We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great off season hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Praga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Praga to your Saves list
Hotel Praga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Antonio Lopez 65, 28019 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #311 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
San Diego, California, Usa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great off season hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I found this hotel to be very comfortable. It is about 4 blocks from the Marques de Vedillo metro station (which is a straight line to Chueca). The neighborhood was mostly small shops with a supermarket across the street.

The room was very clean with a very large shower/tub combo. The water pressure was great and the tub long enough for a large 5'10 guy to be comfortable.

If you book, get the breakfast which was incredible! The maitre'd gave me a tray to take upstairs to my mom on the day we arrived, because she was going to miss it.

My only downside was that it apparently is heavily tour group oriented and sometimes the front desk gets buried under these groups. This only happened to us once the entire stay, but I imagine it happens more often during the tourist season.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    302
    251
    77
    43
See reviews for
162
282
47
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Madrid.

The room was comfortable and clean with a spacious bathroom. Reception staff were somewhat impersonal, they didn't volunteer information, but would tell you if you asked.

There is a bus stop right outside that can take you to central Madrid, but it is also an easy half hour walk.

This hotel seems to cater to large bus tours where dozens and dozens of people, all needing assistance with over-sized suitcases converge on the reception area and clog the lifts and restaurant. If you need help from staff, or want to order food (or even get in and out the door!) at these times you are probably out of luck. This happened at least three times during my short stay.

An adequate hotel and a reasonable price, but you could probably find something with a bit more charm somewhere else.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torquay
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at the Praga hotel from 17th - 21st October. The location of the hotel was about 30 mins walk from the plaza Mayor, but there is a bus outside every 10/15mins to take you to the centre of Madrid.

Our room was quiet and spacious, the breakfast was buffet style with great orange juice and coffee! The staff were friendly and helpful. The only downside was the view from our room which overlooked a carpark and a block of apartments BUT the newly created park 2 mins walk from the hotel was lovely to relax in.

I certainly recommend this hotel and it is great value for money.

Room Tip: we requested a top end room and got it. It was quiet and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The breakfast room was complete chaos as 400+ rooms full of people all descended on the place at exactly 7AM. This hotel is where tour groups stay and as a result, hundreds are all leaving at the same time (eating at the same time, trying to get on the small elevators at the same time, etc.) We stayed there at the end of our tour and it was not as chaotic. Our sliding glass door to the patio would not lock. The location is not the greatest and we felt it was a bit sleazy. The beds were not very comfortable, street noise was very loud, and a bad night of sleep was the result. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel pre and post Cosmos tour. Before the tour we stayed one night before the tour started and we weren't impressed at all. There were two single beds in the room and they were very small single beds, and it was a very noisy room with water running all night long from pipes that should have been in a service duct. We did go to reception and ask for another room, but none were available. The next morning they did move us to a room with a king bed which was good and quiet this time. The breakfasts were good, buffet style, but very long queue the first morning to actually get your food, due to we presume lots of tour groups all wanting to have breakfast at the same time. After the tour we stayed here again and had a room with a balcony overlooking the main street where the hotel is located. Good location for the hotel, easy walking distance to the main shopping in Madrid. As well as lots of shops around the hotel. There was a safe in the hotel room but you had to pay a deposit to get the key to use the safe. You did get all the deposit back upon checking out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

It is an older hotel, relatively well kept, but there is a funky aroma in the room and hallways. The room itself is simple and clean. There is a fridge with a few mini bar items. The service is terrible, the front desk has you wait while they shuffle through papers without making eye contact as to when exactly you will receive assistance. There is NO help or friendliness offered, i.e. you need to ask for a map, ask for wi-fi and they behave annoyed to help you.
Not the best location, you need to walk approx. 1 km back to catch metro line #5 (Marques de Vadillo) to get into central Madrid for shopping and the main squares. Or, there is the bus stop outside the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Lakes, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel is well located, bus stop is right outside the hotel and metro within walking distance. The rooms are very small and f the price we pay, they should offer free wifi, even the public bus have wifi for free, so I don't understand how they charge for it. The breakfast buffet was nice and with a great variety of food hot and cold, the staff at the restaurant was nice but at front desk were a little bit rude and slow.

Room Tip: I found the beds small, we were 3 adults and a child in our room, but found rooms very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Praga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praga

Address: C/ Antonio Lopez 65, 28019 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#163 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praga 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Praga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praga Hotel Madrid
Hotel Praga Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Praga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.