We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Veru busy business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Castilla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Castilla to your Saves list
Melia Castilla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Capitan Haya 43, 28020 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
TE REGALAMOS 10€ /día!
Ranked #42 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
Jakarta
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Veru busy business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here as the last leg of our tour, and it didnt dissappoint. Location is downtown and seems popular with business people and conference members. The room is classic European, nice bed and clean bathroom but looks old. Free wifi is a big plus, but there was no hot water kettle to use.

Breakfast was very good. Took a walk at night around the hotel, it was safe and no prostitutes hanging around like other reviewers mentioned.

Overall, a recommended hotel in Madrid

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Mike_Jkt,

We are very glad to know that found our stablishment as you expected.

The hotel is located in the north of Madrid and very well conected, even with a taxi stop at the main entrance.

We are carrying out an important labour of remodelling and adequacy in the whole hotel and entrust that these improvements are of the pleasure and for satisfaction of our clients, though it is true that will be a process that will take its time.

Thanks again to send us your valuable opinion and for sharing it with all users of Tripadvisor.

Receive a cordial greeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    330
    95
    36
    14
See reviews for
167
179
61
461
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very Friendly staff as in in all Melia hotels - which really is the most consistent i have seen in any chain.

The Melia in Madrid is huge - you would imagine since lots of customers walk through the service would be poor, but it was as good as always.

location: good if you are there for work - it is located where most offices are. to get to central Madrid it is a small can ride (around 10-15 Eur)

Fitness: well equipped gym (just some free weights and one multi gym along with couple of treadmills). Fresh towels, apples and water always there.
Unfortunately they close their pool anytime other than summer. which was disappointing since the temperature was 21 when i was there (pretty warm)

Rooms: tad old but well kept, cleanliness maintained well

events: they organized some great drinking games

Food: very consistently good food throughout my stay of 4 days

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Kiwi_traveller_Nick,

We realize that you stayed in our hotel when a big congress was taken place and you could enjoy the exciting life of the hotel that it is usual in these occasions.

We appreciate all your comments and we are happy to see that our staff worked hard enough to reach your expectation about service.

Regarding with the location comment, we would recommend you, for your future visits, to use the metro, as it is very fast, confortable and cheaper than a taxi ride (about 3 € per round-trip ticket)

We hope you to visit us again to show you our new spaces and rooms.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here due to a conference that I was attending at the hotel. Got in really late and was given my room key.

The room itself was big and had a separate hall area as well as basin area separate to the bathroom.

The room however did not smell that good. The bathroom was the problem and the entire place smelled musty.

The bed was comfortable and the size of the room impressive. However the actual bathroom is not configured nicely. The toilet is not in a convenient place and you are forced to hug the toilet roll dispenser when sitting on it. The combined shower and bath are small.

The coffee shop at the entrance is really nice had morning coffee and croissant there. The milk coffee was really amazing as was the service from the very kind gentleman.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Jasonleg,

Firstly, we would like to thank your valuable time that you have spent to send your comments through Tripadvisor.

We have to apologize if you had any problem with your bathroom during your stay. We have already checked our incidents book of the last 2 months and the only problem that we had similar that you mention was successfully solved in 15 minutes. We would like to confirm to you that we have manteinance staff 24/7 available and we would like to invite you to contact them always you would need for support in your next stays.

On the other hand, we would like to thank you again for your very kind comments about our staff and facilities.

We are expecting to welcome you to the Meliá Castilla hotel again in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I previously stayed at this hotel and really enjoyed it. I travel all over Europe every week and believe that this hotel has the best breakfast that you will find anywhere. I will be there again from next Monday to Wednesday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear NoelGarry,

It will be a great pleasure to receive you again, here at your second home.

As you know it is possible to choose more than 100 different types of products which most of them are identified by calories.

We are very happy for your comments and be sure that we will follow working in the same way.

Receive a cordial greeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

A very busy hotel when I was there, a few conferences but apart from a short wait for a table for breakfast everythiong was excellent.

More a business hotel as it is a little away from the major atractions but not too far away from the Metro- which is even better than London Tube. I saw lots of young people get up to offer their seats to other people- being a Londoner I was shocked as the last time I saw this behaviour on the tube it was me standing up to offer a seat.

Food at the hotel was excellent and the rooms quite and comfortable- even the wi-fi worked well on the 9th floor most of the time.

Large but friendly could not ask for more especially as i turned up with no reservation and stgill got a good rate.

Search out some of the local bars a cafes for some atmosphere and good Jamon

Room Tip: Not much to choose as the views are not great from any floor, noise levels were quite low
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear jbrussellgreen,

Firstly I would like to thank you for your excellent feedback.

These comments make us very happy and encourage us to continue working in the same way.

According to the "tube" It's a great pleasure to know that foreign people receive a cordial treatment from ours compatriots.

We’ll be pleased to see you again to offer you our best service.

Receive a cordial greeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Very small but well equipped standard rooms, aging but well maintained, well equipped for business, slightly removed from core areas such as Sol, Salamanca, and other more interesting neighborhoods and districts which are about a 9 euro cab ride away. The staff simply never dissappointed. Given the world class food in Madrid it usually makes little sense, from both a cuisine and value perspective, to settle for a hotel's restaurant, but Melia did not dissapoint with the former, and was fair with the latter. Fitness center could be better equipped, it had only cardio, and a dumbell set with a single bench. Aging showed in the rooms, mainly upon close inspection. value is just ok given a) the small size of the rooms, and B) the king bed was two twins pushed together so if you are sensitive to pressure points while sleeping, you are basically on a twin...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear PhillyFoodie,

First of all, we would like to thank your comments about our staff and facilities.

On the other hand, we would like to take the opportunity to inform you that we have 7 different room types with twin, queen and king size beds, for this reason we would invite you to tell us your preference in your next stay in order to proportionate you your accommodation needs.
We appreciate that you mentioned that our staff is “outstanding”, we will give this information to all of them in order to congratulate them for their everyday effort.

We hope to see you soon again in Meliá Castilla hotel.

We will keep at your disposal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Quality hotel close to restaurants and the business district. Quick access to the Bernabeau stadium and short taxi ride to the airport.

Good service with a large breakfast buffet hot and cold selection.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Mr. Booker,

We appreciate your comments in Tripadvisor, there are very usefull to realize where the hotel is very well located in relation to the most important points in the city.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, hoping that it reached your expectations.

See you soon in Meliá Castilla hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Castilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Castilla

Address: C/ Capitan Haya 43, 28020 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Madrid
#24 Family Hotel in Madrid
#30 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#31 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Castilla 4*
Number of rooms: 915
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meliá Castilla is considered one of the most emblematic hotels in Madrid, with an appealing blend of perfectly balanced classic and contemporary styles, where peace and urban life are accomplices to delight our guests.The excellent location, a few minutes from Paseo de la Castellana, 15 minutes from Barajas airport and IFEMA exhibition centre, near Chamartín train station and the Real Madrid Santiago Bernabéu football stadium, makes the Meliá Castilla the perfect choice for your visit to Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Melia, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melia Castilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Castilla Hotel Madrid
Melia Hotel Madrid
Melia Hotel Castilla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Castilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.