We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would probably stay here again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Praga

Save Saved
You added Hotel Praga to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Praga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Antonio Lopez 65, 28019 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #312 of 458 hotels in Madrid
Regina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Would probably stay here again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

No complaints, all services very close in. Not sure about the restaurant ( not cheap) plenty of other places to eat near by with more charactor. Our room was very comfortable clean and secure. Bus right out side #23 to downtown. Metro just a short walk also and very convenient to use. Yes would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    317
    242
    71
    36
See reviews for
119
233
34
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking to explore Madrid and just want a reasonable base this is fine. Easy to get the metro or bus, or a 30 minute walk to town if you're feeling energetic.

No frills but clean, nice enough and service was fine.

What you pay is what you get so if you go expecting the world you'll be disappointed. The walls are a little thin so I'd recommend getting a room away from the stairs and lifts.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Myself and a colleague stayed in this hotel for two nights recently. The price is low and I have always taken the expression "you get what you pay for" into account when booking hotels like this. The room was clean and about the only saving grace however. Even for a cheap room I would expect the TV to work (it didnt) and the heating in the room to work (it didnt). Given the price I expected the noise at night (both inside and outside the hotel on floor 6) and basic service levels. However, I did not expect the rude manner in which all non Spanards were treated in the bar and food areas. The hotel is in need of a refurbishment and can perhaps up sell some rooms with a make over and better staff. On the plus side, the hotel is close to the centre (10 min bus journey). I will not book here again but hope they can take the hotel in the right direction in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Much improved! so much better than last time I stayed here less than 12 months ago, refurbished rooms ... excellent buffet breakfast .... reception staff still not smiling ... lol. Not close to Plaza Mayor or palace but just EU8-EU9 dollar taxi ride to hotel door. Or ride bus number 23 direct to Plaza Mayor, just check with the driver where to catch it back from.
Walk the streets ... enjoy the cheap prices ... Madrid is much cheaper than Australia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I too did the Cosmos 9 day trip and was in this place for the last two nights. The prior Cosmos travelers poor review weighed heavily because I too am a vegetarian.

But glad that the hotel wasn't as bad as I feared.

Pros: friendly staff, bus right in front (daytime to Sol - 20+ minutes depending on traffic), Metro a 10 minute walk, plenty of restaurants in the vicinity, supermarket and ATMs in same block, part of a residential area (which was safe even when my girlfriend and i returned around 1 am) and finally - affordable!

Cons:
1. taxis in front seem to show tourists around even when they dont ask for it (ride to Sol to Hotel Liabeny @ Sol, where I am currently staying for three days, cost euro 12 vs around 7. No traffic but the driver took us around Atocha and Prado museum, which are away from Sol. I didnt complain because i did want to see Madrid around)
2. thin walls and carpet
3. front facing rooms can hear traffic on street.

Last two are the main reasons I am giving it a 3 and not 4 star.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

This was the last hotel on our 9 day Cosmos "jewels of Spain & Portugal tour and was very unsatisfactory! Although the rest of the room seemed clean, the carpet had multiple stains. Our view was a rear window overlooking hundreds of apartments and a rooftop. Our floor had multiple noisy high school tour groups. The restaurant had nothing without meat and when we declined having just salad the waiter summoned what appeared to be the restaurant manager who very bluntly told us "we don't have vegetarian food"! We left and attempted to find food in the area only to encounter a television crew video taping multiple police vehicles and an army of police who were handcuffing and taking away numerous men from a bar just a few doors away from the hotel. We didn't feel safe and went back to our room without eating. We were happy to leave the following morning and would certainly not recommend this hotel to anyone. We will write to Cosmos Tours to express our dissatisfaction with their choice of Praga Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We went to Madrid to Watch Man United v Madrid and we decided to stay for a week.
The downside of this hotel is the location of it. We payed €50 from Barajas Airport to the hotel and its about 20km to centre aswel. We met a few local people and used bus just outside the hotel to town really cheap €1.5.

Very clean, good size rooms floor 1 and great wi-fi (free).

Overall good hotel apart from the location if you intend to go to places..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Praga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praga

Address: C/ Antonio Lopez 65, 28019 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#161 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praga 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Hotel Praga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praga Hotel Madrid
Hotel Praga Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Praga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.