We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, a little out of the way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ayre Gran Hotel Colon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ayre Gran Hotel Colon to your Saves list
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Pez Volador 1-11 | Av del Doctor Esquerdo 117-119, 28007 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, a little out of the way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Our family of 3 enjoyed our visit. Location is quite "suburban", but pleasant. Hotel is (long) walking distance from the city centre and attractions. Bus and metro about 5 minutes' walk away. Good variety at breakfast, although hot items tended to be cold.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, SocialMedia Manager at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Customer.

We would like to thank you for your comments,We are glad you had a pleasant stay
Do not hesitate in contact me should you have any doubts or require additional information.

Kind regards,

SocialMedia Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    443
    150
    32
    27
See reviews for
137
355
62
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The hotel booked for Madrid was a good price/quality.
The staff of the hotel was always helpful and kind.
The only negatives points in our room were : a bit dirty behind the curtains, the pressure of the shower that was really low and the bathtub was tiny in comparison with the size of the bathroom.
It's a great deal hotel for to stay and visit Madrid.
It's close from the Retiro and you have a Metro station nearby that allows you to move around Madrid easily.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the elevators would be a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, SocialMedia Manager at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for your kind comment.
His words will assist other travelers know us better and encourage them to visit.
THANKS! We hope to have you back with us soon
Do not hesitate in contact me should you have any doubts or require additional information.
Kind regards,

SocialMedia Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel's location is a little outside of the city centre, but it is near a metro stop. Ayre Colon has two buildings, which are connected through a hallway, so you don't have to go outside to go from one to the other. The staff are friendly and breakfast is very good (very tasty freshly squeezed orange juice!). You can have breakfast in either building, but the hall in the main building is open longer. Room service is very good as well, and the water bottles in the hotel room's fridge are free of charge. The rooms are rather small, but clean and modern, and the bathroom is spacious (the door which connects the room and the bathroom is see-through). A tiny problem was the fact that there was a large pillar just beside one of the twin beds, which left little room to get in and out of the bed. Moreover, there was no nightstand on that side. Also, the temperature in the room was rather high and the windows didn't open, nor did the airconditioning work very well. This is not really a problem in March/April, so we didn't mention it, but it could be one in summer - although maybe the airco works better during the summer months... In all, I would definitely recommend Ayre Colon for a comfortable but affordable stay in Madrid.

Room Tip: The rooms in the second building are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, SocialMedia Manager at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Customer.

First, thank you very much, on behalf of the entire team of Ayre Gran Hotel Colón, and we see that we have created an unforgettable experience.
hope to see you again.

We are at your disposal.

Kind regards,

SocialMedia Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stay at this hotel 2 nights on Mar. 30 + 31. The hotel is great, room is modern and cleaned, fresh everyday. Staffs speak good English, all amenities are well above the limit and fine. Buffet breakfast provided with bot hot and cold foods.
The low side of this hotel is:
- It's far from city center but bus stop (Bus 20 -30) same as metro station (Sainz de Barranda) is five minutes walk from hotel and will take 15 to 20 minutes to the city, cost about 3 Euro for a return trip.
- The free wifi offered by the hotel is the worst ever free wifi in my travelling life. Better charge extra for the good connection and good bandwitdh. BTW, I went to VIPS or Starbucks near the El Prado Museum (Food chain) had a cuppa with free wifi instead of.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, SocialMedia Manager at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your comments,We are glad you had a pleasant stay.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel should not have a four star rating. Three at the most.. The hotel itself is great, but there are several problems. The hotel is twenty minutes by bus from the central part of Madrid. The hotel,restaurant is average, but not great. The Internet service is so poor. It would be better to charge a few Euros a night more than have dial up service in the room. The hotel in fact is two hotels with a hallway between the two. The staff try and be helpful, but are limited to the service the hotel offers. Find a hotel closer to the middle of the old city

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, SocialMedia Manager at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Michael,

First of all,our priority is to provide comfort to our customers and they leave satisfied of our hotels. As indicated in the comments about your stay we have not met this premise and firstly please accept our apologies.
Our hotel is closed to Art Avenue, but not in a downtown, there is a bus, number 20, if you take this bus, you can stay at Puerta del Sol in 15 minutes. Anyway we have a metro station closed to the hotel.
We have free internet basic service, you can use it this one, to look for information, about city, restaurants, monuments....
About the hotel, We have two buildings, they are connected through art gallery. ti's the same hotel, but two buildings

I remain at your entire disposal should you need something.

SocialMedia Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

So this was the second time we've stayed here, but only because its two blocks from our son's apartment. The last time was four years ago. The hotel is well maintained, ultra modern and clean. No frills. The location is not really convenient anything but is near a metro stop and on the 20 bus route that takes you straight into Sol.

My main problem with this hotel is the beds. They are small, and very hard!!! My hips are aching after spending a week there. The pillows are hard, and the linens are not high quality. At the end of a long day of sightseeing, I dreaded returning to those beds.

There is a restaurant on sight and a coffee shop. Both are pretty pricy. If we visit Madrid again I will look elsewhere for a place to rest my weary head.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, Socialmedia Manager at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We regret that the stay has not fulfilled expectations.
We take note of all the comments about the hotel, and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay pleasant and comfortable, as one of our company policy is to create happy experiences.
We offer a pillow menu to suit customer needs

I remain at your entire disposal should you need something.
Kind regards,
Socialmedia Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Having stayed here with my husband in October 2011 I was happy to recommend this hotel when planning a trip to Madrid this February with 6 girlfriends. We were not disappointed. Having booked on a room only basis on checking in we were offered breakfast at 10 Euros per day instead of the usual 16.50 Euros charged, which we took and thoroughly enjoyed. While the hotel is not in the centre of the city it is near to a metro station with speedy links to all the places of interest. It has a nice coffee shop which is open from early until late; there are some other eating places nearby (including an Irish pub 5 minutes walk up the hill); and the rooms all have a fridge which is topped up with free bottles of water daily. A very slight downside is that some of the staff do not speak English/very limited English and if there is a problem is can be hard to get is sorted although they seem to be able to access an English-speaking colleague easily. If returning to Madrid I'd definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayre Hoteles A, SocialMedia Manager at Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest
From Ayre Gran Hotel Colón want to thank your kind comments.
His words will assist other travelers know us better and encourage them to visit.
THANKS! We hope to have you back with us soon.
Best regards,
SocialMedia Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayre Gran Hotel Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayre Gran Hotel Colon

Address: C/ Pez Volador 1-11 | Av del Doctor Esquerdo 117-119, 28007 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#89 Family Hotel in Madrid
#101 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#113 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayre Gran Hotel Colon 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ayre Gran Hotel Colon is located near the Paseo de Arte and the famous Retiro Park. In addition to its superb location, the hotel offers 359 modern rooms each with a fully-fitted bathroom, air-conditioning, and internet connection. Most rooms have a terrace and are WI-FI equipped. Guests can also enjoy 3 restaurants, a bar, conference rooms, gym, hairdresser, sauna, and private garage. An expert team of professionals specializes in organising meetings, conventions, and banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Ayre Gran Hotel Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayre Gran Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.