We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best location, very clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Madrid Centro (Lope de Vega)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Madrid Centro (Lope de Vega) to your Saves list
Mercure Madrid Centro (Lope de Vega)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Lope De Vega 49 | Triangulo del Arte, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Huertas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #164 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Graz, Austria
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“best location, very clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

We booked 3 nights in lope de vega and I reccomend it. It is very well located, near to prado museum und in a district called la hortas, where you can find a lot of nice tapas bars. In about 5 minutes you reach the metro, but you don't really need it, because you can easily walk to all important points (gran via, plaza mayor, plaza del sol...).

The room was small, but very clean and relative new. The bathroom was also clean and new. The air condition works well. The bed was quite comfortable.

The breakfast buffet is small, but they keep filling everything up and you can find from cheese, to eggs, bacon, spanish ham, nice fruits, bread and sweets..

We really enjoyed our stay in lope de vega and we would book it again.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the view
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    193
    62
    26
    8
See reviews for
94
153
41
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2007

The location of this hotel cannot be beaten. Ran back to the hotel for a short nap after a couple hours in the museums, walked from the metro stop and to the Atoacha train station. What's more it is an elegant hotel that offers fresh fruit to its guests. Since I wanted a quiet room, I asked for a room on a high floor at the back and was rewarded with a view of the Palace Hotel which was fine.

Room was pleasant, bed was good, and the bath was terrific. Staff were moderately friendly. This was my big treat, and at least for the first night a splurge, but not overpriced for its location. Fair enough, in other words. But as an unaccompanied, older woman traveler, I did not feel particularly welcome.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

A nice hotel in a superb location, but the double room we were given was very small - there was a space of 8 inches between the end of the bed and the table with the TV! Good for practising your sideways shimmy.

The staff were very pleasant, the breakfast buffet was good, and overall it was good value, but we didn't feel it really merited its 4 star rating.

Stayed April 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2007

We were looking for a not too fancy, reasonably priced hotel in Madrid at a location near all the tourist sites . Our daughter, who is studying in Spain this year told us about the Hotel Lope de Vega, where her group had stayed. First, the location is tucked into a side street right across from the main drag where the Prado is located. It is a perfect location! We walked everywhere. There is a great neighborhood with lots of tapas bars adjacent to the hotel. Around the corner is a good breakfast spot. The Plaza Mayor, the Palacio Real, the Thyssen, and the Parque de Buen Retiro and of course the Prado are all within walking distance. We like to walk and are pretty fit, but if you are not, there are always tons of cabs circling around. The hotel is clean and the room was fine, with a little balcony and a door you can keep open to get a nice breeze. At night though we closed the balcony door to keep out the street noise. The door was well insulated, so we did not hear anything.Only complaint is that we had requested a non smoking room and when we arrived the room clearly had been a smoking one. I was too lazy/tired to complain. Also could have done without the porn on the tv selector. Even if you don't want to see it there is a glimpse of it as you flip through the channels.

  • Liked — convenience to tourist sites
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2007

Just got back from stopping two nights at the above hotel.

Location - Over road from Prado Museum, close to numerous bars and restaurants, 5-10 min walk from a couple of tube stations.

Hotel - Very stylish and looks like being recently refurbished

Staff - Very friendly but like somebody has already stated, wish they could have warned us about the " night charge " on Taxi's to the Airport

If i went back to Madrid, would go back to this hotel

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Airport Transfer
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2007

This was a nice hotel - a good deal for about 90 euros/night (without breakfast or the 7% vat). It's right across from the Prado museum and an easy walk from the old town, so location is perfect. It was also clean, had a new-ish bathroom and a minibar (=fridge :)). The staff was nice and friendly - I thought they should've warned us of the surcharge for the taxi when we asked them to book one for our trip to the airport though.

Now, the negatives...the floors aren't carpeted, which is good for cleanliness but terrible regarding noise levels. We requested a room facing the inner courtyard (depressing view) so it would be quieter, but we kept waking up from the cleaning ladies rumbling around in the morning. The hotel was also quite small - the room was of a reasonable size and the breakfast room was adequate but there was a general feeling of being a bit cramped. Breakfast was nice and fresh and there were a couple of options that increased in price. Continental breakfast was option 3, for 8 euros. It wasn't the cheapest but it did the job - the full buffet breakfast (which didn't include much more!) was overpriced at 14 euros - was not worth it.

Overall, a nice experience, but I would lay down carpets!

  • Liked — location, free high-speed internet, cleanliness
  • Disliked — noise, overpriced breakfast
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2007

I stayed in January 2007 for a couple of days. Service was excellent, front desk staff very accommodating. My room was nice, of good size and crisp clean. The hotel is very well located, although a little walk to the nearest metro stations. For 86 euros per night, I think I could not do better!

  • Liked — Freindly staff, nice and clean rooms, super location, super value.
  • Disliked — Limited public facilities.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Madrid Centro (Lope de Vega)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Madrid Centro (Lope de Vega)

Address: Calle Lope De Vega 49 | Triangulo del Arte, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#117 Family Hotel in Madrid
#135 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Madrid Centro (Lope de Vega) 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Madrid Centro (Lope de Vega) hotel enjoys an excellent location in the center of Madrid, just 5 minutes' walk from the Museo del Prado, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum and the Reina Sofia museum. It is also very close to Madrid's Atocha high speed railway station. Modern and functional rooms with free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Madrid Centro (Lope de Vega) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lope De Vega Madrid
Lope De Vega Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Madrid Centro (Lope de Vega), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.