We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice surprise in Madrid” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chamartin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chamartin to your Saves list
Hotel Chamartin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Augustin de Foxa s/n, 28036 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Husa Chamartin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #352 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Nice surprise in Madrid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Hotel is located practically inside Chamartin Train Station. When you enter the hotel you feel as if you´re in a 5 star hotel although it´s a 4 star. Breakfast is a strong point. Premisses are comfortable and clean. All you expect from a hotel.

Room Tip: I do recommend this hotel for those travellers on Business, once it´s located very close to the Stat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMCHAMARTIN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Chamartin, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear guest,

It is wonderful for us reading for us so fantastic comments. It is great know that we have get over your expectative.

It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our hotel again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    139
    165
    83
    81
See reviews for
86
155
54
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed here with a group sponsored by the Spanish government. We had an excellent rate of 75 Euros per night and I stayed 5 nights. Tough to beat. It included free internet (which worked well on all devices) and a full hot/cold breakfast buffet. The location is ok - north of Madrid central. Some good places within walking distance, but I chose to go to downtown Madrid. As others said, the hotel is dated and needs updating. But hotel is also lacking in some maintenance. The ceiling in the bathroom was peeling terribly and had holes - it looked like the ceiling had a leak at one time. The water pressure was great (almost too strong!) and there were no problems with hot or cold water. It took a day for me to figure out how to control the air conditioning. The controls were on the bed stand and you can choose off, low and high fan speed, but you cannot control the temperature. I found the room got too cold during the night - and fortunately the closet had a blanket. The mini fridge was well stocked, but it was nice that there was room for me to put my own items in there too. There was no iron or ironing board. The hotel is on top of the train station - making it convenient to go downtown. The staff was friendly, but my Spanish was poor and so was their English, but it was not a problem. The convenience of the shops at the train station was great. You need to walk around to get other shopping or restaurants.

For great, cheap eats, check out El Tigre (http://vimeo.com/68868618). I had dinner there twice - 2.50 Euros and you get a plate of assorted tapas and a beer (think quick, cheap, greasy, good and filling). For something a little more upscale (think date-night), try the restaurant LATERAL. There's a couple of them on Paseo de la Castellana. Excellent food. For an English speaking Catholic mass, go to our Lady of Mercy on Calle de la Dracena (about a 20-30 minute walk). The metro system is easy to use. I purchased a 10-trip ticket and that was all I needed. One more thing - trying to find a laundry was a challenge. I found a Colada Express self service laundry near the Cruz del Rayo train station, just off Calle Cartagena. They have free WiFi. 5 or 6 Euros per load. Machines have soap - you don't add it. This was the only one I found open on a Saturday afternoon. Note that most laundries in Madrid are closed Saturday afternoons and Sunday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMCHAMARTIN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Chamartin, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your kindly comments. We have taken note about all suggestions and we will keep it in mind for future improvements.

We hope welcome you soon.

Thank you again for sharing your opinion about your stay.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was there for 10 days working, my first room was filthy so they moved me to another. the second room had cigarette burns in the carpet, the shower head was rusty and brown water came out the taps. broken ceiling tiles in the bathroom and cracks in the main bedroom.

the whole place was very dated and seriously needs an overhaul desperately.
there is better hotels out there... im not sure when they were given there 4* rating but its certainly isn't that now.
avoid if you can !!!

Room Tip: Do not stop here !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMCHAMARTIN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Chamartin, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, thank for your comments. I have to tell you that we have taken note about it, but to check all these questions we will need more information to improve our services and facilities. It would be great that you contact to us by chamartin@husa.es and you could give us more information about your room, dates, etc.

We are sorry to know that we had not get your expectative.

Thank again for your time sharing your experience in our hotel.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

this hotel is located within Charmartin's Metro station, it's good if you plan to stay at the hotel just for sleep and have breakfast and you're not a very demanding customer.

service is good, the breakfast is full. the rooms are basic, just for sleeping.

it's really cheap but I believe you may find today in Madrid better hotels at more or less the same price

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMCHAMARTIN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Chamartin, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear guest,

It is pleasant for us receiving your comments. We take note about your opinions and we will let know rest hotel Husa Chamartin Staff. It is great for us know that you have enjoyed our breakfast and our placed has been useful during your stay.

