We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in Madrid truly 5 star hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Wellington Hotel to your Saves list
Wellington Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Velazquez 8, 28001 Madrid, Spain (Salamanca)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 459 Hotels in Madrid
Paris
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Perfect location in Madrid truly 5 star hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I definitely recommend Hotel Wellington Madrid to enjoy a really good service, 5 star facilities and an ideal location.
I stayed in a Junior suite (720) which was huge, nicely refurbished with the best view of Madrid from its terrace.
In terme of gastonomy: Excellent fish and tapas at the restaurant, large range of quality food from the room service, amazing breakfast with all the typical Spanish dishes and cakes! Next time, I will have dinner at their gastronomic sushi restaurant which seems to be the place to be!
The gym has all the latest equipment and is overlooking the hotel terrace and its outdoor pool (a shame i came in November)!
Special thank you to the Reception team who was very helpful and extremely efficient (quick check-in / check out, always a smile, remembered my Room number...).

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your fantastic comment about our Hotel, staff, room, food and gym.
We are delighted to see that you had a pleasant stay and we would be honored to welcome you again the next time you visit Madrid. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    231
    68
    25
    11
See reviews for
121
256
49
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This hotel has a lot of class compared to the two other hotels that I have stayed in the past in Madrid.

The main lobby is inviting. I was immediately greeted and my bags were taken from the cab. At check in the staff were very friendly and helpful.

My room was typical euro small but was very nice compared to many hotels I have stayed in around the world. The bed was very comfortable, which is a hit or miss in Europe.

The only downside is I could not get my air to work bit it's November.

Next time I come back to Madrid I will be staying here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Paulsmi,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences, for your wonderful comment and high rating in Tripadvisor. We are very glad to have met your expectations and we look forward to welcome you again in the Wellington Hotel in a near future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, España
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Very well sited in the smart Salamanca neighbourhood at Madrid. The parking is very convenient, with direct access to the Hotel. Public transport is closely accesible. Rooms are very well preserved, but still keep the scent of old luxury hotels. Bathrooms are modernly renovated. Staff is very attentive. Free wifi is available in the room (although high speed connection has a fare). The price is very fair for this good five star hotel. The Goizeko restaurant located in the hotel is fantastic for those willing to try the classic Basque cuisine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us, for your wonderful comment and high rating. We are very glad to have met your expectations and we look forward to welcome you again in the Wellington Hotel in a near future.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Location wise the Wellington is great, right next to Retiro park, easy to get to from the airport via the metro which connects you to the entire city also the Salamanca district is reportedly safer at night than some of the more central areas?
Service is good too, staff very friendly if a little stiff, perhaps because my fiance and I were a little younger. It did take them 45 minutes to bring an iron to my room though
The room was fine, really comfortable bed, bathroom was a bit dated but still nice, air conditioning didn't seem to work but as it was October we weren't too bothered. No tea and coffee facilities in the room either which was a pity.
On the whole though it's a nice place to stay, well located, clean and comfortable!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing the Wellington Hotel during your recent visit in Madrid and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We apologize for the inconvenience caused about the delay in delivery of the iron. Comments like yours, helps us to improve every day and motivates us to continue provide a 5-star service to our guests. We hope to welcome you in a near future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Excellence all over, great location near park, superb service, great room, excellent breakfast.and friendly and knowledgeable staff. A hotel to stay and enjoy beautiful Madrid. 20 minutes from Barajas Airport

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Cliente,
Muchísimas gracias por su magnífico y fantástico comentario acerca de su estancia en el hotel.
Reiteramos nuestro agradecimiento y esperamos contar nuevamente con su presencia entre nosotros.
Reciba un cordial saludo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

An overpriced hotel that caters to businessmen with an expense account. Be prepared to pay 26 euros to watch any t.v. other than four news stations in your language.
The restaurant is overpriced also with food three times the price of just outside of the hotel. You are even charged 6 euros for internet use.
On the plus side, the rooms are big, clean, and the linen sheets are a plus.
If you are not on an expense account, this place is probably not for you unless you are trying to impress yourself or others.

Room Tip: Ask for two room keys so that you do not have come back to a hot room. The electricity is turned of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest, W
We regret that the facilities and service of our hotel, were not completely to your liking. We appreciate the time to share your experience with other travelers on Tripadvisor.
We look forward to welcome you again in the Wellington Hotel in a near future.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

It took us 15 minutes by taxi from the airport to the hotel. Grand, majestic and impressive, Retiro Park is literally across the road and the hotel is very central. A very nice location, lovely rooms and a full & delightful breakfast is offered in the mornings.

Room Tip: We stayed there twice and had a junior suite on 3rd & 5th floors. The room was facing the inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Address: Velazquez 8, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#15 Family Hotel in Madrid
#20 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#21 Business Hotel in Madrid
#27 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wellington Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel, located in city center, 1-1/2 km from train station & 12 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.