We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Praga

Save Saved
You added Hotel Praga to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Praga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Antonio Lopez 65, 28019 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #312 of 458 hotels in Madrid
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Had a lovely weekend room was small but as only used to sleep in wasn't a problem staff where very nice helpful and friendly only had breakfast there but again food and staff were lovely just a tube ride from sol was in a good location lots of cafes and little shops near buy dominoes pizza open late which was very handy

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    239
    210
    60
    36
See reviews for
127
235
36
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel is located outside the downtown area. The closest Metro (Marques de Vadillo) is a 15 minutes walk. 5 stations later and a line change you're in Puerta del Sol. So, location is not a strong point. Breakfast, room, bed and pillow are average. It's a clean hotel and the service is very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The hotel pretends to be 4 stars, that's why it is very clean and the rooms are ok for a quick stay in Madrid, breakfast is ok, location is 5-7 min walking distance from metro. It will take you around 25 min to get to the city center using metro. There is a grocery in 2-3 min walking distance and a number of cafes and restaurants as well.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaior, Spain
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Meeting & greeted by a miserable older male receptionist around 11pm we had to wait whilst he fluffed around with paperwork until I spoke to him in Spanish and he then decided to assist our check in for our booked triple room.

Allocated a nice size room 328 being adequate but room was freezing cold and being 3 degrees outside was not welcoming for a four star property and please the website does need an update as things look totally different from the day that was made.

Beds were comfortable but under the beds were empty coca cola bottles , rubbish from past guests and cleaning was obviously done by Helen Keller or Stevie Wonder because I was appalled at the dust and lack of cleanliness in bathroom & bedroom.

On choice I would not stay here again as there are other properties of better value
within Madrid and that offer far better cleanliness, service and are pleased to welcome guests
In a time of recession .

Room Tip: Book another hotel !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had 3 single beds in our room which was comfortable, clean and had a good shower in the spotless bathroom. The lighting was dim by the window but we could all sit happily on the other two beds. Free wi-fi was welcome - just had to ask at Reception for the code which lasted the length of our stay and worked on more than one computer at a time. The staff were friendly and spoke good English. We ate breakfast out in the local cafes- atmospheric and busy one on Calle Antonio Leyva by the Metro station. We found the bus and metro clean, cheap and easy to use and felt very safe. We enjoyed being in a local neighbourhood rather than in a tourist area. The hotel seems to have been upgraded since some of the previous posts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was very nice, the bedrooms were clean ( I always carry my own blanket ) the restroom very clean but small for three people, but it worked. The breakfast buffet wa great a big selection each day we were their. The bus and taxi were located right outside the front door, if you take the bus keep your purse close to your body. Great shopping Madrid has so many malls but they are called " centro comercial". A must see is Plaza Mayor great place to walk around and do some window shopping, plus some very large stores near by. Toledo Spain is a must, before I forget restaurants open at 8:00pm just in case your like us early eaters. Great

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel is nothing like the pictures displayed on their website. I stayed there with my children who were given a room right outside the lift doors. The rooms are very poorly lit - so much so that you can't read a book; views from rear windows are ghastly (washing and terrace debris from the block of flats opposite); bathrooms just about adequate, but hardly any room to swing a cat in. In the bedrooms TVs antequated; old beds; no duvet covers (duvet sandwiched between two sheets). The room my children stayed in smelled old and musty. There is nothing in the area of interest - indeed to find a 'suitable' place for brunch we had to walk for twenty minutes. I will not even mention the attitude of some of the staff when approached for anything.

Highlight of our stay - the lovely, delightful staff in the hotel's restaurant/cafeteria. Delivering service with a smile is not something you see ofte in Madrid. Will not be booking that hotel again unless they have a complete and thorough overhaul.

Room Tip: Book another hotel - unless the refurbish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Praga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praga

Address: C/ Antonio Lopez 65, 28019 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#162 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praga 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Praga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praga Hotel Madrid
Hotel Praga Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Praga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.