We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tryp Madrid Ambassador

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Tryp Madrid Ambassador to your Saves list
Tryp Madrid Ambassador
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cuesta de Santo Domingo 5, 28013 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
Madrid
1 review
“Good value hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our stay at the TRYP Madrid Ambassador was a very pleasant one. The rooms were clean and spacious and breakfast was excellent. Staff were polite and efficient. The location, right next to the Royal Palace, could not have been better for sightseeing. There was a free bottle of cava waiting for us on arrival - a nice touch. Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a good value base for exploring the lovely city of Madrid.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    267
    109
    36
    20
See reviews for
98
280
32
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is in walking distance of the Royal Palace and downtown shopping district. Very convenient. It is a little old but comfortable. Our room was on the second floor facing the street. There was a trendy bar across the street where they partied late into the night. A little annoying. Also a surprise. This hotel did not have tissue in the bathroom nor a clock in the room.

Room Tip: Rooms to the side are quieter (Bar across the street is trendy and they party into the night).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the hotel is well situated in Madrid. More classic than modern. Quiet whit big rroms ans fresh air. breakfast is plentiful.
It is more a spanish hotel tha an international standard one.
The staff is pleasant.
The bathromm is a little "old" and used.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Perfectly situated for accessing Gran Via and close to a metro stop this is an ideal location to explore Madrid from. However that's as good as it gets. My Tryp room was tiny did not have any tea or coffee making facilities, no trouser press or ironing equipment in the room. My wife found hair in her breakfast, there was no apology, nothing. Considering its meant to be a 4 star hotel, the service and accommodation was definitely 2 star.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed here with a tour group. My room was large, clean and extremely quiet. The hotel is situated near the National Palace and a metro stop. We were able to walk to just about everywhere we wanted to go. The service was very good. They still use old-fashioned keys where I would drop off the key when going out and pick it up again upon returning. I didn't like that they charged me for incidentals in U.S. dollars and I had them reverse it and charge me in euros -- more expensive for me in dollars. Yes, the carpet is a bit threadbare in some public spaces, but the hotel has charm and I was able to overlook that minor flaw. I stayed in 7 hotels on this trip and the Tryp Ambassador had the best buffet breakfast. In all 7 hotels, the beds were rock hard. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul A, Director General at Tryp Madrid Ambassador, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear travelswithdiane, I’m Raúl Álvarez, General Manager of Tryp Ambassador

Thank you very much to choose us for yours stay, and also, to have five minutes to send through TripAdvisor your kind opinion. Always help us, to improve our business.

Thanks for the comments about our location, our hotel and of course about our staff.
For the Hotel, had a good breakfast is so important, because is the best way to start a day.
We are working to improve our facilities, carpets, etc. Thanks again.

We hope to see you again.

Best Regards, Raúl Álvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Good points: great location for sightseeing and night life. Efficient staff; breakfast buffet more than adequate despite the impossible coffee machine; room good size, clean comfortable.
Not so good: decoration of the landings and corridors a bit tired and tomato coloured bathroom suites rather dated and the plumbing of the shower a little interesting! A comfortable enjoyable stay!

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul A, Director General at Tryp Madrid Ambassador, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear MonicaChidgey, I’m Raúl Álvarez, General Manager of Tryp Ambassador

I greatly appreciate you having taken some of your valuable time to send us your comments. Always help us, to improve our business.

Thanks for the comments about our hotel and especially about our staff.
We hope to see you again.

Best Regards, Raúl Álvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilkenny
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Great spot to stay...perfectly clean, fine rooms, great breakfast and wonderful central location, palace, Plaza Mayor....(.avoid eating in Pl. Mayor....rip off when you sit down....) little old fashioned but a really "old class" place.

Room Tip: Street fairly quiet outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul A, Director General at Tryp Madrid Ambassador, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear tom cl, I’m Raúl Álvarez, General Manager of Tryp Ambassador

Thank you very much to choose us for yours stay, and also, to have five minutes to send through TripAdvisor your kind opinion. Always help us, to improve our business.

Thanks for the comments about our hotel.

We hope to see you again.

Best Regards, Raúl Álvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tryp Madrid Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Madrid Ambassador

Address: Cuesta de Santo Domingo 5, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#61 Family Hotel in Madrid
#63 Business Hotel in Madrid
#65 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#102 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Madrid Ambassador 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Melia, Agoda, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tryp Madrid Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Ambassador Hotel Madrid
Tryp Hotel Ambassador
Tryp Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryp Madrid Ambassador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.