We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Praga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Praga to your Saves list
Hotel Praga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Antonio Lopez 65, 28019 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #320 of 454 Hotels in Madrid
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stay in this hotel every time I go to Madrid, the hotel is located close to local shops, great food and public transportation. the price is fair and the accomodation are great. will stay again when I go back to spain.

Room Tip: if you use to having a big american style bed just asked for a bouble room and pushed the beds toget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    328
    272
    84
    50
See reviews for
172
308
51
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Our shower drain backed up into the bathroom through a floor drain. It smelled quite bad. This was room 312. We were so tired that we just went to sleep and in the morning let the desk staff know. They offered to have someone come look at it but we wanted to shower and get going. I asked for another room to shower in and they said no. I said, ok we will get out of the room. I asked where breakfast was and the gentleman pointed me to the salon and told me 11 Euros. I was going to ask for a free breakfast but didn't bother. We left and had breakfast somewhere else.

The front desk staff seemed overwhelmed and as if dealing with me was a problem. There was no visible management and I questioned the staff training for customer service. Morale may be an issue here. I bet the room still has plumbing problems. Hotel Praga seems like the type of place you come to for drinking with your mates and then go to the football games.

I realize that things will happen, however I think some sort of acknowledgement or offering would have been appropriate. Nothing was mentioned or recognized. I think I am done with big hotels, it will be smaller family run operations. I didn't feel like putting the energy in to strongly advocate for myself at the Hotel Praga.

One thing I didn't get. Why are there two men in uniform standing in the lobby? They didn't greet us, they just stood around. Didn't help with luggage. Were they security or????

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

hi.i decided to go this year to the madrid atp tournament instead of the atp in rome which i have been going for 3 years.i went with a group not alone this time so the hotel was part of the package.so i do not know the exact price i payed but knowing the total cost i can say it was a good price for a 4 star hotel.i asked for a quiet room and that is what i got.ok i will do you a favor and tell you.room number 552.it has a twin bed.it is away from the stairs and the elevator and it faces the inside.so no great view.the room is clean, it has an old tv.the cleaning ladies are very helpful.i dont know about the do not disturb situation as stated from others because i got up at 8.30 had beakkfast at around 9+.the breakfast is great.it has everything.scrambled eggs,bacon ,sausages,little croissants,butter,marmelade,honey,coffee,milk,chocolate ,fruits,orange juice.and more but ,well thats what i had haha.its all you can eat, it came with the package so i dont know how much extra it is,but it is worth it.after that meal you get hungry again at around 17.oo o clock.the hotel is conveniently located between the la caja magica for the tournament,and the towns centre.it is around a 10 minute walk from the metro station which is the marques de vadillo.the bus 23 has a stop just outside the hotel.i hear it has very convenient stops but i never took it so...you can get a tourist travel pass for the days you are staying from the info at the metro station which also covers buses for zone a.it covers just about everything central including the airport!!! so it is a clever idea to pick it straight from the airport when arriving if you do not have an easy and cheap transportation for your hotel.anyway,extra info...the hotel has a very good value for money, although it is about half an hour walk from the centre.so if you want an hotel at the centre this one is definitely not for you.but i found out that madrid is like rome.you want to walk the city,actually spend all your energy walking.and you can get anywhere by walking.and it is not a city where you will get lost.well unless you really try...anyway that is the info i have from my trip.take a look at my photos fro the room although it is just your typical twins size bedroom.good luck!!! oh,and the tournament was ok .rafa won the cup, but federer lost from second round.he is looking good so far in the atp rome tournament though.oh, well, ...

Room Tip: quiet room with twin bed 552
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
170 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed fro three nights Thursday to Sunday. Room was tidy and spacious and bathroom also good. Breakfast is the usual bread, cold meats, cheese and pastries of the continent with hot dog sausages, fatty streaky bacon, scrambled eggs soup and tomatoes as the hot options. Dinner was a choice of pork, salmon and a good variety of veg and salad. Bar also good and reasonable.
Only down points were the lack of somewhere to sit in the spacious reception, it cries out for big comfy sofas, and the 5 euro per day wifi charge was a bit steep. Bus stop to town right outside and some good coffee stops and bars nearby.

Room Tip: One at the back away from the main road is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel does not fit its 4* rating. There were not even complimentary shampoos or a kettle in the room. They had taken away all the sofas in reception so there was nowhere to sit whilst waiting to meet friends. The rooms have a nice balcony overlooking the street. It suited its purpose as a comfortable bed for the night a short €7 taxi ride from La Caja Magica. Situated on a main road there is all night traffic and we found the walls are paper thin as we were also unfortunate to have neighbours who stayed up until 3am and heard everything. The bathroom was so small an overweight person would have trouble getting in and out. Staff on reception were polite, but not especially helpful. The saving grace was Bar La Parada a couple of doors down where Salvatore, a gravelly voiced Italian with fluent English and Spanish, will look after you for breakfast, snacks and a late night drink whilst regaling you enthusiastically with his life story.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Close to the airport ( Euro 25,--) and 15 minutes walking distance to metro station. Busstop to the center of Madrid just in front of the hotel. Nice staff who wil do anything to help you during your visit to Madrid. Full breakfast buffet. Nice basic clean rooms. Would come again during my next stay in Madrid.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Praga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praga

Address: C/ Antonio Lopez 65, 28019 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#166 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praga 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Praga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praga Hotel Madrid
Hotel Praga Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Praga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.