We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“C K” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Praga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Praga to your Saves list
Hotel Praga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Antonio Lopez 65, 28019 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #317 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“C K”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very good for what you pay for. I get astonished when I read other people's reviews about Praga Hotel. I mean for what you pay for its very good. But I guess some people expect to pay £32 a night and treated like being at the Hilton.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    307
    258
    81
    46
See reviews for
166
290
49
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arboleas, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed three nights at the 4 star Hotel Praga in Madrid in early May 2015. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, the showers were fabulously hot and powerful and the toiletries were plentiful. On the other hand the reception staff were unhelpful and unfriendly, the restaurant staff were dismissive and the food they provided woefully inadequate. The choice and quality of food provided for our lunch (day 1) and evening meals (days 2 and 3) was very poor so we ate out instead on day 2. The coffee machines, which only functionned at breakfast although cups and saucers were provided throughout the day, offered a good selection of beverages but the coffee was pre-sweetened (!!!) and two out of the four machines rarely worked, creating queues of people. The salads were fresh, the desserts unimaginative and the same every day and the main courses were either accompanied by stodgy rice, watery pasta or cold green beans. There was not a potato in sight! The wifi was not exactly non-existent; we could get onto Facebook but very little else. We had to pay a daily rate to use the safe in our room. We felt this was unacceptable for a 4 star hotel but then, this is not really a 4 star hotel in our opinion.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room at the back of the hotel as the noise from the street at the front will affect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was robbed by Hotel Praga and there is nothing that I could do about it. Our experience was absolutely terrible. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone especially families traveling with babies.
After traveling for a week with a baby I needed to have some laundry done. There was not laundry bag or a price list in our closet or the room. I went downstairs to the reception desk to ask about laundry and the attendant took my 2 SMALL plastic bags and said "NO Problem"! Never mentioning the price. The attendant did not fill out a laundry list, he just took my bag and said that it would be done later that day. The laundry was done that day and when I looked at the bill I thought there was a mistake because it was $277 Euro! $277 Euro for mostly baby clothes!
It was two loads of laundry 1 white and 1 dark! $30 Euro would have been appropriate , not $277 Euro!
I felt like I was robbed by Hotel Praga! The rooms are $50 Euro a night, outdated, thin walls, internet that works 50% of the time and baby crib that would be considered dangerous to put a dog into - it had dangerous metal bars all the way around ( i would encourage the Praga Hotel management to take a trip to a local Ikea and invest in a baby crib from this century).
I feel like they rob people to make up for their cheap rooms. Charging someone $277 euro for 2 small bags of mostly baby clothes laundry is robbery!
When I went downstairs to explain my situation to the manager the clerk lied and said that he told me that laundry was very expensive. He could care less what my complaint was. He never mentioned the price or how crazy expensive it is. It was so sneaky of them to do that! I asked the manager if there is anything that could be done, because I could not afford to pay $277 Euro I had no idea that laundry service would be this expensive. I was told that if I did not pay they would call the police and have me arrested.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A disappointing hotel. Breakfast was the poorest quality of our trip. I aksed at reception for a plaster for a small cut on my finger to be told that they hadn't any. Would you wantb to stay in a hotel with no first aid kit? Maid was helpful but room walls very thin.Air conditioning dodgy.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

The hotel is a pickup and drop-off points for package tours and other forms of tours. As such, the lobby becomes chaotic during the busy hours in the morning and afternoon. The breakfast being provided is excellent compared to other hotels I've been through. Plaza Mayor and Sol is just few minutes away by bus. Take bus #23 right in front of the hotel and it will take you behind plaza mayor. From the plaza ... take side streets and you'll be in Sol .... the center point .....

I complained one night when students touring Madrid where so noisy in the lobby. Right away they send a security guard to calm down the students. Very few rooms have queen or king size beds. Usually they put 2 twin beds together. Wifi access before midnight is poor.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

It was difficult to find entrance to the garage,and parking is charged,room smell on cigarettes..
What I find good here is breakfast.. I believe that this hotel is not for a long stay,but fine enough for a night or two.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

There are crowds of school kids running around the lobby, very thin walls, noisy at night. Our room was very small, the bathroom was tiny with no shelf or a counter to place toiletries. The restaurant service (lunch) was terrible. Would never stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Praga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praga

Address: C/ Antonio Lopez 65, 28019 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#166 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praga 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Praga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praga Hotel Madrid
Hotel Praga Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Praga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.