We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Climatic business place in Madrid” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Castilla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Castilla to your Saves list
Melia Castilla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Capitan Haya 43, 28020 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
TE REGALAMOS 10€ /día!
Ranked #42 of 459 Hotels in Madrid
Wroclaw, Poland
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Climatic business place in Madrid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I spent few days there during the Conference in October. Hotel satisfied all my needs. Rooms were spacious and comfy. Wi-Fi free and fast enough. Bar offered really nice choice of whiskies (I am fan of single malts). Only pity was that due to the European Union rules you could not smoke cigars - even they have pretty nice cigar club from the old times.

For football fans, Santiago Bernabeo is in 15 minutes walking distance.

There is taxi stand nearby so computing everywhere is very easy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Adjunto a Dirección at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Palek,

It’s a great pleasure to hear from you such a wonderful comments. You make us very happy to know that everything was under your expectations. It’s a pity but nowadays, the law doesn’t allow to smoke, spite to have a special place to do it.

Waiting your next visit, receive a cordial greeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    329
    95
    36
    14
See reviews for
167
179
61
460
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

It was the 4th time we,my wife&I,spent a weekend at this hotel.
All staff are very gentle and friendly and there is a great brekfast.
The hotel is not downtown but metro and bus stations are very close;the area is plenty of good restaurants and "bar de tapas" to reach on foot.
Rooms are comfortable and quiet but not very big.
This time we got a room that was non smoking but time by time smelled of cigaret smoke:we did not detected from where it was coming(AC or our neighbor connecting door).
There is a fitness room with stairmasters,bikes and weights.

Room Tip: Ask for a no connecting room and away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear LBond,

In the first place, we appreciate your comments about our staff and our breakfast, also our location in the “golden mile” of restaurants of Madrid.

We thank your loyalty, as we can see that it was your 4th time with us, and we are very proud to be your home in the city.

We wish you a merry Christmas and we hope to see you soon in the Meliá Castilla Hotel.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed here for 2 days for a conference. For that purpose, it suited my needs. The check-in process was a bit long, but the staff was friendly. The hotel has some character / old Europe feel, but also feels quiet dated throughout. It is really big and quite busy, like other reviewers have said. The room was again just average. On the small side and also dated, but perfectly clean and has the amenities you would expect from a large chain. I have stayed in several Melia's in the past and this one was the oldest / least modern design, perhaps it was one of the first?

The conference facilities were nice, good size rooms and a nice terrace for a cocktail hour. The food was also good, the breakfast and other meals in the hotel were consistently above average. The location is also good for a business trip. Close to the airport and close to many businesses. If I were traveling for fun, I would not want to stay here though, I would want to stay closer to downtown. That said, it's probably only a 15 minute taxi into town.

Overall, a decent place to stay for a business trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Margitacher,

Thank you for your review of your last visit in our hotel, we are happy to see that our facilities coincided with your business affairs.

We hope you to visit us again, not only for business purposes, because as you say, we are only 15 minutes into town and we are use to offer the best prices on weekends to our leisure Guests.

Thank you again for you time and your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I was here for a conference, but ended up staying on for a short break afterwards. The hotel is great; very clean and comfortable. The staff are extremely friendly and all seem to be having quite a of of fun while they're working - which is nice to see! Food is great - especially the endless breakfast. The only (small) thing is no tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

The hotel's about an hour's walk from the old town of Madrid, in a fairly business/finance orientated district. That said, if you look hard enough, there are enough places nearby to have a drink, or a nice meal, particularly in the streets behind the hotel. There's a Metro station nearby too, and it's all pretty easy to figure out.

I really enjoyed myself at Melia Castilia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Richard B,

We are very glad to receive such a lovely comments about our service and facilities.

We are also so proud of our staff which always works hard to get our customer’s satisfaction as the most important of our goals.

On the other hand, the Melia Castilla is very well located and connected. It takes no more than 15 minutes to get both the airport or to down town.

We hope to see you again.

Receive a cordial greeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Large functional business hotel. good service, friendly staff.

Would benefit from a better bar area, not just a corner of reception. Given that it is very much a conference venue, staff could speed up coffee \ drink and lunch service during events.

Room Tip: high up, away from the noise of the streets and those who frequent them late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Travelboy76

Thank you for your kind comments made through Tripadvisor.

Besides the bar “L’Express” at the main entrance, our meeting point, we also have, near the lifts, a very confortable area to spend a good time called “La Cava”, where you can taste drinks from everywhere till 02 in the evening in a very good atmosphere.

We hope next time you can enjoy them.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here as the last leg of our tour, and it didnt dissappoint. Location is downtown and seems popular with business people and conference members. The room is classic European, nice bed and clean bathroom but looks old. Free wifi is a big plus, but there was no hot water kettle to use.

Breakfast was very good. Took a walk at night around the hotel, it was safe and no prostitutes hanging around like other reviewers mentioned.

Overall, a recommended hotel in Madrid

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Mike_Jkt,

We are very glad to know that found our stablishment as you expected.

The hotel is located in the north of Madrid and very well conected, even with a taxi stop at the main entrance.

We are carrying out an important labour of remodelling and adequacy in the whole hotel and entrust that these improvements are of the pleasure and for satisfaction of our clients, though it is true that will be a process that will take its time.

Thanks again to send us your valuable opinion and for sharing it with all users of Tripadvisor.

Receive a cordial greeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very Friendly staff as in in all Melia hotels - which really is the most consistent i have seen in any chain.

The Melia in Madrid is huge - you would imagine since lots of customers walk through the service would be poor, but it was as good as always.

location: good if you are there for work - it is located where most offices are. to get to central Madrid it is a small can ride (around 10-15 Eur)

Fitness: well equipped gym (just some free weights and one multi gym along with couple of treadmills). Fresh towels, apples and water always there.
Unfortunately they close their pool anytime other than summer. which was disappointing since the temperature was 21 when i was there (pretty warm)

Rooms: tad old but well kept, cleanliness maintained well

events: they organized some great drinking games

Food: very consistently good food throughout my stay of 4 days

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Kiwi_traveller_Nick,

We realize that you stayed in our hotel when a big congress was taken place and you could enjoy the exciting life of the hotel that it is usual in these occasions.

We appreciate all your comments and we are happy to see that our staff worked hard enough to reach your expectation about service.

Regarding with the location comment, we would recommend you, for your future visits, to use the metro, as it is very fast, confortable and cheaper than a taxi ride (about 3 € per round-trip ticket)

We hope you to visit us again to show you our new spaces and rooms.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Castilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Castilla

Address: C/ Capitan Haya 43, 28020 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Madrid
#24 Family Hotel in Madrid
#31 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#32 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Castilla 4*
Number of rooms: 915
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meliá Castilla is considered one of the most emblematic hotels in Madrid, with an appealing blend of perfectly balanced classic and contemporary styles, where peace and urban life are accomplices to delight our guests.The excellent location, a few minutes from Paseo de la Castellana, 15 minutes from Barajas airport and IFEMA exhibition centre, near Chamartín train station and the Real Madrid Santiago Bernabéu football stadium, makes the Meliá Castilla the perfect choice for your visit to Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Melia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melia Castilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Castilla Hotel Madrid
Melia Hotel Madrid
Melia Hotel Castilla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Castilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.