We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded value wirh Atocha convenience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Agumar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Agumar to your Saves list
Hotel Agumar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de Reina Cristina, 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Retiro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #257 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Faded value wirh Atocha convenience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I needed one night in Madrid close to the Atocha Station. This fitted the bill. I am sure the hotel when built sometime I guess in the 1970's was a thing of splendour, but it is now looking very tired. The staff were very polite and helpful. My room was clean, although a little old fashioned and the bed comfortable which ensured a good nights sleep. For a city centre hotel on a busy road my room at the back of the hotel was really quiet. The location enabled me to walk into the city centre and a taxi back at night was very cheap. Breakfast was also okay. For the money I paid and the convenience of it location I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    234
    134
    47
    17
See reviews for
82
159
39
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Agumar is really a fairly good hotel with a good location in Madrid. On the bus route to the city and with taxis passing frequently it made access to the Plaza del Sol area easy .. About €7 - 8 taxi fare. While having a good cafeteria of its own, it is walking distance to a decent sidewalk restaurant or one directly across the road and a convenience store 10m away or a supermarket 50m away. Close also to the main rail station, within walking distance for the fit.
The room was old but functional with a recently renovated bathroom and new floating floorboards. It had a desk with chair and a lounge chair, 2 suitcase stands (why don't all hotels realise that any couple is likely to have 2 suitcases?) The room was clean and maintained well but little details in the renovations had been overlooked, like paintwork on door frames and bottoms of doors etc.
A functional safe in the room but old key style and as our introduction to Spanish hotels, no tea or coffee making facilities was a surprise.
There was some traffic noise from the window-doors on the tiniest balcony but the street was relatively quiet overnight, even when our last night was a public holiday and revellers were in the street in the early morning hours.
Reception staff were excellent with good grasp of English and a helpful attitude to travellers .... efficient and competent.
Buffet breakfast and dinner were plentiful with basic European fare, not necessarily hot with staff that were efficient and cordial but distant.
Overall, a good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We took a 3 day stay and the hotel was fine but nothing special. When we arrived we discovered we had twin beds pushed together instead of a double bed. The staff found us a double room but unfortunately this was on the smoking floor and the corridor smelt awful but the room itself was ok. We didn't eat at the hotel but chose to go out and discover Madrid. The hotel was a little off the main tourist area of Madrid but we enjoyed the walking despite the heat at this time of year (no wonder a lot of the locals quit the city in August)! Bathroom was ok if needing a little repair. Beds were comfy. Air con worked fine - thank goodness! Staff helpful. One problem our room key/card kept not working so we had to keep getting it sorted at reception which was quite annoying. The hotel has a couple of convenience stores near by which are great for buying snacks and water (cheaper than in the Park or other tourist attractions). We got 5 euro bus back to the airport which was much cheaper than the taxi we got to the hotel. The bus station is next to the train station and very easy to get to the hotel.

Room Tip: The best views are at the top floors at the front but I think these would be noisy. Some floors are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The best part of this hotel is it's location to the train/bus station. Outside of that, it is far outside of the heart of Madrid's shopping and sightseeing spots (IMHO). Breakfast was mediocre, the room was mediocre (with poor lighting)...the toilet paper in the bathroom almost cut my private parts, it was so rough! In addition, the walls are EXTREMELY thin. I could hear people arguing, coughing, engaging in...y'know. I also stayed at a Melia elsewhere, and I don't understand how the two establishments can both be considered 4-star...the quality is worlds apart! There's no gym, no swimming pool, not even free Wi-Fi! Needless to say, I won't return here.

Room Tip: It's a crap shoot. If your floor mates are loud, you're going to have some trouble getting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Two things to cheer on this trip to the Agumar - the price and the location. I got a deal of around €40/night for a single room, which was not to be sneezed at, especially in Madrid.

I wanted to stay in Madrid but take a trip to Toledo and this hotel allowed me to do that very easily. It's 10 minutes on foot to Atocha train station/metro, so handy for Saturday's big day trip and spinning in to all the sights too.

The décor is a bit 1970s, to say the least and the walls are thinnish, but still, it was a very good deal for what I paid. And it backs on to the Retiro gardens and is very handy for the "golden triangle" of museums, so if you want a nicely situated hotel that's not in the middle of Madrid nightlife action but very handy to the cultural spots, I really would recommend the Agumar.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms seem to be round the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London U.K.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Situated 10 mins. from The Atocha Rail Station close to the Metro and Buses and
20 mins. from Plaza Santa Ana. This is what keeps this place open.
1970s decor, and front of house staff were around long before that!!
A combination of business and family holiday stayers. Rooms are perfectly OK.
Did not eat there. They did a good deal for me.online.
I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The primary reason for selecting this hotel is its proximity (10 minute walk) to Atocha train station where you can take the Airport Bus to Barajas airport or catch a train for a day trip to Segovia, Toledo, etc. The hotel also has convenient access to the metro to reach any point in Madrid. The hotel is also within walking distance to the Retiro Park, Prado and Reina Sofía museums. A grocery store is located within a 5 minute walk. The hotel is average quality with clean rooms (although not sound proofed) and a restaurant. Amenities include mini fridge and hair dryer. The hotel seemed to cater to many tour groups.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Agumar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agumar

Address: Paseo de Reina Cristina, 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#138 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Agumar 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Agumar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agumar Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Agumar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.