We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tryp Madrid Ambassador

Save Saved
You added Tryp Madrid Ambassador to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Tryp Madrid Ambassador
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cuesta de Santo Domingo 5, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 458 hotels in Madrid
USA/Russia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good Value and Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We chose this hotel for the location. We drove through southern Spain and started our trip in Madrid. The hotel is old and shows it's age. The lobby is a bit strange and garish. We arrived late, but the bar was happy to offer us a limited menu to choose from and pour us a very nice bottle of Spanish wine. The meal was pretty good.
We booked a family room with bunkbeds for the kids. It was very spacious and the beds were comfy. They kids were very happy to find clear globes full of candy on the nightstand, waiting for them.
Check in and check out took 30 minutes and there was no one else but us in the line at the time. I have no idea how that is possible. They sold us the prepaid breakfast, and we really got a giggle when they handed us our receipt at check out and it said,"successful client up charge!"

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier M, Director de Recepción at Tryp Madrid Ambassador, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Mkouzmine.

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience in Tryp Ambassador with the travellers comunity.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed our Family room and also the Food from our restaurant.

In also wish to apologize for the inconvenients with our front desk team. We will take the corrective steps to void this situation from happening again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    230
    94
    33
    19
See reviews for
71
254
28
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The location was fantastic, very central, just off of Gran Via which is the main street, and a few minutes away from the Royal Palace. The staff was very nice and polite, although there was a miscommunication between the booking agency, which I had already paid, and the hotel. As a result, I was double charged for the room, but the agency is investigating to issue a refund. I stayed for 1 night. The room was nice, comfortable and clean. However, the walls are a bit thin so you can hear people coming in and out of their rooms, as well as their conversations in the hallway.

I would certainly come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavierMatute, Director de Recepción at Tryp Madrid Ambassador, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear beachbum

Thank you very much for your comments, and above all, to take a moment in your valuable time to dedicate this as positive feedback.
Thank you most sincerely.

The wonderful perception has had on our hotel we draw from your comments, it motivates us to keep working to get stays as satisfying as yours.

Also I apologize for the misunderstanding with the payment of your reservation. I have forwarded your concerns to the reservation manager and we will take steps to avoid this situation on the future.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again and of course, having a new experience "perfect" in any hotel of our company.

Kind Regards
Javier J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just returned from a short break, staff couldnt have been friendlier. Hotel is spotless if a little dated. The breakfast was exceptional! Tapas bar was really good, as was the wine served and for a city hotel the cost of drinks was far cheaper than any other city I have been to. Hotel staff very helpful in recommending a steak restaurant on the Plaza mayor and offered to arrange a taxi to the airport which we didnt need as on our return we used the underground which was easy to use and a fraction of the cost. One evening the door was tapped and the hotel bar staff presented us with a selection of cheese and ham as a gift from the hotel! Excellent!

Room Tip: we upgraded to a larger room for twenty two euros a night, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavierMatute, Director de Recepción at Tryp Madrid Ambassador, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Kate

It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from the customer experience in our hotel, especially if we transmit a positive experience as you have had.

We are delighted that you have been enjoying a fantastic stay.

Yours faithfully,
Javier J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel on the basis of it being cheap and having good recent tripadvisor reviews. Room was spacious, spotlessly clean and bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was a little tatty and dated, but still clean. There was a selection of chocolates awaiting us upon our arrival which I thought was a nice touch.
The only real negatives are that the windows looked over a lightwell so there was a view, and the heating system was quite noisy when it was running.
However, overall, I would not hesitate in recommending it. You won't be disappointed

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier H, General Manager at Tryp Madrid Ambassador, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Turchese24

Thank you for your kind words on this review and thank you for having taken the time to share your experience.

We hope we can welcome you again at our Tryp Ambassador Hotel or any other of our Meliá Hotels in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The check in and out we're both friendly and efficient. The room was of a good standard although the room heater was very noisy when it came on. The bathroom was a god size and again very clean.
The food was excellent and the Tapas bar was great value for money.
Would I stay again - definitely.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Before going to Madrid I read up about the Tryp Ambassador Hotel, some were good some were bad, however I booked anyway. The bad reviews said that the hotel needed updating, yes there are things which possibly need replacing, however they do not impact upon your holiday. The sink in our bathroom had a crack in it, we were not in enough for this to impact upon your stay and the hotel was actually lovely and staff impeccable in helping your stay in Madrid be enjoyable.

The only grip was that we stayed on a weekend and could hear local and holidays makers going home early hours of the morning (sometimes).

The hotel is in the centre of the old part of Madrid and a stones throw from the palace. We walked miles and enjoyed the city.

Food for breakfast was unbelievable, there were lots of food to chose from, cooked and continental.

We had a wake up call from the hotel on the day we left. I would highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Madrid.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier H, General Manager at Tryp Madrid Ambassador, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Supersu50

First of all, I would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your opinion with the traveller community.
We are committed to improve our services every day and your comments help us to move in the right direction.

We hope we can welcome you again at our Tryp Ambassador Hotel or any other of our Meliá Hotels in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

All credit to their housekeepers - the room/public areas sparkled! Great location. A comfortable/quiet stay. Good value for money.

Staff were surly. 8pm on a Sat night - no iron available "Come back tomorrow at 8am" - not much use for me!

Some basic info needs to be provided in room - i.e. the telephone number to reach reception (no fastkeys on phone) - and instructions for the safe would be helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tryp Madrid Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Madrid Ambassador

Address: Cuesta de Santo Domingo 5, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Madrid
#66 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#87 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#90 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Madrid Ambassador 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Melia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Tryp Madrid Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Ambassador Hotel Madrid
Tryp Hotel Ambassador
Tryp Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryp Madrid Ambassador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.