too bad,plenty of it.Nice surrounding area with a great pub just over the road (the Irish Rover) very friendly as well. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We was on the main street but not a problem its a nice quiet area anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Rafaelhoteles Orense, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Rafaelhoteles Orense. It is wonderful to learn that you liked our convenient location and provided you with attentive service.
Thank you for review and recommendation. Please come back and stay with us again soon.
Best regards.
Javier Grao
Guest Relations
Rafaelhoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    83
    51
    8
    5
See reviews for
19
44
11
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Location: very good, just 10 minutes walk to Santiago Bernabeu Real Madrid stadium.

Rooms: as per information from my predecessors, rooms look better on the website, but its a normal thing right? They were clean, very spacious, bathroom was nice and clean as well.
There was nothing to prepare yourself a tea in the evening or morning and I feel than in the Hotel ranked 4 stars - it should be available in ALL rooms.

Rooms service: I do not use such things in the hotel. World is big and colorful enough to go outside and have some decent food, cheaper and in better atmosphere than you hotel room.

Internet: "ALL modern hotels in Europe that want to call themselves 4* HAVE wifi in the room. This one doesn't" - someone mentioned. Not true in my case. I had wifi connection on 5th floor with no problems. It was very slow, you had to get a code every 24 hours, yes, but it was there - free of charge (and in Amsterdam, 4* hotels you need to pay for it, for example) so it was nice.

Staff: Overall very friendly when I was coming downstairs with my son in the stroller asking for 2 internet codes every day ;-)

BIG MINUS
1 - 4 stars in the modern city of Madrid - where the hell are improvements for invalid, people with small children (strollers)???? Every single day struggle with my stroller to walk up or down couple of stairs at the entrance or hall. Come on! You need to improve this

2 - 17 euros for a breakfast is a misunderstanding of free market. 2 minutes walk outside and you have restaurant with 10 euros for full menu with 2 dishes and dessert... Think about it guys if you want to earn some additional money.

Room Tip: all rooms with windows on Pedro Teixiera street will hear, every day, garbage service at the middle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier G, Guest Relations Manager at Rafaelhoteles Orense, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback and share online. It is nice to know you liked our rooms and also our staff services. We are deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced with your stroller. We are planning to remodel the hotel entrance this year to avoid inconveniences to handicaped people and people with strollers. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving our services. We hope to welcoming you in the near future.
Best regards.
Javier Grao
Guest Relations
Rafaelhoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed at the Orense (for the second time) on a business trip. It's an average, but comfortable hotel close to the Sant Bernabeu metro station (so handy for the airport and the old city centre) and the Real Madrid stadium, just a short walk away. There are plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby including be favourite in Madrid, Teitu, which is just a few minutes walk away. The hotel is clean and quiet, and the rooms spacious, It offers good value for money, though isn't particularly outstanding or memorable in any way. The only negative aspect is that the wifi, though free, is useless - I could access email on my iPad, a bog downside as I was there on business. I ended up using the much better wifi (also free) in the Starbucks opposite.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier G, Guest Relations Manager at Rafaelhoteles Orense, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you for your time to write your review. We are glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. We are pleased you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel. We are deeply sorry to read that you did not find the wifi service to your tastes. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.
Best regards.
Javier Grao
Guest Relations
Rafaelhoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisbury wiltshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

