We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard business conference hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Castilla

Save Saved
You added Melia Castilla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Melia Castilla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Capitan Haya 43, 28020 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #38 of 458 hotels in Madrid
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Standard business conference hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed here for 2 days for a conference. For that purpose, it suited my needs. The check-in process was a bit long, but the staff was friendly. The hotel has some character / old Europe feel, but also feels quiet dated throughout. It is really big and quite busy, like other reviewers have said. The room was again just average. On the small side and also dated, but perfectly clean and has the amenities you would expect from a large chain. I have stayed in several Melia's in the past and this one was the oldest / least modern design, perhaps it was one of the first?

The conference facilities were nice, good size rooms and a nice terrace for a cocktail hour. The food was also good, the breakfast and other meals in the hotel were consistently above average. The location is also good for a business trip. Close to the airport and close to many businesses. If I were traveling for fun, I would not want to stay here though, I would want to stay closer to downtown. That said, it's probably only a 15 minute taxi into town.

Overall, a decent place to stay for a business trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Margitacher,

Thank you for your review of your last visit in our hotel, we are happy to see that our facilities coincided with your business affairs.

We hope you to visit us again, not only for business purposes, because as you say, we are only 15 minutes into town and we are use to offer the best prices on weekends to our leisure Guests.

Thank you again for you time and your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    419
    277
    85
    34
    13
See reviews for
150
148
53
401
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I was here for a conference, but ended up staying on for a short break afterwards. The hotel is great; very clean and comfortable. The staff are extremely friendly and all seem to be having quite a of of fun while they're working - which is nice to see! Food is great - especially the endless breakfast. The only (small) thing is no tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

The hotel's about an hour's walk from the old town of Madrid, in a fairly business/finance orientated district. That said, if you look hard enough, there are enough places nearby to have a drink, or a nice meal, particularly in the streets behind the hotel. There's a Metro station nearby too, and it's all pretty easy to figure out.

I really enjoyed myself at Melia Castilia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Richard B,

We are very glad to receive such a lovely comments about our service and facilities.

We are also so proud of our staff which always works hard to get our customer’s satisfaction as the most important of our goals.

On the other hand, the Melia Castilla is very well located and connected. It takes no more than 15 minutes to get both the airport or to down town.

We hope to see you again.

Receive a cordial greeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Large functional business hotel. good service, friendly staff.

Would benefit from a better bar area, not just a corner of reception. Given that it is very much a conference venue, staff could speed up coffee \ drink and lunch service during events.

Room Tip: high up, away from the noise of the streets and those who frequent them late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Travelboy76

Thank you for your kind comments made through Tripadvisor.

Besides the bar “L’Express” at the main entrance, our meeting point, we also have, near the lifts, a very confortable area to spend a good time called “La Cava”, where you can taste drinks from everywhere till 02 in the evening in a very good atmosphere.

We hope next time you can enjoy them.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here as the last leg of our tour, and it didnt dissappoint. Location is downtown and seems popular with business people and conference members. The room is classic European, nice bed and clean bathroom but looks old. Free wifi is a big plus, but there was no hot water kettle to use.

Breakfast was very good. Took a walk at night around the hotel, it was safe and no prostitutes hanging around like other reviewers mentioned.

Overall, a recommended hotel in Madrid

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Mike_Jkt,

We are very glad to know that found our stablishment as you expected.

The hotel is located in the north of Madrid and very well conected, even with a taxi stop at the main entrance.

We are carrying out an important labour of remodelling and adequacy in the whole hotel and entrust that these improvements are of the pleasure and for satisfaction of our clients, though it is true that will be a process that will take its time.

Thanks again to send us your valuable opinion and for sharing it with all users of Tripadvisor.

Receive a cordial greeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very Friendly staff as in in all Melia hotels - which really is the most consistent i have seen in any chain.

The Melia in Madrid is huge - you would imagine since lots of customers walk through the service would be poor, but it was as good as always.

location: good if you are there for work - it is located where most offices are. to get to central Madrid it is a small can ride (around 10-15 Eur)

Fitness: well equipped gym (just some free weights and one multi gym along with couple of treadmills). Fresh towels, apples and water always there.
Unfortunately they close their pool anytime other than summer. which was disappointing since the temperature was 21 when i was there (pretty warm)

Rooms: tad old but well kept, cleanliness maintained well

events: they organized some great drinking games

Food: very consistently good food throughout my stay of 4 days

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Kiwi_traveller_Nick,

We realize that you stayed in our hotel when a big congress was taken place and you could enjoy the exciting life of the hotel that it is usual in these occasions.

We appreciate all your comments and we are happy to see that our staff worked hard enough to reach your expectation about service.

Regarding with the location comment, we would recommend you, for your future visits, to use the metro, as it is very fast, confortable and cheaper than a taxi ride (about 3 € per round-trip ticket)

We hope you to visit us again to show you our new spaces and rooms.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here due to a conference that I was attending at the hotel. Got in really late and was given my room key.

The room itself was big and had a separate hall area as well as basin area separate to the bathroom.

The room however did not smell that good. The bathroom was the problem and the entire place smelled musty.

The bed was comfortable and the size of the room impressive. However the actual bathroom is not configured nicely. The toilet is not in a convenient place and you are forced to hug the toilet roll dispenser when sitting on it. The combined shower and bath are small.

The coffee shop at the entrance is really nice had morning coffee and croissant there. The milk coffee was really amazing as was the service from the very kind gentleman.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Jasonleg,

Firstly, we would like to thank your valuable time that you have spent to send your comments through Tripadvisor.

We have to apologize if you had any problem with your bathroom during your stay. We have already checked our incidents book of the last 2 months and the only problem that we had similar that you mention was successfully solved in 15 minutes. We would like to confirm to you that we have manteinance staff 24/7 available and we would like to invite you to contact them always you would need for support in your next stays.

On the other hand, we would like to thank you again for your very kind comments about our staff and facilities.

We are expecting to welcome you to the Meliá Castilla hotel again in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I previously stayed at this hotel and really enjoyed it. I travel all over Europe every week and believe that this hotel has the best breakfast that you will find anywhere. I will be there again from next Monday to Wednesday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear NoelGarry,

It will be a great pleasure to receive you again, here at your second home.

As you know it is possible to choose more than 100 different types of products which most of them are identified by calories.

We are very happy for your comments and be sure that we will follow working in the same way.

Receive a cordial greeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Castilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Castilla

Address: C/ Capitan Haya 43, 28020 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Madrid
#20 Family Hotel in Madrid
#25 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#26 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Castilla 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meliá Castilla is considered one of the most emblematic hotels in Madrid, with an appealing blend of perfectly balanced classic and contemporary styles, where peace and urban life are accomplices to delight our guests.The excellent location, a few minutes from Paseo de la Castellana, 15 minutes from Barajas airport and IFEMA exhibition centre, near Chamartín train station and the Real Madrid Santiago Bernabéu football stadium, makes the Meliá Castilla the perfect choice for your visit to Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Melia, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Melia Castilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Castilla Hotel Madrid
Melia Hotel Madrid
Melia Hotel Castilla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Castilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.