We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle of the pack” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Praga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Praga to your Saves list
Hotel Praga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Antonio Lopez 65, 28019 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #313 of 455 Hotels in Madrid
Philippines
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Middle of the pack”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

the good stuff:
1. the hotel's right in front of a bus stop. Just ride N23 all the way to Plaza Mayor (that's in Central Madrid where all the action is) and ride the same bus back to the hotel.
2. There are at least 3 groceries that's walking distance from the hotel. There's also an ATM right in front.
3. The staff's friendly and they speak english.
4. The standard rooms are spacious. There's a lot of room to move around.
5. The breakfast buffet. It's better than most budget hotels ive been to.

The bad stuff :
1. The hotel is not new and you can really feel its age. I believe it should be due for a renovation. You can really feel the age, from the elevators to the furniture. The hotel is old. The elevators are small and sloooow.
2. No free wifi. You have to pay an extra 5euros. This is just ridiculous, in my opinion. It's like buying a laptop and you're asked to pay for windows. Hotels these days should have free wifi, period.
3. There's really nothing going on in this part of town. You have to take the bus to Central Madrid to have fun.
4. A lot of Tours stay in this hotel. So there's usually a traffic jam in the elevators.

Overall, it's an OK hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    268
    230
    68
    40
See reviews for
142
258
42
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a total of 6 days. The first room was small and a bit uncomfortable, but not too bad. On the other 5 days they gave my mother and I a very spacious room, which was a good upgrade from the first one. The room and the bathroom were spotless. A clean bathroom is very important. The staff were courteous and very nice. All of them were friendly, The ones in the cafeteria, the front desk, the gentleman who gave me my suitcase from storage, the ladies from housekeeping. You have a very friendly staff. When I asked for more pillows and blankets, they brought the to my room very quickly. I have nothing but nice things to say. The hotel is close to city center by bus, taxi and METRO. I loved the neighborhood were the hotel was, very quaint. I really enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Praga, and I would not hesitate to recommend it to everyone. Keep up the good work

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Although the Praga lacks a grand façade we found it a good base for our trip to Madrid. The room was large and clean with excellent air conditioning. The staff at the desk were helpful, although their English was limited.The free wifi worked very well. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. There is a frequent bus service into the city centre, and the Prado and Reina Sofia museums are not too far away. There were a large variety of tapas bars just up the street, so eating out was easy. The only downside was the large bus groups who check in and out fairly frequently; the trick is to approach the staff when the lobby is relatively empty and get all your queries answered.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, Usa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I found this hotel to be very comfortable. It is about 4 blocks from the Marques de Vedillo metro station (which is a straight line to Chueca). The neighborhood was mostly small shops with a supermarket across the street.

The room was very clean with a very large shower/tub combo. The water pressure was great and the tub long enough for a large 5'10 guy to be comfortable.

If you book, get the breakfast which was incredible! The maitre'd gave me a tray to take upstairs to my mom on the day we arrived, because she was going to miss it.

My only downside was that it apparently is heavily tour group oriented and sometimes the front desk gets buried under these groups. This only happened to us once the entire stay, but I imagine it happens more often during the tourist season.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Madrid.

The room was comfortable and clean with a spacious bathroom. Reception staff were somewhat impersonal, they didn't volunteer information, but would tell you if you asked.

There is a bus stop right outside that can take you to central Madrid, but it is also an easy half hour walk.

This hotel seems to cater to large bus tours where dozens and dozens of people, all needing assistance with over-sized suitcases converge on the reception area and clog the lifts and restaurant. If you need help from staff, or want to order food (or even get in and out the door!) at these times you are probably out of luck. This happened at least three times during my short stay.

An adequate hotel and a reasonable price, but you could probably find something with a bit more charm somewhere else.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torquay
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at the Praga hotel from 17th - 21st October. The location of the hotel was about 30 mins walk from the plaza Mayor, but there is a bus outside every 10/15mins to take you to the centre of Madrid.

Our room was quiet and spacious, the breakfast was buffet style with great orange juice and coffee! The staff were friendly and helpful. The only downside was the view from our room which overlooked a carpark and a block of apartments BUT the newly created park 2 mins walk from the hotel was lovely to relax in.

I certainly recommend this hotel and it is great value for money.

Room Tip: we requested a top end room and got it. It was quiet and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The breakfast room was complete chaos as 400+ rooms full of people all descended on the place at exactly 7AM. This hotel is where tour groups stay and as a result, hundreds are all leaving at the same time (eating at the same time, trying to get on the small elevators at the same time, etc.) We stayed there at the end of our tour and it was not as chaotic. Our sliding glass door to the patio would not lock. The location is not the greatest and we felt it was a bit sleazy. The beds were not very comfortable, street noise was very loud, and a bad night of sleep was the result. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Praga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praga

Address: C/ Antonio Lopez 65, 28019 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#160 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praga 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Praga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praga Hotel Madrid
Hotel Praga Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Praga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.