We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hopeless hotel ever seen” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Praga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Praga to your Saves list
Hotel Praga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Antonio Lopez 65, 28019 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #317 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very hopeless hotel ever seen”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I checked in on 28th may and checked out on 31st May 2013 (just came back from spain ) we reached hotel from airport after flying for 16 hours from india in evening, me my wife with two young kids got two rooms 405, 406 after standing infront of them for at least half an hour,first thing we were shocked to know that no one can speak English on reception very rude to talk, their behaviour wasn't good hotel rooms r in very bad condition.very small rooms. lifts are in very very bad condition and the breakfast is not at all good. Now any one going there to stay I will suggest please for god shake don't spoil ur money. I stayed in marbella for 4 days in hotel nh alanda pretty good hotel, in barcelona at abba sants hotel very good and very good location but in madrid worst hotel is praga. Bhupendra Rathore india

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    305
    257
    79
    45
See reviews for
164
288
48
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Started a two week Spain adventure at this hotel and had no complaints. The room was very clean, excellent shower, room a nice size and the beds were fine.
The buffet breakfast, included, was the usual with a few hot items, fruit, juice, pastry etc.
Nothing fancy but certainly more than acceptable.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel has created an obvious niche for itself as a clearing house for touring groups. Our mistake was to book in for 3 nights prior to the start of a COSMOS Tour. After a long flight the last thing we needed was indifferent & unhelpful staff. Having specifically asked for a non somoking room upon requesting this to be changed new 'keys' were provided for another room on another floor with the request to return the original ones when we had completed our move. Hotel is stuck in a 1960's time warp definatetely reflected in decor of public areas & rooms. The lifts/elevators are full with 2 people & their luggage and are painfully slow. No local tourist type info is provided in the rooms nor in the foyer. A request to the desk yeilded a single A4 photocopy of a map with the suggestion to catch a 23 bus outside the hotel to the Plaza Mayor where there was a Tourist Bureau! We did this & sorted ourseves out no thanks to the hotel.
Breakfasts were good (need to be to feed the throngs!). but found the only meal in the attached restaurant very disappointing. Fortunately we found a number of eating establishments in the area which more than satisfied our needs.
Not a good start nor impression for 5 weeks in the Iberian Peninsula. Fortunately our worst hotel by a country mile was our first one. The sad thing is that no one seemed to care.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel on a Saturday afternoon in June as the 1st night of a Cosmos tour of Spain. The hotel is not in central Madrid but some distance away at the outskirts. An easy bus ride into Madrid itself but too far to walk. The area was nice and a short walk takes you to a very peaceful park area with walks, benches, flower gardens and a river through the middle. Quite a surprise but certainly a pleasant one.
The hotel doesn't have any kind of a view so it doesn't matter if you get a room at the front or the back although the back is surrounded by private apartments so who knows what kind of a view you could see (or be!)

Our room was a good size twin with minibar and a small safe (key from reception) plus a very nice bathroom. The bathroom was modern and clean, no smells as another reviewer had found and plenty of towels etc. Air conditioning worked brilliantly!

No free Wi-fi but it was available for 5 Euros for 24hours. As we were 'roaming' I didn't risk checking mobile signal strength.

I had not expected too much based on some of the reviews but had no complains at all. Buffet breakfast was extremely comprehensive (and included in our tour) with a good selection available although the 'hot' items were warm at best.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I went there to see an Atletico de Madrid game and the location was great for that. It wasn't in the prettiest part of Madrid but the transports were good enough to get you where you wanted to go easily. The Hotel itself wasn't extraordinary, the building is extremely uninviting but the food was good and the staff very friendly. The room was nothing special but it was clean and good enough for 2 nights. Next time, if I am not going to go to Vicente Calderon, I'll go somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Essex United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights at the start and end of an Archers Direct Tour, along with about 10 other coach tours, as busy noisy hotel in a working class district of Madrid, far from the centre. it is an OK area with lots of bars and restaurants with 2 supermarkets bvery close. he number 23 bus takes you into the centre for 1.5 E or buy a T10 card for 9.60, this gives you 10 trips on any public transport and you can share it between 2 or more people. Rooms were tired and our room on the 3rd floor was none too clean either. to be fair the beds were very comfortable and the linen clean.
Hotel is very noisy, excitable stag and hen parties and lots of tour companies.
Food OK, lots of choice. WiFi a rip off at 5E per night.

Room Tip: stay at the back if you want a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan PR
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Had to stay one night here before joining a 7day tour with Europamundo. It is always too crowded with people coming and going to excursions, must wait an eternity to use their three elevators when a tour has come or is leaving. The three elevators are too small, the carpets are old and dirty. And walls are too thin, we could clearly hear a neighbor´s conversation till almost 1 am!!! Stay here if you are joining a tour, otherwise, stay somewhere else, Madrid transportation is excellent.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Praga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praga

Address: C/ Antonio Lopez 65, 28019 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#165 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praga 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Praga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praga Hotel Madrid
Hotel Praga Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Praga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.