We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DATED” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Praga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Praga to your Saves list
Hotel Praga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Antonio Lopez 65, 28019 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #310 of 455 Hotels in Madrid
San Juan PR
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“DATED”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Had to stay one night here before joining a 7day tour with Europamundo. It is always too crowded with people coming and going to excursions, must wait an eternity to use their three elevators when a tour has come or is leaving. The three elevators are too small, the carpets are old and dirty. And walls are too thin, we could clearly hear a neighbor´s conversation till almost 1 am!!! Stay here if you are joining a tour, otherwise, stay somewhere else, Madrid transportation is excellent.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    261
    225
    66
    38
See reviews for
138
252
40
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I checked in on 28th may and checked out on 31st May 2013 (just came back from spain ) we reached hotel from airport after flying for 16 hours from india in evening, me my wife with two young kids got two rooms 405, 406 after standing infront of them for at least half an hour,first thing we were shocked to know that no one can speak English on reception very rude to talk, their behaviour wasn't good hotel rooms r in very bad condition.very small rooms. lifts are in very very bad condition and the breakfast is not at all good. Now any one going there to stay I will suggest please for god shake don't spoil ur money. I stayed in marbella for 4 days in hotel nh alanda pretty good hotel, in barcelona at abba sants hotel very good and very good location but in madrid worst hotel is praga. Bhupendra Rathore india

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

No free WiFi, no English-language television channel, small drab room in need of renovation, significant street noise, unpleasant front desk staff, inconvenient location. We will not return to this hotel undeserving of its four-star designation.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room on the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stay in this hotel every time I go to Madrid, the hotel is located close to local shops, great food and public transportation. the price is fair and the accomodation are great. will stay again when I go back to spain.

Room Tip: if you use to having a big american style bed just asked for a bouble room and pushed the beds toget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Our shower drain backed up into the bathroom through a floor drain. It smelled quite bad. This was room 312. We were so tired that we just went to sleep and in the morning let the desk staff know. They offered to have someone come look at it but we wanted to shower and get going. I asked for another room to shower in and they said no. I said, ok we will get out of the room. I asked where breakfast was and the gentleman pointed me to the salon and told me 11 Euros. I was going to ask for a free breakfast but didn't bother. We left and had breakfast somewhere else.

The front desk staff seemed overwhelmed and as if dealing with me was a problem. There was no visible management and I questioned the staff training for customer service. Morale may be an issue here. I bet the room still has plumbing problems. Hotel Praga seems like the type of place you come to for drinking with your mates and then go to the football games.

I realize that things will happen, however I think some sort of acknowledgement or offering would have been appropriate. Nothing was mentioned or recognized. I think I am done with big hotels, it will be smaller family run operations. I didn't feel like putting the energy in to strongly advocate for myself at the Hotel Praga.

One thing I didn't get. Why are there two men in uniform standing in the lobby? They didn't greet us, they just stood around. Didn't help with luggage. Were they security or????

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

hi.i decided to go this year to the madrid atp tournament instead of the atp in rome which i have been going for 3 years.i went with a group not alone this time so the hotel was part of the package.so i do not know the exact price i payed but knowing the total cost i can say it was a good price for a 4 star hotel.i asked for a quiet room and that is what i got.ok i will do you a favor and tell you.room number 552.it has a twin bed.it is away from the stairs and the elevator and it faces the inside.so no great view.the room is clean, it has an old tv.the cleaning ladies are very helpful.i dont know about the do not disturb situation as stated from others because i got up at 8.30 had beakkfast at around 9+.the breakfast is great.it has everything.scrambled eggs,bacon ,sausages,little croissants,butter,marmelade,honey,coffee,milk,chocolate ,fruits,orange juice.and more but ,well thats what i had haha.its all you can eat, it came with the package so i dont know how much extra it is,but it is worth it.after that meal you get hungry again at around 17.oo o clock.the hotel is conveniently located between the la caja magica for the tournament,and the towns centre.it is around a 10 minute walk from the metro station which is the marques de vadillo.the bus 23 has a stop just outside the hotel.i hear it has very convenient stops but i never took it so...you can get a tourist travel pass for the days you are staying from the info at the metro station which also covers buses for zone a.it covers just about everything central including the airport!!! so it is a clever idea to pick it straight from the airport when arriving if you do not have an easy and cheap transportation for your hotel.anyway,extra info...the hotel has a very good value for money, although it is about half an hour walk from the centre.so if you want an hotel at the centre this one is definitely not for you.but i found out that madrid is like rome.you want to walk the city,actually spend all your energy walking.and you can get anywhere by walking.and it is not a city where you will get lost.well unless you really try...anyway that is the info i have from my trip.take a look at my photos fro the room although it is just your typical twins size bedroom.good luck!!! oh,and the tournament was ok .rafa won the cup, but federer lost from second round.he is looking good so far in the atp rome tournament though.oh, well, ...

Room Tip: quiet room with twin bed 552
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed fro three nights Thursday to Sunday. Room was tidy and spacious and bathroom also good. Breakfast is the usual bread, cold meats, cheese and pastries of the continent with hot dog sausages, fatty streaky bacon, scrambled eggs soup and tomatoes as the hot options. Dinner was a choice of pork, salmon and a good variety of veg and salad. Bar also good and reasonable.
Only down points were the lack of somewhere to sit in the spacious reception, it cries out for big comfy sofas, and the 5 euro per day wifi charge was a bit steep. Bus stop to town right outside and some good coffee stops and bars nearby.

Room Tip: One at the back away from the main road is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Praga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praga

Address: C/ Antonio Lopez 65, 28019 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#160 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praga 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Praga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praga Hotel Madrid
Hotel Praga Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Praga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.