We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wellington Hotel to your Saves list
Wellington Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Velazquez 8, 28001 Madrid, Spain (Salamanca)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I spent 3 days in Madrid on business and vacation. The hotel is very good, in a very good area. Service is very friendly and helpful. Very nice rooms and an excellent bathroom (showers are great!)
I only found 2 problems with the room:
1) the heating control was Off/very hot/volcanic/surface of the sun.... no individual regulation, so we had to sleep with our window open during fairly cold nights.
2) the TV system was a nuisance. There is some kind of commercial offering when you turn the TV on, that makes you go through 3 very slow menus before actually watch TV. Nothing too serious.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for business travelling, not for a family vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    215
    64
    23
    8
See reviews for
113
238
44
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I guess this hotel is pretty old. It has the space that modern hotels don't have with an open central area for the lifts and wide corridors. I arrived at night for a business meeting the next day and so did not really get to explore. My room was comfortably large and had a well fitted out bathroom. You don't see many bidets these days. The shower had a large head which I appreciate and they provide a full accessories kit. So, no worries if you forget your toothpaste! Although it was November I found the room too warm for my liking and turned the air conditioning down. This didn't seem to make any difference. I also found the pillows a bit hard and combined with the heat did not have a great night's sleep. A few more sockets would have been appreciated. I couldn't stretch the cable for my laptop over to the desk. This and the aircon is the modernisation I referred to in the title. The breakfast buffet was comprehensive although while there was pineapple and peach juice there was no grapefruit juice which I would have considered more popular.

I seem to have dwelt on my niggles but actually I enjoyed my short stay here very much as its spaciousness gives a sense of comfort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The hotel is located in the expensive Salamanca district (Brits could compare it to Kensington, with lots of pricey boutique shops etc.). It's on the outskirts of central Madrid and it was a 20 minute walk to the centre of Madrid (Sol). We tended to eat in central Madrid as there was more choice and better prices than the restaurants in or around the hotel. Our room faced the internal courtyard and although the view was uninspiring, the room was very quiet and the motorised black out blinds ensured we had a good sleep. Retiro park is very close as are the museums (but the main archaeological museum is closed at the moment). The room was an OK size and clean but there was an odd mix of modern and older styles. The gym is located across the central courtyard and was fairly well equipped.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights with work. Hotel is spacious and clean and in a great location just off the park. Hotel is slightly dated in room layout (not many plug sockets) and bathrooms, whilst spacious, look like they were built in the 1980s. Breakfast is somewhat lacking with limited choice of "fresh" items e.g. fruit.
Free wifi helps.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel is special. It is not the most modern, even though they give each guest IPads to use while you visit, but somehow you can feel it's fabulous history. There are photos of famous past guest in the lobby and some very unique sitting areas throughout the hotel. My room was very large with an incredible bathroom.

Frankly, my 8 year old and I stayed in the Wellington because it has an outdoor pool and pools are hard to come by in Madrid. Madrid in August is hot. The pool and lounge area are magnificent; deep blue and cool. Did I mention Madrid is hot in August? Well it is, and if you are traveling with children there is only so much of the heat they can tolerate.

The front of the hotel has a giant upright bull statute, probably 12 feel tall, dressed as a bull fighter which makes for a great photo op. The door men and reception people could not be more accommodating. Although this hotel is a little uppity , it is very kid friendly and I most definitely would recommend it. They even have bikes that you can use to tour the area.

The location is about 3 blocks from one of the grandest parks in Madrid and the Prado is only about 5 blocks. Quiet at night but very safe.

FYI - We ventured 2 blocks away on Velazquez and found several excellent inexpensive cafes. Great breakfasts and lunch.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a 5-star property just opposite the Retiro Park, within walking distance of the Prado Museum (20 mins), as well as the Thyssen & the Reina Sofia. Very well furnished, with large AC rooms & en suite bathrooms with twin-wash basins & a bidet. Free WIFI for the first 24 hrs., rooms serviced twice daily. A large dining room on the ground floor with quite an OK spread for breakfast, though no eggs-to-order counter or alternate cuisine.
A well-equipped Fitness Room, but opens only at 10am on weekends. Good facilities for business conferences & meeting rooms. Taxis available throughout the day at the Stand just opposite the Hotel, and Bus Stops & Metro (Retiro) are close by.

I missed coffee/tea service in the rooms, and strangely, no complimentary bottled water in the room. An electric iron in the room would have been more convenient & cheaper than the Pressing service. Also WiFi should be complimentary throughout one's stay in this class of Hotel.

Room Tip: An upper floor room away from the road is much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a very enjoyable stay at The Wellington! Breakfast was wonderful, especially the flan!
Our room was very large, however air conditioning could be improved. Had to call maintenance in to work on getting room cooler. He changed the vent and it seemed to help a bit. They did come to the room immediately and were very accommodating!
Location is great, beautiful area of town and walking distance to many attractions and restaurants.

Room Tip: We were on the side street but the view was very nice and it was extremely quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Address: Velazquez 8, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#10 Business Hotel in Madrid
#15 Family Hotel in Madrid
#16 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#17 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wellington Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel, located in city center, 1-1/2 km from train station & 12 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Preferred Hotels, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.