We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place and staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayre Gran Hotel Colon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ayre Gran Hotel Colon to your Saves list
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Pez Volador 1-11 | Av del Doctor Esquerdo 117-119, 28007 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    442
    150
    32
    27
See reviews for
137
355
62
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

When we booked this hotel, we did some research (Thanks to my fellow Tripadvisor travelers). We knew that the location isn't very near to the center but we discovered that it wasn't very far neither. The hotel is very easy to find. We took the Metro from the airport Line 8 to Columbia and then change to Line 9 to Sainz de Baranda then the hotel is 10 mins. walk from the station. We stay for 4 nights. We did the check-in at the Europa Bldg. and it was fast. Our room was located in the America Bldg. The two are connected and you will have to walk a bit to go from one Bldg to another. It wasn't a hassle. The room is clean and the bathroom is spacious. There's a free mineral water in the fridge everyday. We didn't include the breakfast in our booking because we find it really overprice. There's a Cafeteria at the hotel where they serve a breakfast menu costs 4.60euro which includes Orange Juice, Pastries, butter & jam and water. You will have choices and the price varies between 3.30euro to 6.60 euro. The staff are helpful when asked but we noticed that they don't greet/acknowledge you when you arrived or leave the hotel. There's a bus number 20 (5 mins. from the hotel) which will bring you to the center and we find it really convenient. You can ask for a map at the reception. In our room, the aircon can be really noisy unless we adjust the temperature to 25degrees. So we had to adjust it when we go to sleep. The only thing was the lift, it can be really slow. They have 4 lifts to America Bldg, and the waiting can be forever. It is also not good if you are Claustropobic. We are staying on the 9th floor, aside from the lift being too slow and small, the hallway linking from the lift to our room is narrow. The only thing that makes us feel better is we are next to the fire exit. The check out was fast. I would recommend this hotel because you will get a very pleasant room in a very affordable price.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmiel, Israel
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed 6 nights in a triple room in the Europe section with owr daughter. It is actually a double room with an adition of a bed which makes it too much crowded for three. We managed but a larger room could improve our feeling towards it.
We had our breakfast in the cafeteria, a very pleasant one 4.60EUR for fresh orange juice, coffee, little sandwitch or cereal+yoghurt or croissant. We preferred it over the 16.50EUR breakfast offered in the dining room. Another option for good breakfast is a 6.90EUR to 9.50EUR breakfast served in a restaurant chain nemed "Cafe & Te" and "Cafe & Tapas". Many locations in city center area.
Internet is free and works fine.
Travel to city center wasn't easy. No direct metro line caused us to use the metro while exchanging trains. Overall time to reach the center was 25-35 minutes. This is the only thing not in favour of this hotel, otherwise it is truely a nice and clean one, with nice and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Rooms in Europe tower are conveniently located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel is very good. It is located about 500 mtrs from metrostation Sainz de Baranda.
The hotel consists of more than on building. I was sent from the first reception to the reception of the second building. Staff is very kind and helpfull. They speak very well english. The room was very nice, clean and fitted with doubleglase windows keep citynois out. And there extra thick light blocking curtains. However the matrass was way too hard. I prefer to sleap on my sides, and thus had some pain on my hips in the morning. A flashlight from the smokedetector on the ceiling was a bit annoying but I quickly got used to it. The free wifi did not work very good. First I had to get a username and password, that I had to go to the reception for. They handed them out on paper. The internetspeed seemed ok, but veried constantly, form 40 MBs to 5.5 MBs. Making streaming video very interupting. By the way, the next day the username and password did not work anymore, and I had to go down to the reception to fetch new ones.
Although one has to pay an extra €10,- for the breakfast, it is definatly worth the money. It is a very complete buffet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel comprises of two buildings (European and American.) We stayed in the American building and received excellent service from the staff, especially from the staff at the front desk, they were extremely helpful with providing us with directions to and from the hotel and information to go around Madrid. The hotel is located approximately 30 to 35 minutes from Barajas Airport in Madrid; cost appx 30 to 35 euros (depending on amount/pieces of luggage.) It is located approximately 20 minutes from downtown (Puerta del Sol). Take the number #20 bus towards downtown to the last stop. There is a metro station (up the hill) and another station (down the hill.) We had an executive room (for 3 people) with 3 beds. The room was of average size and the amenities were of above average quality. Nice bathroom, flat-screen TV, security safe, lots of storage space, small refrigerator (with free bottles of water daily,) free wi-fi (we asked for and were provided with 3 passwords daily for our computer and mobile phones.) Wi-fi worked fast in certain spots in the room. Upon request, the hotel will loan the guest an iron. If we return to Spain and want to stay close to the city, we will definitely go back to that hotel.

Room Tip: Stay on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Modern hotel in a quite area. Metro is very close.
The staff were very helpful, Free Wfi.
The room was very clean.
Very good value for money. I don't know about breakfast because we had room only.
There is a supermarket very close to the hotel and not bad Italian restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayre Gran Hotel Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayre Gran Hotel Colon

Address: C/ Pez Volador 1-11 | Av del Doctor Esquerdo 117-119, 28007 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#90 Family Hotel in Madrid
#102 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#113 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayre Gran Hotel Colon 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ayre Gran Hotel Colon is located near the Paseo de Arte and the famous Retiro Park. In addition to its superb location, the hotel offers 359 modern rooms each with a fully-fitted bathroom, air-conditioning, and internet connection. Most rooms have a terrace and are WI-FI equipped. Guests can also enjoy 3 restaurants, a bar, conference rooms, gym, hairdresser, sauna, and private garage. An expert team of professionals specializes in organising meetings, conventions, and banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Ayre Gran Hotel Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayre Gran Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayre Gran Hotel Colon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.