We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I need from a city hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tryp Madrid Menfis Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Tryp Madrid Menfis Hotel to your Saves list
Tryp Madrid Menfis Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via 74, 28013 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Just what I need from a city hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

When traveling to a place like Madrid we do not spend much time in the hotel, so location is the most important consideration. This hotel is very centrally located. Our room was surprisingly very large especially for a European hotel. Comfortable beds and pillows. Clean. I need nothing more. The only negative is that window and walls are a bit too thin and sound gets through.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOAQUIN G, Director de Recepción at Tryp Madrid Menfis Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your experience at Tryp Madrid Menfis. It is a pleasure for us that you enjoyed your stay being next to the main attractions and restaurants. We also appreciate your comments about our comfortable and clean rooms. Please do not hesitate to contact us and I assure that we will book a quieter room for you next time!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    217
    76
    21
    11
See reviews for
86
182
23
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We always stay in Melia Hotels whenever possible as the family room suits our requirements perfectly and with Melia rewards we always get a good deal booking direct.
The Tryp Menfis was well located for exploring Madrid although we did find it very noisy with continual sirens and street noise throughout the night. That said, the hotel is located on the Gran Via, one of the busiest streets in Madrid so we can't blame the hotel for that.
We had a family room on the sixth floor which was spacious, clean and suited our family of two adults and two children (13 and 9). The bathroom was immaculate and my only criticism of the room would be the lack of tea & coffee facilities. I am being very picky because otherwise it was a very nice room.
Breakfast was very enjoyable with plenty of choice and the staff very friendly and helpful. Check-in / check-out was smooth and we were able to leave our luggage in a locked room until we departed for the airport.
Overall this is a good four star choice in Madrid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does face on to the Gran Via
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOAQUIN G, Director de Recepción at Tryp Madrid Menfis Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado cliente,
Ante todo darles las gracias por haber dedicado su tiempo en escribir su comentario en tripadvisor como sabe nuestros puntos fuertes es la ubicación, situado en la Gran Vía, en pleno centro de Madrid, aunque como comenta ruidosa por el tráfico, también disponemos de habitaciones ubicadas en la parte trasera del hotel más tranquila.
Sus comentarios serán transmitidos a nuestro personal.
Muchas gracias por habernos elegido y esperamos verle de nuevo con nosotros.
Un cordial saludo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Having read one or two reviews on the hotel you are not sure what you will get on arrival, having said that. All the staff were Very helpful very nice rooms clean and well attended, excellent central location in Madrid for shopping and restaurants would highly recommend my wife and I really enjoyed our stay in the hotel and Madrid and I would certainly recommend to anyone going to the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOAQUIN G, Director de Recepción at Tryp Madrid Menfis Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us and sharing this nice review at Tripadvisor. Be sure that I will transmit your kind comments about our staff. The whole team is very happy that you had an excellent stay with us and is looking forward to welcoming you back again! Please contact us and I guarantee you will have another wonderful stay in Tryp Madrid Menfis.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san juan, puerto rico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The last two days of my Christmas Trip to Spain, we took the AVE Train from Barcelona to Madrid for two days. We stayed in Tryp Madrid Memfis, which is located in Gran Via Avenue in Madrid. This hotels is a short walk from Plaza de Espana and just few meters besides the Coliseum Theater in which you can see one of the famous Musical Performance. This year we bought tickets to see the Sound of Music which in spanish is Sonrisas y Lagrimas, just two minutes walk from the hotel. The rooms are very confortable, clean and spacious. We asked for a room without any noise from Gran Via, so they assigned a room in the 9th floor. The breakfast was included in the room rate, and is a buffet plenty of fruits, cereals, cheeses, ham, eggs, etc. The breakfast room has a beautiul view of the city and of course, to Gran Via. Most of all, the Front Desk Staff are very polite and helpful, particularly Monica and Santiago, which make me the airport transfer reservations with Madrid Transfer Company, just few hours before my return travel to Puerto Rico. The only thing that disappointed me was the stairs at the hotel entrance, and that I have to take care of my luggage, because they don't have a Bell Boy. However, the excellent location, efficient staff, large rooms, and price, deserved my recommendation.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in high floors rooms without any noise from Gran Via.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOAQUIN G, Director de Recepción at Tryp Madrid Menfis Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all, thank you very much for sharing this nice review. It is a pleasure for us that you enjoyed our wonderful location next to the main theatres and musical performances, breakfast and the Gran Vía Views´ room. I will report your positive comments to our staff. I am sure that Mónica and Santiago will feel proud, since our guest satisfaction is our most important commitment. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have travelled quite extensively throughout Spain and stayed at several hotels. We did not like this hotel at all. We arrived at the hotel at around 20:00 for check in. Check in was painfully slow and you had to repeat yourself several times as the man at reception had an extremely short memory span. This was extremely frustrating for me. I do not think that language was the issue here as he spoke fluent English. The staff were not welcoming, warm and friendly at all. Fortunately for us we were only booked for 1 night.

