We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stop Over Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel Avenida de America by Marriott

Save Saved
You added AC Hotel Avenida de America by Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AC Hotel Avenida de America by Marriott
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cartagena 83-85, 28028 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #228 of 458 hotels in Madrid
Burbank, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Stop Over Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Business Hotel with No business center to even print or make copies or even a PC. So its a good stop over hotel. Used this hotel as a stop over when flying out of Madrid to US. Good location near the end of highway to airport, Walking distance to Subway if you need to go to city. But tough to locate when driving and the hotel parking is really tight/narrow to drive down and park. Breakfast was really good. Rooms were excellent, good beds for a best night sleep and shower a large size hardwood floor room, sofa and a work center. No noise from outside. The room I had stayed even had a private balcony. Wireless issues existed when i stayed, maybe from for my room - but other than that was a great hotel. Reception staff speak English.

Room Tip: Ones back of the hotel facing the small no traffic street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    125
    36
    9
    5
See reviews for
23
79
22
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a very nice hotel, but it is rather far away from the central tourist district. There is a bus a half block from the hotel that goes there though, so it is fine. The hotel is clean, modern, and quiet. It does not feel like a standard Marriott. The staff is helpful. Overall I'm glad I stayed there.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed here on business for two nights. I was going to give 4 stars, but when I thought about it I had to push it to 5. Service was excellent (despite my almost total lack of Spanish) from the moment I walked in and for this standard of hotel in a European capital city prices were reasonable from the room through dining to the bar. Room was large, well equipped (free wi-fi with good signal) and comfortable, food was very good and service attentive an polite. Will definitely stay again when I'm in town

Room Tip: High floor will get you away from the noise created by late night rubbish collection
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Spent 2 nights using Marriott points in this modern, spacious hotel in Madrid after 5 nights in Barcelona and a high-speed train ride for 2.5 hours. (highly recommend if you want to travel between these two cities - comfy, fast and cheap in my humble opinion)

These hotel is located in the north west side of Madrid - yeah on the map it's far away from the attraction, BUT... the metro station "Cartagena" is just behind the hotel so really no complain.

Within walking distance (15 minutes) is where the famous bull ring Plaza de Toros is. From there you can take another metro line right into the city centre for all the attractions.

Since we stayed in this hotel by using Marriott points I really have no say about the value but I overheard another party checking in and the price is still very good. What's more? oh, mini bar is free - yes , FREE! can you believe this?

We got our roof top room with a marvelous skyline of Madrid through the spacious balcony in our room. Room is huge, clean with contemporary deco. Bed is comfortable to our liking (we hate soft mattress btw). Bathroom is nice and stocked with nice amenities (did I say free mini-bar?)

The little road the hotel sits on has a lot of bars and small places for drink and food, very convenient.

What could make our stay better was if there is free wifi ..... oh well. We are still happy.

Our two nights in Madrid was really amazing - good food, good hotel, lots to see.

We just love Spain........

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Back again at the AC Hotel in Madrid. Regular stop for me here when on business. For the area I work in you cannot beat the location and value of this hotel. Great business rooms, small, but functional gym on site, decent food in the resturant for late night meals and free wifi in the lobby!! Marriott points as a bonus.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albufeira, Portugal
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I just got back from spending a few days at the AC Hotel Avenida de América over New Years with family. For the price that we paid (which I felt was a bargain), its contemporary and chic décor and the friendly staff, I was really pleasantly surprised.
There are a few down points though. If you don’t get a room that includes breakfast, it’s an extra 16€ per person, per day. The rooms have thin walls, so you’re able to hear quite a bit from your neighbours. The AC Avenida de América is also a little out of central Madrid (which it would then be best for you use to Metro to get to)….. but the Metro station is close by, so it works out quite well if you don’t want to be in the middle of all the hustle and bustle.
But overall, I really enjoyed it here and I think it’s a good choice for your stay in beautiful Madrid!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in 4 AC Marriotts on 12 day trip over xmas. This was the only one we had issues. No computer or business center. Rooms have paper walls so beware that sleep could be a issue. We had problem with the room rate. Told one rate when we checked in, got a 20 euro more rate on checkout. Despite long argument, no help from manager. Would never tay here again.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AC Hotel Avenida de America by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Avenida de America by Marriott

Address: Cartagena 83-85, 28028 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 458 hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AC Hotel Avenida de America by Marriott 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offers modern facilities; located next to the Juan Carlos I fair encloser, near public transportation and the motorways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your AC Hotel Avenida de America by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Madrid
Ac Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel Avenida de America by Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.