We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good hotel in perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Save Saved
You added AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo De Las Delicias 26, 28045 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #149 of 457 hotels in Madrid
Torino, Italia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Quite good hotel in perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Carlton is located in a very good position, very close to Reina Sofia museum and not far from Atocha station. Service in the hotel is good as well, in particular breakfast with a really four stars quality. Rooms are spacious even in my case (I had a single one), but maybe you would better ask for a room not at lower floors due to the heavy traffic outside. Price is not expensive, considering the hotel in the very center of Madrid and people at the reception are quite polite and responsive. All in all not a bad choice to stay or visit Madrid.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    257
    367
    110
    26
    15
See reviews for
118
302
47
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calabasas, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

A comfortable modern boutique hotel just steps from the Atocha Station and Metro stop. We walked to Reina Sofia, Prado and the Botanical Gardens and even a Starbucks. The rooms were well designed to maximize sleeping, storage and sitting space and the beds were comfy. A terrific bathroom with a giant jacuzzi tub separate from a walk in shower and heated towel bar. The inside courtyard room was a little dark but quieter than the street facing rooms. The gym is small but well designed and very clean with a terrific shower.The breakfast buffet left a lot to be desired, even when it was complimentary. The desk personnel were friendly and we felt safe walking back even at 1am after a later dinner.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are quieter but a little darker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. We loved that everything was walking distance from the hotel. The rooms were spacious enough for 2 adults and 2 kids. Breakfast was great. The decor was modern and tasteful. We walked to the Prado and park and took the red bus all around town. There were great restaurants all around, just be prepared that Spanish food is very different from American cuisine...though quite delicious. We stayed at AC HOTELS all around Spain and were not disappointed! Great value for money and consistent Marriott quality. Note: if you are driving a car this hotel is hard to find ( get a GPS)!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Rooms are modern, well kept. Minibar is complimentary and it is a great ideia. They should make wifi in rooms complimentary as well. Breakfast was OK. We got a great rate through hotelsclub, around EUR 100 for a triple room inclusive of breakfast. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Good hotel close to Renfe Atocha train station and walking distance from the"Golden Triangle of Art", The Prado, Thyssen-Bornemisza, and the Reina Sofia museums. Room was small which is typical of most European hotels but clean and comfortable. The front staff was very helpful and knowledgeable.

Overall a good hotel and great for guests who are stickler for Marriott points.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreeClimber
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Was in Madrid for business for two weeks. Rooms are large for Europe. Ask for an interior room to keep it quite. Walls are thin as are the floors. Can hear a lot of the neighbors walking. Most of the time, they only had one person behind the desk and they were very helpful, but with only one person, there was ALWAYS a line that you had to wait, even if to ask a simple question. There was also someone smoking on my floor, and the desk did nothing when I complained. They also said we could get the train to Segovia from the nearby Atocha train station....which you can not. Lost an hour over that. Fitness room was always locked, but unopened when called.

Hotel is very close to all the museums and squares, and two subway lines. It is also very convenient to the Atocha train station.

Not Hotel related: Pickpockets are very good on the Subways. Expect all ages to be pickpockets. Two of my coworkers were pickpocketed....

Room Tip: Ask for interior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlton01, Director General at AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We are very sorry for your bad impressions of our hotel during your stay. We would like to clarify that there are trains from Atocha station to Segovia, and that in the front desk there is always enough staff to serve our clients, one or two dependind on the demand, we are very sorry that you have to wait so much to be attended.

We apologise for the inconvenience with the fitness center because the fitness center must be open at any time the client want.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Good business class hotel in a reasonable location close to the main Atocha railway station. The room was fine and the breakfasts were excellent. Unfortunately my stay was spoiled by the fact that our next door neighbours may as well have been staying in our room! We could hear every word they said - not really a problem during the day but not very nice at 1 o'clock in the morning. When are hotels that are classed as 4-star going to start doing something about sound-proofing their rooms?
No fault can be found with the staff who were all very helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: If you have a room with no-one next door everything should be fine. How to achieve that?!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlton01, Director General at AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel. If we knew the room number we could analyze the problem and try to look for a solution.

Thank you for helping us to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Address: Paseo De Las Delicias 26, 28045 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 457 hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.