Breakfast at the hotel was okay but nothing special as well. The toaster in the dining area did not work and both my husband and I tried it. We even tried to adjust the heat temperature to get it to work but that did not work as well. This is a buffet breakfast, which requires you to use several plates, as the plates are small. The waiters (even though they were visible) did not clear these plates after each serving and as a result, the plates stacked up on your table.

The décor in the room was okay but nothing special. It was however clean and that helped. The location is very good on the famous Gran Via, Plaza Espanya and Puetra De Sol close by. There are numerous metro stations close by if you prefer not to walk. It is very easy to get to Atocha Renfe station via the metro.

I definitely would not stay at this hotel again as there are much better hotels on Gran Via with friendlier and more attentive staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOAQUIN G, Director de Recepción at Tryp Madrid Menfis Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank your for having chosen Tryp Madrid Menfis for your stay in Madrid and thank you very much for your comments. Our staff is overall an appreciated point for our clients. However I take good note about your review as the most important for our hotel’s team is our guests experience with us. I understand you were not satisfied about breakfast, your comments have been reported to the restaurant department and I confirm you that these have been punctual events that will not occur again. We are happy that you enjoyed our central location and thank you for underline the room cleanliness.
Please contact us for your next stay and you will notice the improvements.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Although this hotel is in a good location, I would not recommend it if you value your property. On our second night in Madrid, we went out to dinner and were gone two hours. When we returned we noticed the curtains were arranged differently, but thought the maid had come in. The next morning we noticed my Kindle was gone along with its charger and adapter, two whispers also gone, my sunglasses and the tv remote. All had been left out on the desk in our room when we left for dinner. When we notified the manager he said he would look into it by checking who had come in and out of the room. Apparently there is a computer program that can tell when the room key is used. They said no one other than ourselves had entered the room and they couldn't understand how our things could have been taken. They were very unsympathetic about the entire incident and I really don't even think they beleived us,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel G, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Menfis Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Hello RSJ5, Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for writing this review. We are sorry if your stay was not what you expected, make sure we will improve it for the next time you come to Madrid and visit us. We thank you again for your comments that help us to improve our services day by day. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Recently stayed in Madrid for a business trip for 3 nights in 21-24 November, warmed welcome by very simpatic Hotel Manager Mr. Angel G Lobo and found this a very clean Hotel and good location near to the city. Nice breakfast a lot of choices the buffet was nice,near by is nice equiped Gym, to bad have no chance to go there, the free wired internet in the room extremly slow. However will recomended any visitor to Madrid to stay there and will be back there if have a chance to go back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel G, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Menfis Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your time writing the hotel review and thank you for choosing us. About the WIFI service, we have improved this service recently and so far we have received no one complain. Welcome back anytime from Singapore, next weekend?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tryp Madrid Menfis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Madrid Menfis Hotel

Address: Gran Via 74, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Madrid
#92 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#122 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Madrid Menfis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tryp Menfis lies in the heart of Madrid, among the high buildings and shops on Gran Via, and just a short walk from Plaza de España, the royal palace, Puerta del Sol, the Retiro park and the main museums. This perfect location makes Tryp Menfis the perfect place for your business and leisure stays. Whether you are alone or with your family, you are never more than a stone’s throw away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Melia, Agoda, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tryp Madrid Menfis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Madrid
Sol Melia Menfis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryp Madrid Menfis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.