We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but no wifi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Agumar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Agumar to your Saves list
Hotel Agumar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de Reina Cristina, 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Retiro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #257 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Fort Lauderdale
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great location but no wifi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The hotel is located in Atocha by the metro, Renfe and bus stations. Very easy to get to. The staff was nice and helpful. The hotel is a little outdated but overall nice and clean. I was surprised there was no free wifi not even in the lobby or common areas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    234
    134
    47
    17
See reviews for
82
159
39
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, UK
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
551 helpful votes 551 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

This hotel is located in a residential area and very conveniently located for the Atocha train station, as it is about 10 mins on foot. This unfortunately is its only asset. The hotel is terribly tired, not very clean and extremely smelly. My room on the first floor had a strong smell of cigarette and sewage. The later was coming directly from the bidet and bathroom plugs. The room was terribly small - do not be fooled by the pictures on the website of the hotel as they bear no resemblance to the actual rooms - and furnished in a very basic manner. The window looked directly into the internal walls of the hotel - admittedly this is common for many Spanish hotels.
I was so disappointed with the hotel that I did not bother to have breakfast there. Admittedly the hotel is relatively cheap for Madrid standards but you can get several other hotels within the same price range that are much cleaner and certainly they do not have this foul smell.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the internal rooms of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

3 friends and myself took advantage of a Travelzoo offer for a 3 night break in Madrid. It included fights and a 4* Hotel, The Agumar. We booked two twin rooms but with a cheap holiday you never quite know what to expect.
We were very pleasantly surprised. The rooms were spacious and clean. We were on the 7th Floor and didn't have the best views but there were 3 lifts so we never waited very long to go up or down and it was very quiet. The beds were very comfortable and we all said that we slept really well.
The hotel is a 5 - 10 minute walk from the Metro stop at Atocha Renfe, and only 200 yards from a bus stop where the 32 or 26 will take you, by different routes, into the city. We each bought a 3 day tourist travel ticket which gave us unlimited travel while we were there and we made good use of them.
Retiro Park is only a short walk away and there is a supermarket just down and across the road. We bought some things for a pic-nic and took them to the park on our first afternoon there.
That evening one of our party didn't feel well so we decided to go down to the restaurant and have a drink and something to eat. Again we were pleasantly surprised. We all ordered the chicken Caesar salad which was reasonably priced, considering we were in a hotel, and beautifully presented with lovely fresh salad. Yum!
The bar tender and waiter seemed very gruff at first but we soon saw through their disguise and we had a really lovely meal.
On the negative side the hotel is a bit dated and tired looking but that didn't detract from the fact that we had a really great stay. We were there to explore the city and didn't spend much time in the hotel anyway. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

There was a terrible smell in the whole first floor, reminded me of the dentist and fluor and it had to do something with the vent. Well not that bad, but then entered my room with a crappy smell of a stucked sewing line, it was horrible. I asked them to change my room the following day and they gave me one in the eight floor that has the same smell but much lighter. The service was poor, not all of them but the guys at the reception excluding the girl are anythig but friendly or helpful. The room was pretty basic, the pillows were of the cheapest cotton and the mattress was in good condition but also the lowest category. It has a 70's decoration that was ok. Breakfast was just acceptable, but there's a huge gap of improving. Good thing about the hotel, is that is really close to Atocha (5-10 minutes walk, also to Retiro Park) there's nothing in the zone to eat but if you give yourself the 5 minutes walk you get everything.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We took a trip with a large tour group to visit several cities in Spain. Since we flew in and out of Madrid, we stayed at the Agumar the first two nights and the last night of our trip. The first two nights our room faced the street and the noise was truly unbearable. Worst yet, it was stifling hot (they still ran the heat in March) and because of the noise outside opening the window was not an option. The room was clean, but extremely basic. The walls are paper thin, allowing you to hear everything that goes on in the room(s) next door. The bathroom was functional, but only had a very small 1/4 panel for the shower, so water went everywhere each time we showered. The hair dryer was a joke. The wifi didn't work even if you paid for it.

After the first two nights, I was pretty much dreading that we had to go back at the end of our trip. Thankfully, when that time came we ended up in the back of the hotel in a room that didn't face the street. Room was still basic, blow dryer still barely worked, and walls were still paper thin..but at least there was no street noise. Also...the hotel restaraunt was actually pretty good.

All in all there have to be better options in Madrid.... Do yourself a favor and find them!

Room Tip: Stay away from the street if you want any rest
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed here three nights as part of a tour group. I was traveling as a single so my room was located in the center of the hotel around a small atrium/ air vent area. Rooms were well appointed and clean. Safes were of the old type that required a key, which you could get for a 15 Euro deposit. Carlos in the Bar/Restaurant was friendly and very helpful with the menu. The buffet breakfast was good, but they only had two coffee machines which caused some back up. Hotel has free WiFi throughout, simply ask for a password at the Front Desk. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and then came back a week later for another night. The hotel itself is nice, in a safe area near the main train station and park. Our first two nights, we had a room on the front of the hotel, over-looking the road. We had a beautiful balcony with a view of the Pantheon of Illustrious Men. But, the night we returned, we were on the back of the hotel - no balcony, no view. Either way the rooms were nice and clean - I really liked the laminate floors compared to carpet. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was delicious. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Agumar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agumar

Address: Paseo de Reina Cristina, 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#138 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Agumar 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Agumar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agumar Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Agumar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.