We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nada extraordinário” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel Avenida de America by Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added AC Hotel Avenida de America by Marriott to your Saves list
AC Hotel Avenida de America by Marriott
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cartagena 83-85, 28028 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #186 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Sao Luis, MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nada extraordinário”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The hotel is average . The bathroom is amazing , but the breakfast could be better for 15 euros. The team also could be more friendly, I did not get a "good morning" or " good afternoon", while my wife and I were there , and we spent 7 days at this hotel.
It is well located, very close to bus stops and a metro station, and Madrid is a well connected city, public transportation is great, even if the hotel is not exactly near the center, you can get there very easily. The neighborhood is quiet and safe, we walked to the substations without worries.
There are several options for breakfast and lunch nearby , then I suggest you not waste your money eating at the hotel .
We missed a heater in the room, but the hotel is very clean, and the room service is efficient and cleaner who cleaned our room always did a great job .
My only disappointment were the receptionists ... First I thought maybe it was the way Spaniards are . But we met several Spaniards and they were always so friendly with us, I think the team can do much better than they did

Room Tip: Try to get the conner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    145
    46
    9
    5
See reviews for
29
89
29
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The hotel is located a bit away from the tourist attractions but you can get there by metro. I was in Madrid for business so it didn't bother me. Good shopping area is about 10-15 mins walk away, or a short cab ride, for that matter.
The rooms and beds are comfortable, unfortunately no coffee making or ironing facilities. Internet is not free. Didn't bother with the gym as it was closed by 10 pm and seems to be just another guestro om. The noise proofing between rooms and to the aisle are not great, expect to be up early if you are a light sleeper. All in all this is not really Marriott or Courtyard quality, more like Fairfield, but it was good value for money so may go again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Colorado
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Then this is worth it. Good shopping, plenty of little places to eat. Close to avenida de america bus station. Too many up charges for my liking. Greeat staff. Eat at luis I Marisqueria in the alleys near the hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I first heard of AC Hotels when they were being acquired by Marriott. When I needed to visit Madrid for a little more than a week, the AC Hotel, Avenida America seemed to fit the bill for me. It is close to the Metro (Avenue de America {2000 ft.} and Cartagena {1500 ft,}) as well as Madrid's excellent city bus service.

My room was contemporary and well-appointed. It was clean and bright, with high-quality bath products. The complimentary, well-stocked (and re-stocked daily) mini-bar was a delightful surprise!

The highlight however, was the courteous and very helpful staff. Each employee was pleasant, smiling, courteous, and very eager to help with whatever we requested. Everyone was able to speak a little English, with some of them displaying good fluency. My broken Spanish was not a barrier. Two of the male desk staff were particularly outstanding. One person's name we did not get, and the other is Enrique Gomez. Both went out of their way to help with directions, travel time we should expect, and various other prejuntas (questions.)

The only negative was the less-than-stellar (free, however) internet connection. Several times, after leaving for many hours, my internet would not connect from the room, and I had to take the laptop to the lobby to re-establish a good connection. This should be easily corrected, but wasn't.

I will heartily recommend AC Hotel, Avenida America to travelers coming to Madrid. Good service, clean, secure rooms, great customer service, and reasonable prices make this a great choice.

Room Tip: Ask to be assigned a room away from the street. We had heard of noise problems, but did not experie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Room was quite modern, nice bathroom and shower, bed was very comfortable and the service was lovely. Two problems that I found was that all the English channels had Spanish voice overs so there was no point even turning on the tv and that you had to pay to use the wifi in the room... 6 euros for only 1 hour!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Having stayed at the AC Hotels by Marriott in Madrid a few times during my work visits, it is a value for money property and highly recommended.

The breakfast spread in the morning is excellent but a little crowded during peak morning time so go early.

For those into gym, there is a small room that contains a static bicycle of two types and a thread mill. It's a converted room to a gym. Small but an appreciated facility.

Pros

- Value for money
- Clean rooms
- Friendly staff
- Earn Marriott Rewards points and status credit

Cons

- In the past, they used to provide mini bar with soft drinks and water at no cost, but from my recent stay, they were charging EUR 2.50 for a small can of drink. Buy your own from the convenience store across the road.

- English TV channel is limited so make sure you pack your iPad to watch YouTube or other downloaded movies.

Room Tip: Great value for money, excellent breakfast and friendly staff that will go out of their way to assis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had 4 nights booked in Madrid to finish our vacation. Marriott booked us into a hotel that was supposed to be near the old town area. This is where we ended up based upon their suggestion. It is no where near the old town. The hotel is rated a 4 star hotel but is more like a 2.5 - 3 star. Old rooms in a dodgy area. The "views" are not desirable. The saving grace is that the hotel manager help fix the situation and get us into the right Marriott.

If you are on vacation, I would not suggest this hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AC Hotel Avenida de America by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Avenida de America by Marriott

Address: Cartagena 83-85, 28028 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#121 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AC Hotel Avenida de America by Marriott 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel placed in Barrio de Salamanca (one of the most exclusive commercial areas), offers 144 refurbished rooms. Close to Adolfo Suarez Madrid Barajas Airport and IFEMA Fair Center. Just a few minutes from Puerta de Alcala, Santiago Bernabeu Stadium, Auditorio Nacional de Musica and Las Ventas Bullring ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your AC Hotel Avenida de America by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Madrid
Ac Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel Avenida de America by Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.