We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable, convenient - friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Castilla

Save Saved
You added Melia Castilla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Melia Castilla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Capitan Haya 43, 28020 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #35 of 456 hotels in Madrid
Tallinn
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“comfortable, convenient - friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very Friendly staff as in in all Melia hotels - which really is the most consistent i have seen in any chain.

The Melia in Madrid is huge - you would imagine since lots of customers walk through the service would be poor, but it was as good as always.

location: good if you are there for work - it is located where most offices are. to get to central Madrid it is a small can ride (around 10-15 Eur)

Fitness: well equipped gym (just some free weights and one multi gym along with couple of treadmills). Fresh towels, apples and water always there.
Unfortunately they close their pool anytime other than summer. which was disappointing since the temperature was 21 when i was there (pretty warm)

Rooms: tad old but well kept, cleanliness maintained well

events: they organized some great drinking games

Food: very consistently good food throughout my stay of 4 days

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Kiwi_traveller_Nick,

We realize that you stayed in our hotel when a big congress was taken place and you could enjoy the exciting life of the hotel that it is usual in these occasions.

We appreciate all your comments and we are happy to see that our staff worked hard enough to reach your expectation about service.

Regarding with the location comment, we would recommend you, for your future visits, to use the metro, as it is very fast, confortable and cheaper than a taxi ride (about 3 € per round-trip ticket)

We hope you to visit us again to show you our new spaces and rooms.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    383
    251
    77
    32
    13
See reviews for
133
144
52
362
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here due to a conference that I was attending at the hotel. Got in really late and was given my room key.

The room itself was big and had a separate hall area as well as basin area separate to the bathroom.

The room however did not smell that good. The bathroom was the problem and the entire place smelled musty.

The bed was comfortable and the size of the room impressive. However the actual bathroom is not configured nicely. The toilet is not in a convenient place and you are forced to hug the toilet roll dispenser when sitting on it. The combined shower and bath are small.

The coffee shop at the entrance is really nice had morning coffee and croissant there. The milk coffee was really amazing as was the service from the very kind gentleman.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Jasonleg,

Firstly, we would like to thank your valuable time that you have spent to send your comments through Tripadvisor.

We have to apologize if you had any problem with your bathroom during your stay. We have already checked our incidents book of the last 2 months and the only problem that we had similar that you mention was successfully solved in 15 minutes. We would like to confirm to you that we have manteinance staff 24/7 available and we would like to invite you to contact them always you would need for support in your next stays.

On the other hand, we would like to thank you again for your very kind comments about our staff and facilities.

We are expecting to welcome you to the Meliá Castilla hotel again in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I previously stayed at this hotel and really enjoyed it. I travel all over Europe every week and believe that this hotel has the best breakfast that you will find anywhere. I will be there again from next Monday to Wednesday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear NoelGarry,

It will be a great pleasure to receive you again, here at your second home.

As you know it is possible to choose more than 100 different types of products which most of them are identified by calories.

We are very happy for your comments and be sure that we will follow working in the same way.

Receive a cordial greeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

A very busy hotel when I was there, a few conferences but apart from a short wait for a table for breakfast everythiong was excellent.

More a business hotel as it is a little away from the major atractions but not too far away from the Metro- which is even better than London Tube. I saw lots of young people get up to offer their seats to other people- being a Londoner I was shocked as the last time I saw this behaviour on the tube it was me standing up to offer a seat.

Food at the hotel was excellent and the rooms quite and comfortable- even the wi-fi worked well on the 9th floor most of the time.

Large but friendly could not ask for more especially as i turned up with no reservation and stgill got a good rate.

Search out some of the local bars a cafes for some atmosphere and good Jamon

Room Tip: Not much to choose as the views are not great from any floor, noise levels were quite low
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear jbrussellgreen,

Firstly I would like to thank you for your excellent feedback.

These comments make us very happy and encourage us to continue working in the same way.

According to the "tube" It's a great pleasure to know that foreign people receive a cordial treatment from ours compatriots.

We’ll be pleased to see you again to offer you our best service.

Receive a cordial greeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Very small but well equipped standard rooms, aging but well maintained, well equipped for business, slightly removed from core areas such as Sol, Salamanca, and other more interesting neighborhoods and districts which are about a 9 euro cab ride away. The staff simply never dissappointed. Given the world class food in Madrid it usually makes little sense, from both a cuisine and value perspective, to settle for a hotel's restaurant, but Melia did not dissapoint with the former, and was fair with the latter. Fitness center could be better equipped, it had only cardio, and a dumbell set with a single bench. Aging showed in the rooms, mainly upon close inspection. value is just ok given a) the small size of the rooms, and B) the king bed was two twins pushed together so if you are sensitive to pressure points while sleeping, you are basically on a twin...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear PhillyFoodie,

First of all, we would like to thank your comments about our staff and facilities.

On the other hand, we would like to take the opportunity to inform you that we have 7 different room types with twin, queen and king size beds, for this reason we would invite you to tell us your preference in your next stay in order to proportionate you your accommodation needs.
We appreciate that you mentioned that our staff is “outstanding”, we will give this information to all of them in order to congratulate them for their everyday effort.

We hope to see you soon again in Meliá Castilla hotel.

We will keep at your disposal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Quality hotel close to restaurants and the business district. Quick access to the Bernabeau stadium and short taxi ride to the airport.

Good service with a large breakfast buffet hot and cold selection.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Mr. Booker,

We appreciate your comments in Tripadvisor, there are very usefull to realize where the hotel is very well located in relation to the most important points in the city.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, hoping that it reached your expectations.

See you soon in Meliá Castilla hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ontario Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I spent our last night of our Spanish Holiday on Sept. 14, 2012. Although it was a bit far from airport and they were no longer offering a shuttle service (for $$) we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The front desk staff and bell boys were extremely helpful upon check-in and check-out and our dinner that evening was amazing. The paella was to die for and the service was first class. The room was newly furnished, clean and large. The bar by the pool for drinks before dinner was quiet (you could not hear traffic), the service excellent and the best martinis I have had in a very long time. Breakfast buffet had everything you could want, including freshly prepared eggs and a wide selection of other foods. Service was fast and pleasant as we were a bit rushed to check-out and get to the airport. Our overall experience at Melia Castilla was great and we would definitely return. As previously mentioned, a shuttle service (for a fee) would be beneficial as the taxi prices are very high and
there was a 18Euro difference in price from our taxi trip to Melia and taxi trip from Melia.
Overall, 5 Star hotel.
Belle M and Richard T - Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

Room Tip: If you are a Melia MaS member - no charge - you can get a room upgrade as well as emails with specia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Mrs. Belle T,

We are really happy to see that you enjoyed your Spanish Holidays in Madrid and you stayed with us and discovered our newly furnished rooms.

We appreciate your words about our restaurant, our front desk staff and our buffet breakfast, we are always working in order to improve our passion of service.

We will be very proud of welcoming you again to our hotel in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Castilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Castilla

Also Known As:
Melia Castilla Hotel Madrid
Melia Castilla Hotel
Melia Hotel Madrid
Melia Hotel Castilla
Address: C/ Capitan Haya 43, 28020 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Madrid
#14 Business Hotel in Madrid
#21 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#33 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Castilla 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to come and get to know one of Madrid's best hotels, the Meliá Castilla. Close to Real Madrid's Santiago Bernabéu Stadium, a few metres from the Paseo de la Castellana and strategically located in the heart of the city-centre, the Meliá Castilla is surrounded by shopping streets, places to make the most of leisure-time and the best communications links, giving you the perfect combination for making the most of your time in Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Melia, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Melia Castilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Castilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.