We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Avenida America

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Avenida America to your Saves list
Melia Avenida America
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Juan Ignacio Luca de Tena 36 | SALIDA 8 DE LA A-II ( autop. Barcelona), 28027 Madrid, Spain (San Blas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #218 of 459 Hotels in Madrid
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

A very Good property with good facilities and friendly & helpful staff.
It is a good Business Hotel with Big Convention centre.
We had gone for a Show organised at the same Hotel. So it was very convenient too.
The halls are well maintained with excellent service.
Rooms are neat, nice & comfortable.
The Airport Shuttle is convenient.
Even though is close to the Hotel it is not too far from various places.
Also is well connected by the public transport.
Would stay there again

Room Tip: Take Rooms with Big Windows
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARIA J, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Avenida America, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear customer,

I m glad that the MELIA AVENIDA AMÉRICA HOTEL has met your expectations. Thank you very much for your nice and friendly words.
I will be very happy to see you personaly in a future stay and I hope to have the opportunity to greet you personaly.
Best regards,

María José Calvo
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    141
    69
    22
    18
See reviews for
29
55
19
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stay here for a 5 nights, for conference. My first impression was - what a terrible hotel, the lift is all stretched inside, the corridors are lighted only where you go, the rooms are not very good quality.
But after 3rd night and observing what is going on around I realized that compare to the other places it's more than ok.
It's far away from the city center (25 euros by taxi) and not very close to the airport (12 euro by taxi), so it's somewhere in the middle of nowhere...
So quality of the hotel is between poor and average, the breakfasts are average (waiters don't speak normal English, knowing only a couple words). The price of this hotel is very close to the same quality hotels in the very center of the Madrid.
I can recommend you to stay here only in you want to be by the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARIA J, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Avenida America, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
I am writing in reply to your e-mail. I’m glad that you had choice our hotel for you stay. I note with pleasure, all that you write in the e-mail for having the measures appropriate to comply our clients’ expectations.

The hotel is really situated haft and hour from the centre, if you do not want to expend a lot money to taking a taxi you can take a bus for 1, 20 € in front of the main door of the hotel.
The distance from the hotel to the terminal one and two (airport) is the 6,5 km and to the terminal four, 12 kms. The hotel has a shuttle bus free for delivery to the airport and back.

I would like to know your advice to improve that quality of the hotel, so that you think that the quality of our hotel is between poor and average to have the opportunity to improve our services, in this way, to have the pleasure of welcoming you to the Melia Avda Ámerica Hotel, indeed, to any of our more than 330 hotels in 30 countries on many more occasions in the future.

Yours sincerely,

María José Calvo
Guest Experience Manager
Maria.jose.calvo@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a nice hotel to stay if you are going to Barajas. Rooms are nice and clean (strange bathroom with a window to the room) and the beds are really good.
We also have dinner at the resturant of the hotel and it was good.
Hotel is far from the city and in a business park so it is nothing to do in the area. For just spending the night before you fly, it is fine.
Nice attention, they have some coffee and juice ready for those who are leaving very early in the morning.
Good shuttle service to the airport. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel B, Director of Sales at Melia Avenida America, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

we appreciate your comments on Tripadvisor and good to hear that you had a nice stay with us. We would love to welcome you back and meet you personally!

Again, rarely guest provide positive comments, therefore we are very happy about this!

We look forward seeing you here at the Melia Avenida America!

With warm regards, Miguel Benitez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Typical mid range business hotel. Handy for the airport, else a taxi ride from anywhere else. Room was modern, shower was barely adequate but WiFi was not reachable from a corner room. My stay was unremarkable in every way.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOCALBLAN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Avenida America, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Sir,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for having chosen the MELIA AVDA. AMERICA HOTEL to stay in Madrid and also for taking the time to write your experience in our hotel during your stay.

I apologize if our free WIFI was not reachable from your room. Wifi is a service very valued for our customers for the fact that you can reach the sign from everywhere.
We had liked to be informed of it during your stay to have had opportunity to help you .

We take note of your observations and you can be sure that we always try to work to improve the quality of the services provided.