Thank you for sharing your expectative in our hotel with rest users.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Pros:
1. Large rooms - 2 double beds, spacious, you may request for extra pillows without extra charge
2. Bathroom: strong hot and cold water supply, free soap and shampoo
3. Has a cabinet with several clothes hangers
4. TV with 3 English News channels
5. Has an aircon that has 2 settings: 1 and 2, serves well, cool in the summer months when we
stayed.
6. Free wifi, password is good for 24 hours, you just have to request for a new one
7. The smell of the room is not bad at all.
8. Enough supply of towels
9. Very near the Metro
Cons:
1. No free slippers, no complimentary water
2. No hair conditioners, no lotion, no ear buds
3. Hair dryer's handle becomes too hot to handle after a while
4. TV English channels have extra charge
5. Breakfast selections are exactly the same everyday, there are too many people queuing but the dining area cannot fit all. It was a bad experience having to eat breakfast in the corner of the hotel just having to get through with it.
6. The door knob of the bathroom fell off.
7. There is a blanket but no duvet.
8. 20 minutes by taxi to Plaza mayor, 15 minutes by Metro
9. No malls nearby, nor attractions.
10. No gym

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMCHAMARTIN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Chamartin, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your pros and cons list. It is fantastic, we will share your positive comments with our staff and we will have taken careful note of cons, to improve our services.

We will be pleasant welcome you soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Some bad reviews on here for this hotel, but I had an easy time.

Arrived here at 1am for a train at 8am, so this was a quick stay. Check in took 10 mins - just one guy working, to be expected at this time - the delay was caused by a group of women checking in as a group but all paying individually. The receptionist apologised for keeping me waiting and checked in me in very quickly. I was provided with the code for their wifi which worked perfectly.

My room was upgraded on arrival.

The room was "old style" but certainly comfortable, big bed, very clean, dated but all in perfect working order. I slept well - no noise from inside the hotel. I had the windows open - you can hear the traffic and the trains - but it didnt keep me awake. I asked for an alarm call which was bang on time.

This hotel is right next to the station - from the hotel to the station concourse took about 2 mins ... so very convenient. It's not a 5 star boutique hotel in "old Madrid". It is a large convention hotel by a station ... so from the reviews I have read, people should really have a sense of what they are booking.

This was a cheap nights sleep in a convenient location (for me) - totally functional.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMCHAMARTIN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Chamartin, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Rugbysw11,

Thank so much for your kindly comments. It so great for us knowing that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and also you could see for your self our hotel's reality.

Please, feel free to contact to us each time you want stay in Madrid, we will pleasant welcoming you to our Hotel.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The entrance of the hotel is only 100 meter from the Chamartin station. Not in the city center though but if travelling on by train very convenient location. I had a room which was very good (recently renovated ?) on the sixth floor. No traffic noise. Bathroom was not renovated an I found it to be dirty (lot of black mould on the edged of bathtube/tiles). Breakfastbuffet was included in the roomrate but not of very high quality to be honest.
After all still a good hotel for me. I thought the reception staff to be very friendly

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMCHAMARTIN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Chamartin, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel.
It is pleasant to know that we are a good option for you and please be sure that we have take note about your comments to improve our services.

We hope welcome you soon in your future stays in Madrid.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chamartin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chamartin

Address: Augustin de Foxa s/n, 28036 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Husa Chamartin)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#171 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chamartin 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Chamartin Railway Station, the geographical centre of communications with Spain and the rest of Europe. Located only 10 minutes from the International Airport and 5 minutes of the new Madrid Convention Hall. 353 rooms and 18 suites with complete bathroom facilities, colour satellite TV, direct-dial telephone . wi fi, air-conditioning, music, mini-bar and safe deposit box. Convention rooms with capacity for 20 to 550 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Chamartin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Chamartin Madrid
Husa Chamartin Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chamartin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.