We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott to your Saves list
AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo De Las Delicias 26, 28045 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #146 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very Nice Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel is located just 5 min from the station which is very easy to visit Toredo or move to Madrid to Barcelona. Even you can walk to the main sight spot in Madrid. The supermarket is located just 1 blocks down and get anything you want. You can also find local bar near the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    368
    114
    27
    14
See reviews for
129
337
54
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the A c Carlton in Feb to watch the man united -rio Madrid game. An average hotel with a lovely modern foyer but very small rooms and bathrooms. No wi fi in the rooms. Breakfast is rather expensive. And there aren't many other eating options close by. The only plus would be its close to the Bernabeau but away from the hub of the high streets and square. I wouldn't recommend it if you in Madrid sight seeing or shopping. You don't get the feel and character of the city ..,

Room Tip: Rooms higher up away from the. Street to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Looking back, this hotel was better than most. Good location, close to Atocha Train station and not difficult to find hop-on/off bus.

The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, although we found that in Europe, the directions to a location consist of a wave of the arm and, "it's over there." The lobby was very nice and spacious and had an attended bar.

Two English-speaking TV channels: BBC and CNBC.

Downside: the lighting in the rooms was insufficient. Take a flashlight. Wi-Fi only available in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our stop in Madrid is the last leg of our Spain vacation which began in Barcelona, Seville then Granada. We stayed here for one night to tour Toledo for a day instead of staying in Toledo. We picked this because of its location, it's walking distance to the Atoche train station which is the station for trains to Toledo.

The hotel is clean and modern. The room is a good size. The hotel staff was very helpful too!
If I ever go back to visit Madrid, I'll consider this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We just finished a 2 week trip by staying 3 nights in the AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott. Our flight arrived at 9:30 pm and we caught the Airport Express Bus to Atocha Train Station (see review on this too), asked directions at the info center in the train station and made our way out of the station for the 3 block walk to the AC Carlton. It took about 5 minutes and we felt safe the entire way. We arrived to the hotel and were greated warmly by Roberto. We're Marriott Gold and we were upgraded (I think our room was slightly larger) and given free wifi and minibar. We had prebooked the breakfast at a great price which offered a large variety to please everyone. The room was excellent. We asked not to be on the street and were given a great room on the 6th floor that faced another building, but if was quiet and we were able to sleep well. For European standards, the room was large with a nice foyer where the closet and safe were which was separated from the rest of the room by a frosted glass sliding door. The room had a king size bed, 2 leather chairs and table, large flat screen tv and a huge bathroom with a whirlpool but and glass shower. The ac worked great and the bed was very comfortable. If I had one complaint about the room is that the lighting was not bright enough for me, but I would stay there again in a heartbeat. We were assisted the following morning by a lovely gal who provided a map and directions on what to see. Although the hotel is not in the city center we walked to everything including the Royal Palace, Sol, the mercado, etc. Not once did we use any public transportation other than the day we took the high speed train to Toledo.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We started our two week trip of Spain in Madrid and selected the AC Hotel Carlton due to their affiliation with Marriott. Overall a very good experience. We enjoyed the location - close to Atocha station and the metro. We walked to the Reina Sofia and Prado. In fact one evening we walked from the Puerta del sol and it was a great experience.

We were traveling with our two kids and upon check in the front desk made certain that we had rooms very close together and really went above and beyond to help us even though we were there well early for check in.

The only challenge was trying to get any kind of coffee in the morning, but a small issue nonetheless.

We'll certainly try this again next time we're in Madrid.

Room Tip: The superior rooms had quite a bit more living space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here the first time we visited Madrid and liked it so much we have just been back. Great location, an easy walk to Atocha train station, the subway, all of the museums/art galleries, hop on hop off bus, Retiro Park and restaurants. We even walked to Sol and the Palace from here. Clean, comfortable, very helpful and friendly reception staff, free wi fi in the lobby and with our room level free mini bar which included sodas, water, juice and beer which were restocked daily. Our 6 ft 2'' son was very comfortable on the sofa bed which was of a very good quality. Will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Address: Paseo De Las Delicias 26, 28045 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.