We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Wellington Hotel to your Saves list
Wellington Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Velazquez 8, 28001 Madrid, Spain (Salamanca)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location and hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Found staff very helpful...rooms were great. Chose this place for the swimming pool amenities so we could chill out. Why is it allowed that people can reserve sun lounges and leave the area for hours+... Ridiculous when it is a shared venue! Lack of respect for other fellow customers...and we saw other customers bring this to the attention of staff...it was not resolved...we left and they used our seating....but really if you leave the pool area...you get to the back of the line for the limited sun lounges...empty lounges are for everyone. A sign to state this and the Pool Attendents swift action to clear lounges for others use would fast remedy this! Drinks were expensive...we probably would have bought some rather than none if costs were reasonable!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Wellington Hotel during your recent visit in Madrid and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused about the pool. Comments like yours, helps us to improve every day and motivates us to continue provide a 5-star service to our guests.

We hope to welcome you in a near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    233
    68
    25
    11
See reviews for
122
257
49
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We spent 4 days in Madrid during our annual holiday in Spain. Madrid is a beautiful city and 4 days is too short to discover it. So we will definitely return. First of all, the Wellington Hotel is in a superb location and for those, like us, who are interested in sightseeing the open top bus stops right outside which is excellent especially in July when it's HOT! It is also right beside the Parque del Retiro which is beautiful, very cool with lots of shade and boating on the lake is great fun for all ages.

The reason I didn't give this hotel a 5 out of 5 is because of the reception staff. A good welcome is key to a hotel stay. Now that welcome can be different ... I'm not looking for hugs here or an over the top, loud, sugar coated welcome either! But I would expect, at least, a WELCOME TO THE WELLINGTON HOTEL style of greeting. Perhaps it's a language thing but our welcome was a request for our passports and credit card!

A couple of other issues with how reception dealt with problems. We had an email from the hotel which confirmed a superior room with additional bed for our son in the new part of the hotel. The request for the new part was as a result of recommendations from other travelers on this site. Unfortunately when we were shown to our room it was in the old part of the hotel. We contacted reception and were told that the new part rooms could not accommodate a 3rd bed and it felt like we were fobbed off when they showed us a smaller room in the new part. We decided to stay in the old part. But it is annoying when you see the review from Ema who posted photos of her trip to hotel in April of this year where they clearly stayed in a new room with a bed for her little boy and lots of space!!

The other problem was my nightdress was mistakenly taken away by the chambermaid. When I notified the reception there was no apology, they just asked was it white. I told them yes and they said it was probably taken with the towels. Another 'ouch' moment! OK not such a big deal and mistakes happen but it was inconvenient and I liked that nightdress!! They took our details and told us that they would investigate the problem and contact us. I heard nothing and emailed them when I got home and had to escalate the problem because, once again, I felt that the front of house staff were not dealing with the problem in the correct way.

I am very happy to say that the matter has been sorted by an extremely helpful Director at the hotel and because of that I would say we would definitely stay there again.

The rooms are lovely, clean, good size and even though we faced onto the street, we found it very quiet. The breakfast is really good with lots of variety. The pool area is good for a hotel that is in the heart of the city and overall the staff are friendly.

A 5 star hotel should have guest needs and comfort at it's heart. The Wellington just has to dial this up in reception and the guest experience would be perfect!

Room Tip: the rooms in the old and new part are lovely but if you like modern go for the newly refurbished are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing the Wellington Hotel during your recent visit in Madrid and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We apologize for the inconvenience caused. Comments like yours, helps us to improve every day and motivates us to continue provide a 5-star service to our guests. We hope to welcome you in a near future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

everything at this hotel was excellent, staff were helpful, room was very comfortable, very large bathroom. I had a room facing the pool it was very quiet could even sleep with the window open. I would stay here again when in Madrid.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Wellington Hotel during your recent visit to Madrid and for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We are delighted to see that you had a pleasant stay in our Hotel

Looking forward to welcome you again in a near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed for three nights, and apart from the noise of the lift going up and down all night, found it to be a very comfortable hotel. We stayed in one of the 'older' style rooms, which was very nice. The downstairs lounge and bar area is charming, with good service. Breakfast was impressive. We were lucky enough to be staying during the bull fights (which I don't like), but loved seeing the matadors leaving from the hotel. A piece of Spanish culture. Being near the park and museums was a bonus.

Room Tip: Do not get a room near the lifts! They creak and rumble all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your fantastic comment about our Hotel, the room and breakfast. We are glad to see that you had a wonderful time between us.

Looking forward to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Awesome hotel and staff
A true five star near Retiro park in a great
Neighborhood a little far fom the tourist areas
Which made it better for us
Food was pricey but many options in area
Room near street a bit noisy
Great pool area free wifi

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us, for your wonderful comment and high rating. We are very glad to have met your expectations and we look forward to welcome you again in the Wellington Hotel in a near future.Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Enjoyed a fabulous 3 night stay at this beautifully presented hotel. Breakfast superb, and the rooms beautiful. We stayed in room 217, I know there is some issues with building work and the lift outside the window (for all rooms ending 17), however, the earliest we heard it was 10am, so we were up and about already and it did not disturb us, had it done so we would have asked to move. The pool is fabulous, as is the jacuzzi. My only grumble was the spa. Looks like it needs a little bit of attention, I noticed a couple of loose tiles and the mosaic wall next to the indoor jacuzzi looked like it was starting to peel off the wall. Otherwise, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for positive feedback and high rating in Tripadvisor. We are delighted to see that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel and that you enjoyed it. We are glad to have met your expectations and that you liked the breakfast, swimming pool and jacuzzi.

We also want to thank you your comment about the SPA, that type of comments helps us to improve our services and to offer a 5 star service.

We look forward to welcome you again in the Wellington Hotel in a near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed here on business and was very happy with the Hotel. The Staff were very helpful and professional, though like some of the other reviewers, would not necessarily say they were over-friendly. However, service delivery was excellent at all stages, and it is sometimes nice not to be told to "have a nice day" at every opportunity.

The public areas, restaurant, bar etc were all of a very high standard, well-maintained and managed well. The breakfast, which was included in our rate, was plentiful and of a good standard.

The bedrooms are straight out of the 1970's, and though old-fashioned, are very clean & well maintained. The beds were super-comfortable and I had an excellent night's sleep on both nights I stayed. The aircon was efficient, and with curtains, nets and external blinds, the rooms stayed super-cool, despite 40 degree heat outside.

I didn't use the pool or gym on this occasion as I hadn't realised the hotel had them before I travelled. however, I will definitely use them on my next visit.

I will certainly visit again - excellent value for money and a great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
From the Wellington Hotel, we would like to thank you very much for leaving such a lovely comment about the breakfast, restaurants and public áreas.

We are delighted to see that you had a pleasant stay and we would be pleased to welcome you again the next time you visit Madrid so you can enjoy our SPA facilities and summer swimming pool.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Address: Velazquez 8, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#14 Family Hotel in Madrid
#20 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#22 Business Hotel in Madrid
#27 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wellington Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel, located in city center, 1-1/2 km from train station & 12 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.