We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tryp Madrid Ambassador

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Tryp Madrid Ambassador to your Saves list
Tryp Madrid Ambassador
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cuesta de Santo Domingo 5, 28013 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
Valencia, Spain
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great located, close to Plaza de Opera and just a 5 min walk to Plaza del Sol and the main square, Plaza Mayor. The hotel is comfortable and has big rooms with air con and comfy beds. Although I'd prefer fluffy carpet in a hotel instead the wooden floor, this one had a nice sleek wooden floor. The downside of the hotel, especially if you are there for business and need your clothes to be ironed, they don't have an iron in the room and they can't provide one from the reception either. They're only service re this matter is an old fashioned press in the room which doesn't do anything or the laundry service which asked us for 9.50 Euros for ironing a shirt... yeah right. Everything else is good and they seems to take good care of the hotel. Beware at check in you must have an ID (passport or your local country ID) otherwise the driving license is not considered and you might not be able to check in (so take care people from the States or UK as I know your drivers license is considered an ID in your country, not in Spain :|).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    267
    109
    36
    20
See reviews for
98
280
32
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mugla Turkey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Before booking this hotel I had spent many hours exploring the options on offer and something that would suit our budget. I am myself a hotel manager and have been in tourism for many years so I can read between the lines of others reviews on hotels. If I wanted to pay a lot of money then i could quite easily book a pricey 4 star or 5 star hotel with newly refurbished rooms with upto date technology, decor and facilities. However this would have cost me twice as much, in my world you get what you pay for and if you do your homework then there should be no surprises. The Ambassador yes is an old hotel but you know that anyway when you book, and we wanted a traditional hotel so it was exactly as we expected and offered very clean comfortable rooms. I found the quality of linen outstanding, we spent very comfortable sleeps in a huge clean bed. The reception were quick and efficient, the free wifi excellent, housekeeping excellent, the restaurant was also very good, the building itself was magnificent. A great location and easy to find from the airport using the underground rail system....just remember to get off at the Opera. We totally enjoyed our stay and the price we paid for what we received was excellent......

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier H, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Ambassador, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Sharon,
First of all, I would like to thank you for your kind words about our hotel as well as for having taken the time to share your experience with the traveller community.
We are committed to improve our services every day and your comments tell us that we are moving in the right direction.
We also hope to welcome you again in our Tryp Ambassador Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

TRYP Ambassador was clean and comfortable a minutes walk to the Opera house, 2 mins to the Palace and 5 mins from everywhere. We'd stay there again for the convenience. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Book a taxi back to the airport through them so you don't get ripped off like we did. Taxis from the airport add about 14euros surcharge, then an extra 7 or 8 per bag. so 30 turned into 50euros!
I also thoroughly recommend the Tapas tour and the Segway tour but book those online before you go. Do the segway tour as soon as possible so you can see the area you'd like to visit after. We went everywhere :-) Take gloves as your hands get chilly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

In general the hotel is OK. Good location, large rooms, friendly staff. However the hotel is becoming old and more important it becomes a bit "tired". Old funiture, carpets, otdated bathrooms and so on. Make sure not to book a room at the front (street) side of the hotel. It is noisy and the window isolation is also.... old!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Nice hotel, good location. Thou hotel is old but they were pretty well maintained. The room had good ventilation and within walking distance to shopping, attractions and restaurants.
Bathrooms not very big but of decent size with all the amenities.

Room Tip: Recommend visitors to stay there for convenience. Buffet breakfast spread is good too
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Old time Europe, piped in music, ambiance and grace. OK, so the rooms and bathrooms may disappoint those seeking the latest and greatest in high tech amenities but this is a charming hotel, albeit a bit noisy. It's a step back in time located in a perfect location, well within walking range of the sites of Madrid.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Just came back from five great days in Madrid. This hotel is within walking distance of of Madrid Center. We loved our Madrid visit and will come back. Palacio Real, Opera, Plaza Mayor, Mercado San Miguel, Callao, Sol, Plaza de Espana, Gran Via, and much more within a short walk. Metro is closed by, and we used Metro often when we visited other parts of the city. Loved going to Paseo del Prado, and to see a Futbol game at Rayo Vallecano. Check out tours at Julia travel and visit Avila and Segovia. This is not a luxary Hotel , however it is a luxary location with all you need.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tryp Madrid Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Madrid Ambassador

Address: Cuesta de Santo Domingo 5, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Madrid
#63 Family Hotel in Madrid
#67 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#102 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Madrid Ambassador 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Melia, Agoda, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tryp Madrid Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Ambassador Hotel Madrid
Tryp Hotel Ambassador
Tryp Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryp Madrid Ambassador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.