We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wifi is not free” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Praga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Praga to your Saves list
Hotel Praga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Antonio Lopez 65, 28019 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #307 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wifi is not free”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The hotel is patronized by many tour groups so at times it can be quite noisy, the front desk busy and the small lobby congested with guests and their luggage.
It is just out of the city centre. However bus to Plaza Mayor is at the door. Metro station is about 5 to10 minutes away. Be very vigilant however. There are many pickpockets in buses, metros and all crowded places in Madrid and other big cities. Local people warned us many times that their pickpockets are among the best of the best (in their profession). We were almost robbed when in a queue going through the turnstide of a metro station.
There are many shops, supermarkets, restaurants, bars and ATM machines on the street in front of the hotel. We were told that some of the ATM machines near the hotel were tempered with and consequently some travellers had their bank accounts raided recently. So as a precaution use those machines that are further away from the hotel.
The hotel is dated. There is no outstanding features to say about the hotel. Room conditions and services are just average, acceptable.
What we don't like is that it charges for the wifi service. These days we can get such service for free in many bars, restaurants and public places. Hope that some future reviewers will report that the hotel follows the practice of their competitors and makes such service free for the convenience of their guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    278
    234
    68
    40
See reviews for
144
262
43
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I stayed here at the beginning and end of a Cosmos tour. The hotel is in a residential neighborhood, with lots of shops and restaurants nearby. It's an easy bus ride to the Plaza Mayor and an easy walk to/from the bus stop for downtown and Prado museum. There is a market almost next door that sells food, water and alcohol. Previous reviews complained about the staff; we found them to be very friendly and helpful. The hotel is used by various tour groups so the lobby does get crowded. WiFi is expensive 4 euros a day. The breakfast buffet was good. Rooms are a bit small but clean and adequate. We had one with a small balcony on the 7th floor.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Calif.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel before we returned to the U.S. and it was splendid. We were next (around the corner from the famous Museo de Jamon (Ham museum) and the food there was delicious; I paid $1 U.S. for a great subway like sandwich with authentic spanish ham plus tomato's (which you have to pay extra for). So, we only had one meal at the hotel which was very tasty. The service was excellent with courteous employees eager to make us feel welcome. They have internet and helped us find a flamenco show.
It was also of course situated near famous El Prado Museum and Reina Sofia Modern Art museum. The plaza across the way also had informal eateries, great beer at the outdoor patio next to Sofia museum, and other nice tourist traps that didn't trap you too badly! The hotel was very clean and the price was really reasonable for its proximity to great places and great food.

Room Tip: I can't recall the room but it was a double and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here during a Cosmos tour. The hotel was the worse of all the hotels on the tour. The good was location easy access to Plaza Mayor. Breakfast buffet not good. If you are not on a tour stay away!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This hotel is very popular with tour groups - probably because it is a good value for the money and it is very well run. It is in a residential neighborhood but easily accessible via bus (Rte 23) or the Metra (Green line). The park behind it is a treasure - take an early morning or late evening walk for a pleasant getaway. The rooms are OK - but clean and well maintained. The TVs are old - but they do have a clock display - which is missing in the other hotels we stayed on this trip, The front desk was very helpful when we needed to fax a document to the states, and we also kept a few bags in storage (6 Euro ea) when we left for a few days. The best part of the hotel is the street it is on. Quite a few topas restaraunts and local bars. Not the kind where you see alot of tourists - but they treated us well when we showed up, The tour groups cause a buzz in the smallish lobby, and the busses clog the street - but other than that - this is a nice litttle slice of Madrid life,

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the elevator as it makes a lot of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Relaxed so much that even felt asleep in the bath,


Got some room service and it was very quick. No one really speaks english but who does in Spain?

Is close to a great line of the metro and the rooms are clean. A bit dated but nice. beats the small and expensive places in the city town.

Went out clubbing and even managed to get a bus back to the hotel in the middle of the night

Room Tip: get a mate who can speak spanish to ring the reception as they can offer cheapper rooms than online...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I booked this hotel as a present for my son and his girlfriend and paid for it in advance, they found he biggest problem they had was on check in the hotel asked for the card that the payment was made with as I was not there this caused a problem. They were eventually told they could check in but the phone in the room would be disconected and they would not be able to have any room service or tv. This did spoil their stay and should have been explained a the time of booking

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Praga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praga

Address: C/ Antonio Lopez 65, 28019 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#159 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praga 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Praga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praga Hotel Madrid
Hotel Praga Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Praga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.