In business district~ everybody was in suits at breakfast and very close to stadium, not so good for sightseeing. Rooms were standard meduim sized business layout. House keeping not as good as it could be, floor edges and corners all could do with a scrub and decor all looking rather dated. Mini bar and tray of expensive sugary snacks takes up rather too much space if you were staying for a time. Self service buffet breakfast offered good selection but coffee was awful. I have stayed in much better hotels in this price bracket. If you want american food the are various options across the road but why did you bother to go to Spain? Rooms all seemed to face onto the street which was noisy late(2am) with drinkers and early (5am!) with road noise. Handy for our meeting but glad we had booked somewhere different for rest of trip.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier G, Guest Relations Manager at Rafaelhoteles Orense, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We are pleased you liked the location of our hotel as well as the room layout. We were disappointed to read that you did not find in to your tastes the coffee of the breakfast and the housekeeping service.
We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.
Thank you for your review and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.
Best regards.
Javier Grao
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My son (aged 13) and I visited Madrid for el clasico. This hotel was unbeatable as 5 mins walk from Santiago Bernebeu! Great breakfast and opposite was excellent American style diner, Starbucks and traditional Irish pub. Very comfortable room but you may get some road noise if light sleeper. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Rafaelhoteles Orense, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Rafaelhoteles Orense Hotel. We greetly appreciate the feedback of our valuable guests.
Thank you for review and recommendation.
We hope to welcome you in the near future.
Best regards.
Javier Grao
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Arrived in Madrid Airport late afternoon, got the metro from T1 to Nuevos Ministerios and then from there to Santiago Bernabeu. However it's a 15min walk if you get of at N. Ministerios. Location is fantastic 10minute walk to the Stadium which is why we stayed in Madrid to watch Real vs Man United.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms were a decent size, mini bar and tv (however you do have to pay for English channels) Beds were comfy and bathroom was big. Breakfast from 7 until 10:30. Good variety of food and staff again very pleasant.

Needed an iron and the eceptionist brought an iron and ironing board up within 5mins. There is room service and a garage too. Lounge is very spacious and very nice warm colours.

Excellent stay and service. Will be back again. Thank you to all the staff who made our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Rafaelhoteles Orense, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you for your time to share your review about your stay at the Rafaelhoteles Orense. It is wonderful to learn that we exceeded your expectations and provided you with attentive service. The feedback we receive from valued guests like you is very important for us. We hope to serve you again in the near future in Rafaelhoteles Orense.
Best regards.
Javier Grao
Guest Relations
Rafaelhoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

<<Location>> In the Bernabeu area of Madrid very close to the Bernabeu stadium and also office area surrounded by Torre Europa (big high riser building). So if you wanna be in the area it's just 7 minutes walk.
<<Rooms>>: I looked at their website and thought the rooms looked more modern on the site compared to reality. Rooms are kinda dated and they are not the modern feel I'd expect. Still fine of course though. Photos on this review are from a standard room.
<<Pet hate 1>>: Toilet paper! felt like the kind you get in fast food outlets... where is the soft cushiony toilet paper you get at other boutique 4* hotels?
<<Pet hate 2>>: The duvet cover had a cigarette burn... Details! :-)
<<Room service>>: Really bad burger, almost raw inside. Makes me wonder why on earth I chose a burger to start with in Spain when I could have something Spanish. But to be honest the selection could be better on their menu. They had some baguettes, a salad, a pizza, tagliatelle, and some type of risotto with mushrooms and a steak. Overall decent prices.
<<Internet>>: ALL modern hotels in Europe that want to call themselves 4* HAVE wifi in the room. This one doesn't. You have to use a cable. Don't bother with the reception if the cable isn't working. She won't care like she did not care about mine as the cable did not work. I found another Ethernet cable behind the TV and got it to work at the end. Also Internet is not fast enough to e.g. View music videos or listen to Internet radio stations. But good for at least going on VPN and doing basic email.
<<How to get there>>: Madrid Metro. Take the line 8 to Nuevos Ministerios and change there to No 10 northbound towards the direction of Hospital Infanta Sofia (1 stop on the no 10 line from Nuevos Ministerios. The closest metro stop - at least the one I used was Santiago Bernabeu.
<<Staff>>: Overall they were nice and helpful except the person who checked me in who even though was ok she could have smiled a lot more.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rafaelhoteles Orense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafaelhoteles Orense

Address: Pedro Teixeira, 5, 28020 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#128 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rafaelhoteles Orense 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Rafaelhoteles Orense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafaelhoteles Orense Madrid
Rafaelhoteles Orense Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rafaelhoteles Orense, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.