We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tryp Madrid Ambassador

Save Saved
You added Tryp Madrid Ambassador to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Tryp Madrid Ambassador
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cuesta de Santo Domingo 5, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 458 hotels in Madrid
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ideal hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just returned from a short break, staff couldnt have been friendlier. Hotel is spotless if a little dated. The breakfast was exceptional! Tapas bar was really good, as was the wine served and for a city hotel the cost of drinks was far cheaper than any other city I have been to. Hotel staff very helpful in recommending a steak restaurant on the Plaza mayor and offered to arrange a taxi to the airport which we didnt need as on our return we used the underground which was easy to use and a fraction of the cost. One evening the door was tapped and the hotel bar staff presented us with a selection of cheese and ham as a gift from the hotel! Excellent!

Room Tip: we upgraded to a larger room for twenty two euros a night, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavierMatute, Director de Recepción at Tryp Madrid Ambassador, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Kate

It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from the customer experience in our hotel, especially if we transmit a positive experience as you have had.

We are delighted that you have been enjoying a fantastic stay.

Yours faithfully,
Javier J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    233
    251
    101
    34
    20
See reviews for
70
253
27
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel on the basis of it being cheap and having good recent tripadvisor reviews. Room was spacious, spotlessly clean and bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was a little tatty and dated, but still clean. There was a selection of chocolates awaiting us upon our arrival which I thought was a nice touch.
The only real negatives are that the windows looked over a lightwell so there was a view, and the heating system was quite noisy when it was running.
However, overall, I would not hesitate in recommending it. You won't be disappointed

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier H, General Manager at Tryp Madrid Ambassador, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Turchese24

Thank you for your kind words on this review and thank you for having taken the time to share your experience.

We hope we can welcome you again at our Tryp Ambassador Hotel or any other of our Meliá Hotels in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The check in and out we're both friendly and efficient. The room was of a good standard although the room heater was very noisy when it came on. The bathroom was a god size and again very clean.
The food was excellent and the Tapas bar was great value for money.
Would I stay again - definitely.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Before going to Madrid I read up about the Tryp Ambassador Hotel, some were good some were bad, however I booked anyway. The bad reviews said that the hotel needed updating, yes there are things which possibly need replacing, however they do not impact upon your holiday. The sink in our bathroom had a crack in it, we were not in enough for this to impact upon your stay and the hotel was actually lovely and staff impeccable in helping your stay in Madrid be enjoyable.

The only grip was that we stayed on a weekend and could hear local and holidays makers going home early hours of the morning (sometimes).

The hotel is in the centre of the old part of Madrid and a stones throw from the palace. We walked miles and enjoyed the city.

Food for breakfast was unbelievable, there were lots of food to chose from, cooked and continental.

We had a wake up call from the hotel on the day we left. I would highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Madrid.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier H, General Manager at Tryp Madrid Ambassador, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Supersu50

First of all, I would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your opinion with the traveller community.
We are committed to improve our services every day and your comments help us to move in the right direction.

We hope we can welcome you again at our Tryp Ambassador Hotel or any other of our Meliá Hotels in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

All credit to their housekeepers - the room/public areas sparkled! Great location. A comfortable/quiet stay. Good value for money.

Staff were surly. 8pm on a Sat night - no iron available "Come back tomorrow at 8am" - not much use for me!

Some basic info needs to be provided in room - i.e. the telephone number to reach reception (no fastkeys on phone) - and instructions for the safe would be helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great located, close to Plaza de Opera and just a 5 min walk to Plaza del Sol and the main square, Plaza Mayor. The hotel is comfortable and has big rooms with air con and comfy beds. Although I'd prefer fluffy carpet in a hotel instead the wooden floor, this one had a nice sleek wooden floor. The downside of the hotel, especially if you are there for business and need your clothes to be ironed, they don't have an iron in the room and they can't provide one from the reception either. They're only service re this matter is an old fashioned press in the room which doesn't do anything or the laundry service which asked us for 9.50 Euros for ironing a shirt... yeah right. Everything else is good and they seems to take good care of the hotel. Beware at check in you must have an ID (passport or your local country ID) otherwise the driving license is not considered and you might not be able to check in (so take care people from the States or UK as I know your drivers license is considered an ID in your country, not in Spain :|).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mugla Turkey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Before booking this hotel I had spent many hours exploring the options on offer and something that would suit our budget. I am myself a hotel manager and have been in tourism for many years so I can read between the lines of others reviews on hotels. If I wanted to pay a lot of money then i could quite easily book a pricey 4 star or 5 star hotel with newly refurbished rooms with upto date technology, decor and facilities. However this would have cost me twice as much, in my world you get what you pay for and if you do your homework then there should be no surprises. The Ambassador yes is an old hotel but you know that anyway when you book, and we wanted a traditional hotel so it was exactly as we expected and offered very clean comfortable rooms. I found the quality of linen outstanding, we spent very comfortable sleeps in a huge clean bed. The reception were quick and efficient, the free wifi excellent, housekeeping excellent, the restaurant was also very good, the building itself was magnificent. A great location and easy to find from the airport using the underground rail system....just remember to get off at the Opera. We totally enjoyed our stay and the price we paid for what we received was excellent......

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier H, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Ambassador, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Sharon,
First of all, I would like to thank you for your kind words about our hotel as well as for having taken the time to share your experience with the traveller community.
We are committed to improve our services every day and your comments tell us that we are moving in the right direction.
We also hope to welcome you again in our Tryp Ambassador Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tryp Madrid Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Madrid Ambassador

Address: Cuesta de Santo Domingo 5, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Madrid
#67 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#87 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#96 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Madrid Ambassador 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Melia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Tryp Madrid Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Ambassador Hotel Madrid
Tryp Hotel Ambassador
Tryp Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryp Madrid Ambassador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.