Yours Sincerely

Maria José Calvo
Guest Experience Manager
maria.jose.calvo@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel only one night. I booked a room the same day on the Melia web page and was really an excellent deal.
As a gold member I was given a junior corner suite. It was actually 2 rooms, the first with a sofa, a sitting area with a cupboard and a fridge.
The other was a beadroom with a king bed, nice linen, a working desk and tv plasma with lots of chanels.
This was newly renovated Melia design which is being introduced in hotels lately.
I liked it a lot.
Staff was helpful and very profesional. I was granted late check out too.
This hotel is situated just off main highway towards the airport. There is only a bus connection next door or a night bus, running from 00h until 6 am.
The area is business offices and pretty much nothing else.
The bathroom was large with a great shower and all kind of stuff.

To go to the centre of Madrid you can catch a taxi or walk aprox. 15 mins to the nearest metro station: Canillejas.
There is also a free shuttle bus 24/7 serving all terminals which is very convenient if you have an early morning flighy.
I arrived with a motorbike which I parked 10mts.from the door, in the area between a glass wall and the grass and left early in the morning. But as I returned after lunch, I was forced by a rude security staff to leave the area and park it on the main street, even if was not disturbing anyone.
Decent 4* hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel B, Director of Sales at Melia Avenida America, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
we really appreciate your time for placing your kind comments on Tripadvisor and we feel that your stay with us has fulfilled your expectations. Regarding the situation with our rude security guard, please note that we have taking measures in order to avoid any future incidents.
Again, we hope to see you again here at the Melia Avenida America Hotel and welcome you back!
Thanks again for your nice overview. With warm regards, Miguel Benitez!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

by this already 4. stay in madrid, we went into that melia hotel and it was a real good choice. pretty modern outfitted - with a very nice staff at time of check in and check out. the breakfast was good to and we did enjoyed the large choice ontv channels in hotel. wifiwas also available and we had not long to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel B, Director of Sales at Melia Avenida America, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
we appreciate your nice comments placed on Tripadvisor! we would love to welcome you back here at the Melia Avenida America Hotel and again thanks for taking your time.

With best regards, Miguel Benitez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have been in this hotel several times. It is near the airport but far from the city centre. The rooms are modern, clean, there is a glass window between sleeping room and bahtroom. The bar is not nice - the staff was too slow, unfriendly and the food at the bar is horrible (11 Euros for a salad with only a few fresh salads and a very few chicken meat pieces, the dressing is just some cheap oil, the bread is old and dry). Unfortunately the spa was closed for rebuilding when I wanted to visit it. The email service on their website was not valid, I didn`t receive any answer.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel B, Director of Sales at Melia Avenida America, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
your comments on Tripadvisor are really much appreciated! Honestly, your experience helps us to improve our standards & services and this will be improved.
Sincerely, we hope to see you on your next trip here in Madrid, therefore, please contact me directly (if you wish to do so...)
Thanks again and warm regards,

Miguel Benitez
miguel.benitez@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Avenida America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Avenida America

Address: Juan Ignacio Luca de Tena 36 | SALIDA 8 DE LA A-II ( autop. Barcelona), 28027 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > San Blas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#120 Business Hotel in Madrid
#123 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Avenida America 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Meliá Avenida América, offers updated facilities for every type of travellers & events. Located in the largest business development area of Madrid, ten minutes from the Airport and Trade Fair IFEMA and 15 minutes from downtown, the hotel offers elegant and comfortable rooms, fully equipped for leisure and work. Our Convention Center, located in an adjacent building of four floors, is connected via a Skywalk to the Hotel, comprises 32 meetings rooms, for up to 1200 delegates, all of them column free and natural daylight.To highlight: complimentary WIFI access throughout the property, Internet Corner, Gymnasium and Shuttle Service from/to Airport and Trade Fair Grounds.Other services of our property are the outstanding SPA with beauty & relaxation facilities and thermal treatments. The hotel has been totally refurbished from 2009 to 2011 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Melia, Agoda, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melia Avenida America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Avenida America Hotel Madrid
Melia Hotel Avenida America
Sol Melia Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Avenida America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.