We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hardly 4 star” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rafaelhoteles Atocha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rafaelhoteles Atocha to your Saves list
Rafaelhoteles Atocha
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mendez Alvaro 30, 28045 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #239 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“hardly 4 star”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed as part of a trafalgar group. The hotel is not particularly close to anywhere . The lobby staff were efficient if not overly friendly. Our room was adequate and clean with some wear marks and not well insulated from the outside noise. The lack of free wifi was annoying. For us the lowlight was breakfast .Choices were uninspiring quite a few things ran out and staff were conspicuosly absent. The buffet was designed so thst everyone had to join a single queue which snaked its way painfully slowly across the room. Very inefficient. Then someone spilled their watery scrambled eggs on the carpet. The resultant mess was studiously ignored by the few staff who made a cameo appearance in the room for 30 minutes before it was cleaned up. So unless you are here to use the conference facilities I would give this place a miss.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Rafaelhoteles Atocha, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you for the review of your stay. We are sorry to hear our breakfast did not meet your expectations; we will review with the staff to avoid similar situations in the future. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas.
We welcome any opportunity to improve.
Thanks.
Javier Grao
Guest Relations
Rafaelhoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    158
    118
    46
    8
See reviews for
51
134
31
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent four nights at this hotel paying an average of $90 per night (with taxes included), prepaid on Priceline. It's located about a ten to twelve minute walk from the Atocha station if you know where you're headed. Unfortunately, when we arrived in Madrid, it was dark and raining slightly, so we took a taxi. The cost was 6.3 euros.
Our room was very nice, clean, quiet, hot showers, good water pressure, fluffy towels, and a minibar which we used to keep our own store bought beer and water.
The front staff were all extremely friendly, professional, and attentive. Check in and check out went smoothly with no issues at all.
On the negative side, the hotel only offers pay wi-fi access in the room. They offer free wi-fi only in the lobby and only for an hour for cheapskates like me. We stayed at five other similarly priced hotels during our vacation in Spain and this was the only one that did not offer free in-room wi-fi.
Another negative is that not only is the hotel located a bit of a walk from the train station but there are no stores or restaurants until you are almost there. So, if you need to something like a bottle of water, you have to decide whether to take a 20 minute round trip walk or pay for the more expensive hotel water.
Overall, this is a nice hotel, that offers a trade off for budget travelers. It's cheaper than being closer to Plaza del Sol but you have to pay for it with the walking distance to the Metro and 1.5 euro per person each way fare to get there.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javiergrao, Guest Relations Manager at Rafaelhoteles Atocha, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Rafaelhoteles Atocha. It is wonderful to learn that we covered your expectations and provided you with attentive service. We are disappointed to read that you did not enjoy the wifi service, but we can inform all our guests that from next month the wifi service will be free in all the hotel rooms.
It is our comitment to meet our guests expectations and we appreciate very much your comments for actions to be taken in the future.
Best regards.
Javier Grao
Guest Relations
Rafaelhoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is not very close to the center, not too far either but you need to walk at least 20 minutes to arrive there. The room where I stayed had air conditioning/heater but was not working. The first night the Internet connection was not working either and the next days was extremely slow. The rooms were clean but some parts were old and without maintenance.
The staff was nice, and my days in this hotel were ok but I think that there are other good options in the city for the same price, however, in the zone all the other options are more expensive, so if I would need to stay around with the same budget I would need to think about it. The meeting room service, is better than the rooms

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in December 2012 and had excellent service. It is located near to the train station and is about a 5/10 minute walk to the Metro. We didn't have breakfast so can't comment but it was €15 per person

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We found this hotel in a secret hotel website (www.hotelminuto.com lists it as the only Atocha area hotel with 4* for 39 EUR), so the price was really cheap and the hotel is within a 7 minute walk from Atocha train station.

Nice 4* hotel with nice room and efficient staff. we were on the 1st floor, and there was a lot of noise from the patio at the back of the hotel. The room service from next door was extremely noisy at 9AM the following day.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirlingshire, Scotland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Large clean well appointed room on the 4th floor. Bathroom was great, and covered in marble, Hotel is not as close to the centre as it might look on a map as the front looks on to Renfe High spee rail line, and there are no obviouse underpasses to walk due north towards the park andthe Prado. So its a good 10 t0 15 min walk up to Atocha Underground / Renfe Station. Room was located at the back of the hotel and looked out on to a large residential courtyard with sports facilites and gardens, which was great. Not sure what a room on the other side of the hotel would be like as the main road is very busy, so it might be a bit noisy. Not sue where the comments about unfriendly front desk staff is coming from they were fine very professional and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rafaelhoteles Atocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafaelhoteles Atocha

Address: Mendez Alvaro 30, 28045 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#117 Family Hotel in Madrid
#136 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rafaelhoteles Atocha 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafaelhoteles Atocha has an excelent location, few minutes walking to Madrid-Puerta de Atocha high-speed railway station and near the main museums of Madrid: Reina Sofia, El Prado, Caixa-Forum and Thyssen-Bornemisza. The hotel has 245 rooms, all of theme equipped with all the facilities needed to make your stay agreeable and relaxing. The hotel has handicaped rooms and smokers rooms. The restaurant Azafran offers the best dishes of Mediterranean cuisine. The hotel has 8 meeting rooms and 9 syndicate rooms. Outdoor events in terrace-garden (up to 450 persons). And all the meeting rooms are open and with natural day light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rafaelhoteles Atocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafaelhoteles Atocha Madrid
Rafaelhoteles Atocha Hotel Madrid
Hotel Rafael Atocha
Atocha Hotel Rafael

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rafaelhoteles Atocha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.