We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location if you know the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel Avenida de America by Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added AC Hotel Avenida de America by Marriott to your Saves list
AC Hotel Avenida de America by Marriott
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cartagena 83-85, 28028 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #231 of 455 Hotels in Madrid
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good location if you know the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The hotel is located a bit away from the tourist attractions but you can get there by metro. I was in Madrid for business so it didn't bother me. Good shopping area is about 10-15 mins walk away, or a short cab ride, for that matter.
The rooms and beds are comfortable, unfortunately no coffee making or ironing facilities. Internet is not free. Didn't bother with the gym as it was closed by 10 pm and seems to be just another guestro om. The noise proofing between rooms and to the aisle are not great, expect to be up early if you are a light sleeper. All in all this is not really Marriott or Courtyard quality, more like Fairfield, but it was good value for money so may go again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    131
    42
    10
    5
See reviews for
26
85
25
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Then this is worth it. Good shopping, plenty of little places to eat. Close to avenida de america bus station. Too many up charges for my liking. Greeat staff. Eat at luis I Marisqueria in the alleys near the hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I first heard of AC Hotels when they were being acquired by Marriott. When I needed to visit Madrid for a little more than a week, the AC Hotel, Avenida America seemed to fit the bill for me. It is close to the Metro (Avenue de America {2000 ft.} and Cartagena {1500 ft,}) as well as Madrid's excellent city bus service.

My room was contemporary and well-appointed. It was clean and bright, with high-quality bath products. The complimentary, well-stocked (and re-stocked daily) mini-bar was a delightful surprise!

The highlight however, was the courteous and very helpful staff. Each employee was pleasant, smiling, courteous, and very eager to help with whatever we requested. Everyone was able to speak a little English, with some of them displaying good fluency. My broken Spanish was not a barrier. Two of the male desk staff were particularly outstanding. One person's name we did not get, and the other is Enrique Gomez. Both went out of their way to help with directions, travel time we should expect, and various other prejuntas (questions.)

The only negative was the less-than-stellar (free, however) internet connection. Several times, after leaving for many hours, my internet would not connect from the room, and I had to take the laptop to the lobby to re-establish a good connection. This should be easily corrected, but wasn't.

I will heartily recommend AC Hotel, Avenida America to travelers coming to Madrid. Good service, clean, secure rooms, great customer service, and reasonable prices make this a great choice.

Room Tip: Ask to be assigned a room away from the street. We had heard of noise problems, but did not experie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Room was quite modern, nice bathroom and shower, bed was very comfortable and the service was lovely. Two problems that I found was that all the English channels had Spanish voice overs so there was no point even turning on the tv and that you had to pay to use the wifi in the room... 6 euros for only 1 hour!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Having stayed at the AC Hotels by Marriott in Madrid a few times during my work visits, it is a value for money property and highly recommended.

The breakfast spread in the morning is excellent but a little crowded during peak morning time so go early.

For those into gym, there is a small room that contains a static bicycle of two types and a thread mill. It's a converted room to a gym. Small but an appreciated facility.

Pros

- Value for money
- Clean rooms
- Friendly staff
- Earn Marriott Rewards points and status credit

Cons

- In the past, they used to provide mini bar with soft drinks and water at no cost, but from my recent stay, they were charging EUR 2.50 for a small can of drink. Buy your own from the convenience store across the road.

- English TV channel is limited so make sure you pack your iPad to watch YouTube or other downloaded movies.

Room Tip: Great value for money, excellent breakfast and friendly staff that will go out of their way to assis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had 4 nights booked in Madrid to finish our vacation. Marriott booked us into a hotel that was supposed to be near the old town area. This is where we ended up based upon their suggestion. It is no where near the old town. The hotel is rated a 4 star hotel but is more like a 2.5 - 3 star. Old rooms in a dodgy area. The "views" are not desirable. The saving grace is that the hotel manager help fix the situation and get us into the right Marriott.

If you are on vacation, I would not suggest this hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I like AC hotels in general and this one in particular. In the Marriott universe the AC hotels (which joined the group a year ago or so) are no-nonsense hotels with modern designed rooms (dark wood furniture, wooden floors) approximately at the level of a Courtyard, but in my view preferable.

In my few trips I had no issues with the rooms, I received status-driven upgrades to rooms, which did not have any noise issues.

The bed is good, a bit firmer than usually with Marriotts, but comfortable. Bathroom is reasonably sized and nice.

The minibar is (other than last year) not free any more, but priced fairly.

Breakfast was included in my rate. It is good, but a bit basic. I recommend to avoid the "industrial" scrambled eggs. Coffee is powered by Nespresso. A nice touch.

Overall I clearly recommend the hotel. It's not glitzy, it is actually very utilitarian. But it is in a charming way.

Room Tip: rooms in the numbers area of x02 to x18 should not have noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to AC Hotel Avenida de America by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Avenida de America by Marriott

Address: Cartagena 83-85, 28028 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 455 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AC Hotel Avenida de America by Marriott 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offers modern facilities; located next to the Juan Carlos I fair encloser, near public transportation and the motorways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your AC Hotel Avenida de America by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Madrid
Ac Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel Avenida de America by Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.