We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Praga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Praga to your Saves list
Hotel Praga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Antonio Lopez 65, 28019 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #323 of 446 Hotels in Madrid
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not bad, not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was the first hotel I stayed at on my tour for one night only.

The rooms were pretty small. Just large enough to open my suitcase.
The reception spoke pretty good English.
The dinner and breakfast buffets were OK. Not fantastic.
Safe hire not included.

The walls were so thin that I could hear the phone vibrating in the next room.

Costs a 35 euro cab ride from Barajas airport.

I only had to stay there for one night so I can't really comment too much

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tampa FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I visited Madrid on my own for two nights and loved this hotel although it is just a little off the beaten path. It is located in a residential area, about 10-12 minutes walk from the closest train station. It is about a 25-30 minute uphill walk to the Plaza Real and the Palace, which takes you over a beautiful bridge and through an arch, so I would recommend you do that once during your stay. The rooms are small and have quite a bit of noise due to thin walls, but otherwise, it is very comfortable. I can't say enough good things about the breakfast!! Delicious!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sasaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed at the Praga while visiting friends who live in the neighborhood and found it to be a good value and a pleasant place to stay. I think it would be a relatively good location for any traveler coming to Madrid who doesn't mind being slightly away from the city center. As other reviewers noted, it's a pleasant walk or easy bus ride to all the main sights, and the surrounding neighborhood has good stores and restaurants- it's a real neighborhood where Madrilenos live, and you also have the newly completed riverwalk, which we enjoyed walking along.

We enjoyed having the breakfast buffet and found the staff pleasant. As elsewhere in Spain, you will have an easier time if you speak a bit of Spanish- we observed some others struggling to communicate with staff. The wifi seemed a bit expensive and you also had to pay to use the safe in the room, but we still felt it was a good value overall.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The hotel has a good location, 10 minutes from underground station. There are supermarket and shops near the hotel.

Rooms are nice and clean, breakfast is also good.
I recommend this hotel for few days in Madrid!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Konstantin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Not a 5 star wasn't expecting one. Close to subway. Nice park just behind hotel. Lots of shops and restaurants close by.

We were part of Cosmos tour and arrived early morning. Even though we had been warned we wouldn't be allowed to check in till after 3:00 PM, they still allowed us to check in early.

The one elevator around the corner from the others is much less busy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jerome_in_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel is situated close to the center of Madrid. You can walk to the Plaza Real in twenty five minutes through a charming area or you can take bus line 23 which leaves you there in ten minutes. I recommend the walking, as you can see this part of town and it’s a pleasant experience. From there you can walk to the Puerta del Sol as well as all the important points in the city. The breakfast in the hotel is excellent, and it is normally included with the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Like many before us, we too travelled on a Cosmos tour but our stay extended to 4 nights. Our overriding memories are of the very poor quality food associated with the tour group (banquet) dining room and the abysmal service, bordering on downright RUDE. After our tour had finished we paid for an extra day as individual travellers (very expensive I might add) before flying to Toulouse. The main dining room refused to serve us and when we pointed out the problem to the reception, ie we were not with a tour AND we had paid for the extra day ourselves, they were just not interested. They said it was the tour group dining room or nothing.
To add to this insult, the day before was my partner's 60th birthday, hence this very expensive trip to Europe. For this special occasion I had bought a bottle of champagne. I checked the mini-bar to find that, most unusually for even the most basic hotel, there was neither wine nor champagne glasses. I went to the bar and pointed out this omission and politely requested two champagne glasses, I was refused. The reception were equally as blunt and non receptive. Whatever happened to customer service ? They just did not care.
The rooms were clean but very much on the small side, and given the cost that we had paid, were very poor value for money. Wifi was at a cost, can you believe that in this day and age ????
We are seasoned travellers and quite capable of roughing it, we do not like to make a fuss and are very understanding when things go wrong, that's life. But I have to say that hell will freeze over before I go back to this hotel or recommend it to any other traveller who just wants to be treated respectfully and fairly.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lynette v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
San Blas
Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala
Airport / Barajas
Axor Feria Hotel
Axor Feria Hotel
#113 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Gran Legazpi
#299 of 446 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Isis Hotel
#379 of 446 in Madrid
3.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Hotel Nuevo Madrid
#220 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praga

Address: C/ Antonio Lopez 65, 28019 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#170 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praga 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Praga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praga Hotel Madrid
Hotel Praga Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing