We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Praga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Praga to your Saves list
Hotel Praga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Antonio Lopez 65, 28019 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #311 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fair”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

It was difficult to find entrance to the garage,and parking is charged,room smell on cigarettes..
What I find good here is breakfast.. I believe that this hotel is not for a long stay,but fine enough for a night or two.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    302
    251
    77
    43
See reviews for
162
282
47
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There are crowds of school kids running around the lobby, very thin walls, noisy at night. Our room was very small, the bathroom was tiny with no shelf or a counter to place toiletries. The restaurant service (lunch) was terrible. Would never stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel advertises itself as a 4-Star -- it is not! . The rooms are tight, the hallways dark and it is noisy from the various tour groups and the adjoining buildings. But it was clean. It becomes very crowed in the lobby with the various tour groups. The front desk is not the most friendly, probably due to the lines of people trying to speak to them. The food was OK.
It is located in a residential area of Madrid, just over the river. Though the city bus stops in front of the hotel, it is a 10 minute walk to the Metro (green line). There are various eateries along the avenue, including a Domino's and a supermarket in front. There are cabs in front for the folks who have to catch a very early flight. 30Euros to the airport. This hotel is a "3" at best -- Average

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean, well located hotel. Easy access to city bus. Room was clean. Great hotel for one or two night stays. Unfortunately too many school-age kids were staying there at the same time as us. Running up and down the hallways, yelling....not too cool. Breakfast is so-so. Do yourself a favor and go to one of the local shops nearby for breakfast pastries and omelets. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: I had room 640 at the end of the hallway. Comfortable room. Walls are very thin in this hotel...yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not a hotel I would have chosen but we were with a Tour and this was the designated hotel in Madrid. The lobby area is fairly new and breakfast is good but the rooms and the floors to all the levels is very old with worn out carpets.The hotel staffs aren't very helpful and friendly. Yes I would agree with the reviewer who said you need earplugs. There were many groups of school children, soccer clubs who stayed here and they were extremely noisy. The walls are very thin and the windows are not sound proof. On the plus side they are are a few laundromats if you need them and a supermarket right across the street. Wifi in the room is not very stable.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We liked the room and were pleased by the really good meal we had at the hotel restaurant. They even had gluten free bread. The hotel is just outside the standard taxi fee charge for central Madrid but it was about the same. The staff did not tell us about the safe, we had to ask after we saw it in the room. They should tell people about the safe when they check in, as a courtesy. Also, we had really horrid advice about the Madrid City Tour. Since the hotel sells tickets, they should be giving better advice. I spoke to the front desk about this and hopefully the next visitors had better guidance. Since we only had one full day in Madrid, I was unhappy that poor advice cost us 2 hours of admiring the city. Staff were apologetic but I mention it here so you can make sure you get good advice. We do actually recommend Hotel Praga. It is close to a huge park for running and nearby are a couple of dollar store type places where we replaced some lost/missing/used up items. Clearly a bunch of people staying at the hotel were there for events. It was reasonable in price and we would go back. PS found Restaurnte Cigarrales a few blocks away. It is a treasure w an unlikely "German style lettering" sign - chef is from Zanzibar.

Room Tip: our room overlooked a construction site and it was very quiet - very strange but welcome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

One of the best experiences in recent travel to spain. Clean and at thesame time cheap. Kudos to the management.The staff are too good in professionalism. Bathroom was brand new and spotless. Free wifi was an asset.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Praga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praga

Address: C/ Antonio Lopez 65, 28019 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#163 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praga 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Praga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praga Hotel Madrid
Hotel Praga Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Praga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.