We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay for the Real Madrid v Man U Champions league 13th Feb 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Agumar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Agumar to your Saves list
Hotel Agumar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de Reina Cristina, 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Retiro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #274 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Perfect stay for the Real Madrid v Man U Champions league 13th Feb 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We were originally booked into the HUSA Chamartin but insisted on changing before we left for the trip. It turned out to be a great decision. I researched the HUSA before we went and based on the recent feedback I insisted on changing to the AGUMAR.

We had a great time, great result, great stadium, great people, great hotel and great staff. The rooms were very well presented and we had rooms with little balconies facing the main road. The beds were one of the best I've slept in. Firm but comfortable with crisp white sheets and very comfortable pillows. The reception area was well manned and very polite and professional. The cleanliness of the hotel was A1. The bar area very well stocked. We didn't eat at the hotel as we didn't have time to eat.

The only downside as we saw it, and the reason why I haven't given it 5 stars, was that it was a little bit out of the centre. The METRO is very easy to understand and get to grips with, fast and efficient and very well signposted with helpful underground staff.

The nearest METRO is Attocha Renfe which is a 3-5 min walk from the hotel and once you're on the METRO you can go absolutely anywhere including the Bernabeu which is literally outside of the METRO Santiago Bernabeu.

This trip will stay in my memory for the rest of my life.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony facing the main road and watch the world go by if you have the time. Nice sunn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    283
    160
    55
    18
See reviews for
104
188
41
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We got this hotel on a hotwire hot rate. It's very close to the train station but in a direction where it's difficult to walk anywhere for dinner, especially with a 4 year old, it's more shady than the hotels in the central areas of Madrid. I would not stay here again. The rooms window looked out on a brick wall. Service was minimum. I have no idea how this got to be a 4 star hotel. Stayed at the Villa Real on another occasion, just a few blocks away, what a difference!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
274 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

my wife and i stayed here for 4 nights and had no problems at all, we had room service one night which was good, the location is good close to metro and close to atocha train station, i would stay there again if on a budget, there are better ares to stay in but they come at a cost this is walking distance to prado museum, the retiro park

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We spent three very comfortable nights in this hotel, it is well furnished, clean and the staff are very helpful. Our only complaint is perhaps the thinness of the walls or was it just noisy neighbours but this is very often a problem nio matter what hotel you stay in. Our bedroom was roomy, comfortable and the bathroom was well appointed. A ten minute walk to Atocha RNFE Metro Station allowed easy and speedy access to the city and many tourist attractions. A gentle 20 minute stroll and we were able to visit the Prado Museum. A further visit to Madrid is a must and a stay at this hotel will be a definite.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the rear of the hotel, no view to admire but it is quiet as there is no major road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights as part of our Gate One Travel Spain trip. The location is great since it is about a qtr mile from the Atocha train station. Take the yellow Aeropuerto bus from the airport for $5 Euros to Atocha and just walk across the road and up the steet.

The hotel is close to the Metro so you can visit Plaza Mayor etc.
You can also walk to Retiro Park, Sophia Art Museum and the Prado Museum from there.

The rooms are clean and have a light wood decor. The desk staff are helpful. The hotel is in a quiet area but there are still many bars and stores near it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Location is fine - close to metro (5 mins), some of the major sites/galleries/museums, park etc. It was very clean so no real problems at all. Dont be put off if the restaurant is not very busy - the food is very good for the price. All in all, for the price we paid for a 3-night break via Travelzoo it was a real bargain. If you are thinking of going to Madrid, give this place some consideration

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are Ok but with the wooden floors perhaps the sound proofing could be improved
Staff were helpful and friendly
The hotel is close to local transport routes and you can walk to the centre in around 45 minutes

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Rafaelhoteles Atocha
#211 of 453 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
Retiro
NH Madrid Atocha
NH Madrid Atocha
#307 of 453 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Mediodia
Hotel Mediodia
#206 of 453 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Hotel Paseo del Arte
#125 of 453 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agumar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agumar

Address: Paseo de Reina Cristina, 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Retiro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#154 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Agumar 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Agumar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agumar Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Agumar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.