We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worthy of stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Praga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Praga to your Saves list
Hotel Praga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Antonio Lopez 65, 28019 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #322 of 446 Hotels in Madrid
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not worthy of stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Rooms WAY to small for two people, Very old and smelly, ceilings so thin you can here a person above urinating, Television was ancient and remotes held together with duct tape, no English channels. We booked a specific room and they denied that booking ever took place, we were refused the room. Rooms for two people had space for only one suitcase.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony, at least these rooms have fresh air. All rooms are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 911Stjohnsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Good for the price, about 35 Euro's in a taxi from the airport, you can quite easily get the metro for 5 Euro per person if you don't mind changing a few trains and walking the last 10 mins, we are going to do this tomorrow back to the airport.
Rooms basic but ok for the money, didn't eat at the hotel, not very Spanish menu, lots of places to eat and drink nearby.
Walls are a bit thin but had a good sleep even so.
Probably wouldn't come back again, if I was ever to return to Madrid I'd try someone a bit more upmarket.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffnz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

No complaints, all services very close in. Not sure about the restaurant ( not cheap) plenty of other places to eat near by with more charactor. Our room was very comfortable clean and secure. Bus right out side #23 to downtown. Metro just a short walk also and very convenient to use. Yes would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwisard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking to explore Madrid and just want a reasonable base this is fine. Easy to get the metro or bus, or a 30 minute walk to town if you're feeling energetic.

No frills but clean, nice enough and service was fine.

What you pay is what you get so if you go expecting the world you'll be disappointed. The walls are a little thin so I'd recommend getting a room away from the stairs and lifts.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Myself and a colleague stayed in this hotel for two nights recently. The price is low and I have always taken the expression "you get what you pay for" into account when booking hotels like this. The room was clean and about the only saving grace however. Even for a cheap room I would expect the TV to work (it didnt) and the heating in the room to work (it didnt). Given the price I expected the noise at night (both inside and outside the hotel on floor 6) and basic service levels. However, I did not expect the rude manner in which all non Spanards were treated in the bar and food areas. The hotel is in need of a refurbishment and can perhaps up sell some rooms with a make over and better staff. On the plus side, the hotel is close to the centre (10 min bus journey). I will not book here again but hope they can take the hotel in the right direction in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemoon099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Much improved! so much better than last time I stayed here less than 12 months ago, refurbished rooms ... excellent buffet breakfast .... reception staff still not smiling ... lol. Not close to Plaza Mayor or palace but just EU8-EU9 dollar taxi ride to hotel door. Or ride bus number 23 direct to Plaza Mayor, just check with the driver where to catch it back from.
Walk the streets ... enjoy the cheap prices ... Madrid is much cheaper than Australia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chardygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I too did the Cosmos 9 day trip and was in this place for the last two nights. The prior Cosmos travelers poor review weighed heavily because I too am a vegetarian.

But glad that the hotel wasn't as bad as I feared.

Pros: friendly staff, bus right in front (daytime to Sol - 20+ minutes depending on traffic), Metro a 10 minute walk, plenty of restaurants in the vicinity, supermarket and ATMs in same block, part of a residential area (which was safe even when my girlfriend and i returned around 1 am) and finally - affordable!

Cons:
1. taxis in front seem to show tourists around even when they dont ask for it (ride to Sol to Hotel Liabeny @ Sol, where I am currently staying for three days, cost euro 12 vs around 7. No traffic but the driver took us around Atocha and Prado museum, which are away from Sol. I didnt complain because i did want to see Madrid around)
2. thin walls and carpet
3. front facing rooms can hear traffic on street.

Last two are the main reasons I am giving it a 3 and not 4 star.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCdesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
San Blas
Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala
Airport / Barajas
Axor Feria Hotel
Axor Feria Hotel
#115 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Gran Legazpi
#293 of 446 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Isis Hotel
#378 of 446 in Madrid
3.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Hotel Nuevo Madrid
#220 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praga

Address: C/ Antonio Lopez 65, 28019 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#170 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praga 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Praga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praga Hotel Madrid
Hotel Praga Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing