We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Agumar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Agumar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Agumar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de Reina Cristina, 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Retiro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #281 of 458 hotels in Madrid
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good enough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

More a good three star hotel, it is located on a busy main road. The night life in Madrid is famous so a room at rear is good. Bathroom lighting is poor - important to us as we had to to be dressing carefully for several parties. Staff very helpful. Our deal included fee wifi throughout stay but we had or renew code every day, always at an awkward time.. Just a niggle I suppose. Within the parameters, it deserves a good 5 stars.

Room Tip: 7th floor (top storey) at rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    197
    122
    42
    17
See reviews for
73
145
30
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is 10 min walk from Atocha train station which you can acess by airport shuttle bus. The room is nice and clean. Breakfast buffet is fair, there may be busy because of its poppular for tour groups. However, Internet is not free, 6euro per day.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here with Trafalgar Tours in September 2012 and found it to be a clean, comfortable hotel. Close to public transit and train station. Good food for reasonable price in the restaurant and friendly service. Rooms seemed pretty up to date and the buffet breakfast was adequate and acceptable for hotels in Europe. Would stay here again when returning to Madrid.

Room Tip: Upper floors are probably the best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here is April. Located on a busy street about 1/4 mile from the train stain and metro. Rooms were small and needed serious updating. Street side rooms could be quite noisy. Breakfast buffet was okay but I just couldn't get used to soupy scrambled eggs and bacon that was just warmed not really fried.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were on a family trip starting from Madrid. The location of the hotel was perfect because it is 5 minutes walk to Atocha Train Station, where you can have a daily visit to the most beautiful city of Spain, Toledo. I strongly recommend you to see that historical city.
The breakfast buffet was also great, I recommend you to reserve bed and breakfast option.
You can also easily walk in 15 minutes to Prado Museum from the hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here with a tour group. The location is excellent. The bus to the Prado stops very near the hotel. The staff at the front desk were as nice as they were helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was very good. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We recently stayed at the Agumar Hotel in Madrid during a bus tour of Spain. I found the hotel to be completely acceptable, as far as European hotels are concerned. One advantage is that you can take the Airport Bus from the Madrid Airport to the Atocha Train Station and walk a couple of blocks to the hotel. There are a few cafes and grocery shops near the hotel also.

It is about a 20-30 minute enjoyable walk to the center of town from this hotel. There is a beautiful park nearby as well.

I didn't notice any problems with the noise that other reviewers mentioned. We did open our windows at night, but weren't bothered by any outside noises.

We did receive free Wi-Fi because we were with a tour group, but free Wi-Fi isn't always available in Europe any way. The breakfast buffet was the usual fare for Europe.

Again, for a basic, safe, clean hotel, we found the Agumar to be acceptable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the top floors to avoid the street noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Agumar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agumar

Address: Paseo de Reina Cristina, 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#148 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Agumar 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Agumar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agumar Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Agumar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.