We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Futbol stadium” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AC Aitana Hotel by Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added AC Aitana Hotel by Marriott to your Saves list
AC Aitana Hotel by Marriott
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de la Castellana 152, 28046 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #133 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Close to Futbol stadium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Got a room at the end of the hall, which faces the main street. But without air conditioning, we had to open the door (yes, a glass door, not window), which makes it noisy. Decent room, European style bathroom. No coffemaker in room. As long as you can adjust to Euro style hotels, this hotel is OK with convenient Metro station close by. Although I am a Marriott card member, I did not qualify for free WiFi in the room, although I was given one in their Valencia hotel. We didn't realize it, but as we walked to the Metro station, we found out that it is almost next to the Bernabau stadium (Now I know why the Metro station has that name :-) As we came back from the city, a game just finished and everyone was getting into the Metro! I was good that we were going out. Real Madrid won, so the atmosphere was good.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor if there is no A/C, since you may need to open windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    89
    26
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
52
15
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The hotel had pluses and minuses that made it a wash:

1. My Marriott Rewards status got me an upgrade. (+)
2. One of the receptionists haggled with me over my rate. (-)
3. The decor was nice but the bathroom tiles had noticeable water damage. (-)
4. There was no safe in the room, so you had to go downstairs to the reception and pay a deposit to use one (-)
5. Some of the electrical outlets deactivate when you hit the light switch and there is no indicator for which ones do. No fun waking up to dead mobiles/electronics in the a.m.! (-)
6. Easily metro-accessible, which is handy because it's a bit far from downtown. Sports fans will probably like being close the the stadium tho. (+)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel, clean tidy and comfortable. Very close to Santiago bernabau, lovely staff who were kind and extremely helpful. Room was clean and housekeeping ensured it stayed that way. Only downside is wifi in rooms is slow and expensive. Family friendly and a good layout.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

My second time in this hotel on business and I found it just as clean, smart and understated this time around. Service was excellent, there's always a cab outside, and the room is large with good facilities. Note that there is no room safe which is unusual, and it is close the Real Madrid's Bernebeu stadium so access is a little more tricky on match days but it doesn't seem to impact the ambience.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

i would stay here again, especially if going to see Real Madrid. it's right next door. it's also close to the Metro so pretty easy to move about the city. we took the Metro from the Airport and it was only 25-30 minutes and a very small cost. Rooms were nice. However, we got a corner room on the third floor and it was a little cold in there from the draft coming off of the windows. it's also a bit loud in the morning with all of the traffic outside. i agree with some that the in room WiFi is pretty weak. it works very well in the lobby though. rooms were clean and staff was helpful.

Room Tip: Don't stay in a corner room. drafty. also, stay up higher to avoid the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Central location - particularly for business and the Madrid football stadium.
Well appointed and comfortable standard rooms.
Pleasant reception and bar staff.
Breakfast was a little interesting as not everyone speaks English which resulted in some difficulty getting what we ordered.
Real problem was the wifi which had a very weak signal and a very slow upload speed (0.3mbps). Apparently the hotel know about this and have had to complain several times to their supplier.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a 7th floor room. Spacious, comfortable bed, wooden floor and decent lighting, very clean and good water pressure in shower.

Free and decent wifi in the ground floor lounge.

Staff were helpful and arranged to pick up stuff I left in the room for later collection. thanks.

Two howevers which have lost it a 4 star rating:

No safe in the room. I checked everywhere and there just wasn't one. I don't like leaving laptops, passports etc in a room without a safe.

The AC was set to only heat. Below 20 degrees, it just turned off. So I opened the window which then banged throughout the night, and I ended up closing it at 4am because I was fed up of being woken up by outside noise and a noisy window. Woke up with stuffy head. I think hotels do it because they think it saves money as no one is going to want to be chilled in November. I did or at least to have a supply of cold air in the room.

If the AC had worked, I'd have given it 4 for clean room and helpful staff as I think most rooms had safes...judging by the in room notice.

Note that despite the Marriott branding! there are some things that aren't in the room - like irons and ironing boards, that I'd expect to find In a Marriott.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AC Aitana Hotel by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Aitana Hotel by Marriott

Address: Paseo de la Castellana 152, 28046 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#82 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#97 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Aitana Hotel by Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern comforts in a peaceful atmosphere for the business or leisure traveler; located next to the Santiago Bernabeu Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Marriott, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your AC Aitana Hotel by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Madrid
Ac Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Aitana Hotel by Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.