We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Castilla

Save Saved
You added Melia Castilla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Melia Castilla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Capitan Haya 43, 28020 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #38 of 458 hotels in Madrid
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Very nice hotel, and although a big hotel still a cosy atmosphere. Very nice and supportive staff. Beautiful rooms with nice minibar and free internet. Bathtub and seperate toilett. Nice restaurant specialized on paella, serving food until after midnight. Vers good breakfast with a small open kitchen with a chef doing egg dishes. Very good service. Nice bar serving small dishes.
Hotel deserves 4 and a half star

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Michael M,

It is very nice to see that our Guests enjoyed each stay in our hotel and, in your case; we realize that our service and facilities were at your level and we reached your expectations.
We appreciate that you liked our free Internet service, as it is one of all the innovations that we have launched this year.

Hoping you will visit us again, we would like to thank your comments.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    419
    277
    85
    34
    13
See reviews for
150
148
53
401
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Decent hotel, with many years on business. Breakfast very good. Clean rooms, very quiet for its size and location which is not great for tourist or shopping and more for poeple looking for a football night at the Bernabeu, only blocks away. The walk before the games is simply awesome you'll feel the atmosphere inmediately as the game time gets closer. The two Asadores in the back of the hotel are great for drinks and dinner before and after the game (El Molino and better Meson Xistu). Reasonably price the hotel altought not a fancy place would not disapoint a Real Madrid fan.

Room Tip: try corner rooms as some of the mid hallway are not that soundproof safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear jjgarcia,

We are very glad to see that you could enjoy a Real Madrid F.C. match and you were impressed about the nice atmosphere that is usual to happen during this kind of events. Regarding what you say, we would like to mention that we are located in the golden mile of restaurants of the city and, actually, inside the hotel you will find the best rice restaurant in Madrid, our L´Albufera restaurant.

In your next stay, we will recommend you some places nearby to the hotel to spend your free time, as we are very near to the biggest shopping mall in the city as well as we are very well connected with the downtown, with two metro stations and several bus stops, where you will be able to get there in just 20 minutes.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My Wife and I have stayed at the Melia many many times over the years, excellent Staff, Service and location (prefer to be away from tourists) some really excellent eating and drinking spots near hotel and its only a short cab ride from everywhere. Cannot stress enough the wonderful staff here. We visit Madrid twice per year and would never stay anywhere else.

Andrew
NJ USA

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Andrew,

First of all, we would like to thank your words regarding our staff, service and location.
We appreciate your loyalty and we are really happy for having been your home in Madrid during these years, hoping that will be forever, as we will continue making our best in order to offer you and your family always our best service.

See you very soon and happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I spent few days there during the Conference in October. Hotel satisfied all my needs. Rooms were spacious and comfy. Wi-Fi free and fast enough. Bar offered really nice choice of whiskies (I am fan of single malts). Only pity was that due to the European Union rules you could not smoke cigars - even they have pretty nice cigar club from the old times.

For football fans, Santiago Bernabeo is in 15 minutes walking distance.

There is taxi stand nearby so computing everywhere is very easy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Adjunto a Dirección at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Palek,

It’s a great pleasure to hear from you such a wonderful comments. You make us very happy to know that everything was under your expectations. It’s a pity but nowadays, the law doesn’t allow to smoke, spite to have a special place to do it.

Waiting your next visit, receive a cordial greeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

It was the 4th time we,my wife&I,spent a weekend at this hotel.
All staff are very gentle and friendly and there is a great brekfast.
The hotel is not downtown but metro and bus stations are very close;the area is plenty of good restaurants and "bar de tapas" to reach on foot.
Rooms are comfortable and quiet but not very big.
This time we got a room that was non smoking but time by time smelled of cigaret smoke:we did not detected from where it was coming(AC or our neighbor connecting door).
There is a fitness room with stairmasters,bikes and weights.

Room Tip: Ask for a no connecting room and away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear LBond,

In the first place, we appreciate your comments about our staff and our breakfast, also our location in the “golden mile” of restaurants of Madrid.

We thank your loyalty, as we can see that it was your 4th time with us, and we are very proud to be your home in the city.

We wish you a merry Christmas and we hope to see you soon in the Meliá Castilla Hotel.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed here for 2 days for a conference. For that purpose, it suited my needs. The check-in process was a bit long, but the staff was friendly. The hotel has some character / old Europe feel, but also feels quiet dated throughout. It is really big and quite busy, like other reviewers have said. The room was again just average. On the small side and also dated, but perfectly clean and has the amenities you would expect from a large chain. I have stayed in several Melia's in the past and this one was the oldest / least modern design, perhaps it was one of the first?

The conference facilities were nice, good size rooms and a nice terrace for a cocktail hour. The food was also good, the breakfast and other meals in the hotel were consistently above average. The location is also good for a business trip. Close to the airport and close to many businesses. If I were traveling for fun, I would not want to stay here though, I would want to stay closer to downtown. That said, it's probably only a 15 minute taxi into town.

Overall, a decent place to stay for a business trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Margitacher,

Thank you for your review of your last visit in our hotel, we are happy to see that our facilities coincided with your business affairs.

We hope you to visit us again, not only for business purposes, because as you say, we are only 15 minutes into town and we are use to offer the best prices on weekends to our leisure Guests.

Thank you again for you time and your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I was here for a conference, but ended up staying on for a short break afterwards. The hotel is great; very clean and comfortable. The staff are extremely friendly and all seem to be having quite a of of fun while they're working - which is nice to see! Food is great - especially the endless breakfast. The only (small) thing is no tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

The hotel's about an hour's walk from the old town of Madrid, in a fairly business/finance orientated district. That said, if you look hard enough, there are enough places nearby to have a drink, or a nice meal, particularly in the streets behind the hotel. There's a Metro station nearby too, and it's all pretty easy to figure out.

I really enjoyed myself at Melia Castilia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Richard B,

We are very glad to receive such a lovely comments about our service and facilities.

We are also so proud of our staff which always works hard to get our customer’s satisfaction as the most important of our goals.

On the other hand, the Melia Castilla is very well located and connected. It takes no more than 15 minutes to get both the airport or to down town.

We hope to see you again.

Receive a cordial greeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Castilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Castilla

Address: C/ Capitan Haya 43, 28020 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Madrid
#20 Family Hotel in Madrid
#25 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#26 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Castilla 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meliá Castilla is considered one of the most emblematic hotels in Madrid, with an appealing blend of perfectly balanced classic and contemporary styles, where peace and urban life are accomplices to delight our guests.The excellent location, a few minutes from Paseo de la Castellana, 15 minutes from Barajas airport and IFEMA exhibition centre, near Chamartín train station and the Real Madrid Santiago Bernabéu football stadium, makes the Meliá Castilla the perfect choice for your visit to Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Melia, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Melia Castilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Castilla Hotel Madrid
Melia Hotel Madrid
Melia Hotel Castilla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Castilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.