We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Save Saved
You added AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo De Las Delicias 26, 28045 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #149 of 457 hotels in Madrid
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed 3 nights and had a great time. We arrived by train and walked from the Atocha Station.
The hotel is well located with easy access to the excellent Madrid subway and there are a number of restaurants/bars in the immediate area. The breakfast buffet is one of the better ones that had plenty of choices and can even get your eggs cooked to order. WiFI in the lobby area was free and performed well. The staff was excellent. Rocio was very helpful in giving directions and making reservations for the Flamenco show. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to Madrid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    257
    367
    110
    26
    15
See reviews for
118
302
47
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maldon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I enjoyed a really nice long weekend (Saturday until Tuesday) in Madrid in Spetember. As it was Spain you can obviously count on the weather, and that did not disapoint.
We were greeted by a very helpful and polite member of the hotel staff at the reception desk. Our flight arrived earlier than the check in time but she checked us in anyway. Nothing seemend too much trouble for her. She got maps for us, showed us places to go, brilliant.
The rooms were a little small but that was to be expected for a city centre location. ROoms were pretty well appointed, modern looking and very very clean.
Location wise the hotel is literally a 2 min walk from a metro station so you can get around the whole of Madrid with ease.
We only had breakfast in the hotel and I was not overally impressed, not a fan of the continental option but it was ok. Enough to keep me going and a fairly good choice.
Overall we had a brilliant time in Madrid, I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Absolutely a delight.
Great location great food especially breakfast with the best warm rolls, wonderful staff , very comfortable quiet rooms and the front desk is terrific, always available to answer questions happily.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Great location for everything - walk to many of the sites, the main train station and the bus that will get you to the airport. The restaurants around the hotel are about 1/2 the price of the ones in the tourist areas. Hotel staff a little unreliable for directions, the front desk girl gave us complete wrong directions to get to a famous flamenco show we were seeing - sent us walking all over in the heat trying to find the real location. Not so great is that they charge 15 euro a day for wifi - not cool when you can get it free at most places these days. Also - ladies - be warned that there is very little space in the bathroom to put your stuff when getting ready or doing your hair - limited to no counter space so if you like to have alot of space I'd choose another hotel. :-) There were alot of bad reviews I read about the beds and noise but I didn't have an issue with either of those things. One thing though is that 2 "twin" beds is a room with 2 beds pushed right beside each other. Depending on who you are travelling with, you may want more space than that :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is in a good location and we were given a nice room for the price. The choice at the breakfast buffet was outstanding - well worth getting up for. We found this hotel very good value. Ask for a room on a higher floor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The location is great as it is in walking distance to all transportation hubs, museums, restaurants and other attractions. The staff spoke good English however it depended on which front desk person you approached as to what kind of attitude you received. I didnt feel like most were happy to see us but there was one who went over and above to help us with whatever we needed (wish I got his name). Also, information given was inconsistent and depended on who asked. We asked about getting to a certain attraction and were told one thing but when we talked with another couple they were told something totally different so that was interesting. Also, you have to ask for irons, ironing boards, ice, ice buckets, etc. All of which I thought were standard at any hotel but I guess not. The beds were like sleeping on two double box springs and were literally pushed together so if there is a lot of movement you will literally fall through the middle. Oh and the wifi is so expensive in your room everyone crowds in the lobby to use the free wifi and there arent enough chairs so people were on the stairs. Its an interesting site.

Room Tip: The wifi is only free in the lobby so the lower the room floor the more likely you can use it from y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlton01, Director General at AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear sir,

We are very sorry about your bad impression of our front desk team. They should follow the same criteria in order to give a good service to our guests. We will remember them how important the client is for us.

About your comment of the iron board and the ice, we are really sorry for the inconveniences caused. We do not have these in each room, but if you request it at the front desk, we will gve it to you immediatly.

Concerning your comment about the beds, we check periodically that they are in good conditions. They are renewed regularly. If you had told us about the bed we could have changed you to another room.

Thank you for your comments about the wifi. Apart from the lobby we have the lounge where breakfast is served, where anyone who wants to have free wifi can stay there.

Thank you again for your comments, they will help us to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights in July. The staff was very helpful and spoke good English. Very professional. The room had plenty of space and the bathroom was great as well. everything was well kept. The downside of this hotel was the bed. It was like sleeping on a set of box springs with no mattress. It was just awful. I would not go back there based on just the bed. It is no Courtyard if that is what you are hoping for. The bar closes at 11pm which is not good. It should be open till midnight every night so that you get enough to drink before having to go lay on that terrible bed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Address: Paseo De Las Delicias 26, 28045 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 457 hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.