We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel Avenida de America by Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added AC Hotel Avenida de America by Marriott to your Saves list
AC Hotel Avenida de America by Marriott
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cartagena 83-85, 28028 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi For Members
Ranked #155 of 446 Hotels in Madrid
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I first heard of AC Hotels when they were being acquired by Marriott. When I needed to visit Madrid for a little more than a week, the AC Hotel, Avenida America seemed to fit the bill for me. It is close to the Metro (Avenue de America {2000 ft.} and Cartagena {1500 ft,}) as well as Madrid's excellent city bus service.

My room was contemporary and well-appointed. It was clean and bright, with high-quality bath products. The complimentary, well-stocked (and re-stocked daily) mini-bar was a delightful surprise!

The highlight however, was the courteous and very helpful staff. Each employee was pleasant, smiling, courteous, and very eager to help with whatever we requested. Everyone was able to speak a little English, with some of them displaying good fluency. My broken Spanish was not a barrier. Two of the male desk staff were particularly outstanding. One person's name we did not get, and the other is Enrique Gomez. Both went out of their way to help with directions, travel time we should expect, and various other prejuntas (questions.)

The only negative was the less-than-stellar (free, however) internet connection. Several times, after leaving for many hours, my internet would not connect from the room, and I had to take the laptop to the lobby to re-establish a good connection. This should be easily corrected, but wasn't.

I will heartily recommend AC Hotel, Avenida America to travelers coming to Madrid. Good service, clean, secure rooms, great customer service, and reasonable prices make this a great choice.

Room Tip: Ask to be assigned a room away from the street. We had heard of noise problems, but did not experie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarlSuggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Room was quite modern, nice bathroom and shower, bed was very comfortable and the service was lovely. Two problems that I found was that all the English channels had Spanish voice overs so there was no point even turning on the tv and that you had to pay to use the wifi in the room... 6 euros for only 1 hour!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank S_Blahnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Having stayed at the AC Hotels by Marriott in Madrid a few times during my work visits, it is a value for money property and highly recommended.

The breakfast spread in the morning is excellent but a little crowded during peak morning time so go early.

For those into gym, there is a small room that contains a static bicycle of two types and a thread mill. It's a converted room to a gym. Small but an appreciated facility.

Pros

- Value for money
- Clean rooms
- Friendly staff
- Earn Marriott Rewards points and status credit

Cons

- In the past, they used to provide mini bar with soft drinks and water at no cost, but from my recent stay, they were charging EUR 2.50 for a small can of drink. Buy your own from the convenience store across the road.

- English TV channel is limited so make sure you pack your iPad to watch YouTube or other downloaded movies.

Room Tip: Great value for money, excellent breakfast and friendly staff that will go out of their way to assis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mayurpatel75sin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had 4 nights booked in Madrid to finish our vacation. Marriott booked us into a hotel that was supposed to be near the old town area. This is where we ended up based upon their suggestion. It is no where near the old town. The hotel is rated a 4 star hotel but is more like a 2.5 - 3 star. Old rooms in a dodgy area. The "views" are not desirable. The saving grace is that the hotel manager help fix the situation and get us into the right Marriott.

If you are on vacation, I would not suggest this hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElwoodBlues951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Level Contributor
123 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I like AC hotels in general and this one in particular. In the Marriott universe the AC hotels (which joined the group a year ago or so) are no-nonsense hotels with modern designed rooms (dark wood furniture, wooden floors) approximately at the level of a Courtyard, but in my view preferable.

In my few trips I had no issues with the rooms, I received status-driven upgrades to rooms, which did not have any noise issues.

The bed is good, a bit firmer than usually with Marriotts, but comfortable. Bathroom is reasonably sized and nice.

The minibar is (other than last year) not free any more, but priced fairly.

Breakfast was included in my rate. It is good, but a bit basic. I recommend to avoid the "industrial" scrambled eggs. Coffee is powered by Nespresso. A nice touch.

Overall I clearly recommend the hotel. It's not glitzy, it is actually very utilitarian. But it is in a charming way.

Room Tip: rooms in the numbers area of x02 to x18 should not have noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoccoSiffredi1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monza, Italy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I use this hotel when I am on business trip in Madrid. It is not in the center, but it is well connected, the subway station of Cartagena is practically out of the door, and the Avenida de America station, cross-way to all the main lines, is just a few meters away. The hotel is well maintained with nice and clean rooms. Personnel is friendly. Unlike other Marriott hotels, there is no lounge.

Room Tip: Although it is not on the the main road, a front room can be noisy. You better ask for a side or bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria Luisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for three nights. The breakfast was average, little hot food. The service was ok. The bed was excellent. I had a room above the reception facing the street. Lots of noise from street cleaners, cars, garbage-cans ++. The room was clean. Lots of hot water and a good standard. No safe in the room.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjørn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Abba Madrid Hotel
#158 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
San Blas
Melia Avenida America
Melia Avenida America
#236 of 446 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Madrid Principe de Vergara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silken Puerta America
#98 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 1,630 reviews
NH Madrid Ventas
#95 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
El Madrono
El Madrono
#32 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Avenida de America by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Avenida de America by Marriott

Address: Cartagena 83-85, 28028 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#103 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — AC Hotel Avenida de America by Marriott 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel placed in Barrio de Salamanca (one of the most exclusive commercial areas), offers 144 refurbished rooms. Close to Adolfo Suarez Madrid Barajas Airport and IFEMA Fair Center. Just a few minutes from Puerta de Alcala, Santiago Bernabeu Stadium, Auditorio Nacional de Musica and Las Ventas Bullring ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Marriott, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your AC Hotel Avenida de America by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Madrid
Ac Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing