We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atlantico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Atlantico to your Saves list
Hotel Atlantico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via 38, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Lumberton, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location. Great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here and loved the location--walking distance to lots of shopping, food, and attractions. Also very easy access to subway. Staff was very attentive and friendly. Rooms were a good size and mine had a very nice balcony and view. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,614
    667
    134
    33
    25
See reviews for
351
1,368
192
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had found this hotel on TripAdvisor and decided to stay based on others' reviews -- very satisfied with our decision to stay here! Great hotel amenities such as comfortable rooms with free wifi, slippers, toiletry items, comfortable beds, air conditioning, and robes. Breakfast is an extra cost but worth it (buffet style - hot and cold options). The best feature of this hotel is the location in the heart of Madrid. Hotel staff was also friendly and helped with all the questions we had. The one drawback is that you can hear your neighbors' doors close; for some reason, the doors to each room close very loudly. Overall, would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The building is currently undergoing facade renovations (historical site) so rooms facing the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

we arrived to this hotel in december for our birthdays
the location of the hotel is great on the garn via close to everything in Madrid
the room is big and comfort, very good accesories, sheets and pillows are very comfotable
the bathroom was marvelous and interval, towels felt like silk...
me and wife extremely enjoyed

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed here for three nights last week and while we thoroughly liked the property and our stay, there were a few annoying things that kept it from garnering 5 stars from me.

The hotel is in a historic building, flanked by a Nike store on one side and another store on the other, and it was undergoing some upkeep while we were there so scaffoldings were covering the front façade. We checked in early and were given a room on the 4th floor facing Gran Via...and of course with views partially obstructed by the scaffoldings. The scaffoldings weren't really much of an issue as, the way it was explained to me, this was mandated by the government to preserve the historic nature of the building...just wished we knew about it when we made the reservations in advance. We requested a room on higher floors, in anticipation of street noise from the late partying crowd of Madrid, but was told none were available.

Positives:
- The hotel was very well maintained and looked elegant...there was never a day that we didn't witness a cleaning lady busily scrubbing away or cleaning the nooks and crannies that one wouldn't even bother cleaning in their own houses...kudos to the cleaning ladies.
- Loved the complimentary slippers and terry cloth robe...and oh that rain shower! That was very nice. The embroidered towels were also a nice touch adding to the elegance of the hotel.
- The room we had was updated with nice appointments and fairly spacious (for European standards), with comfortable beds and chairs/lounge chair.
- Central location for exploring the City Center and all the main Madrid tourist attractions; close to shops and restaurants as well as public transportation with Callao Metro very close to the property.
- Helpful staff
- Complimentary WiFi worked well in our room.

Negatives:
- We requested a double room (with one double bed) but got two singles pushed together...this wouldn't have been an issue, normally, but the single beds each had their own single sheets and single comforters making it a challenge for amorous guests to share the bed....still, the beds were comfortable
- Some street noise still audible from our room on the 4th floor even with the windows closed

I would still recommend this place for those wanting to stay in the Madrid and be in the middle of it all. Great location, good property with high end touches to make your stay a very favorable one...just need to tweak some things to get 5 stars from me.

NOTE: Neither positive nor negative was the full length mirror in the bathroom facing the commode...can be a bit disconcerting when doing your business...like you are doing a number 2 instead of a number 1, or worse, a number 4 (whatever that is) instead of a number 2

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor to minimize street noise. We were on the 4th floor and still heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear HI_MandM.

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Atlántico and we are very happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your in-depth review of The Hotel Atlantico and for your positive and negative feedback to help us improve every day. Thank you very much for your remark which constantly help us in improving our standards and the service to our guests.
We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards,
Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, De.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I just got back from Madrid and a 3 night stay at this hotel. I wish we could have stayed longer! It is a beautiful hotel, in a great location. We had a room with a small balcony. Don't let the reviews regarding noise scare you. If you close the doors you hear nothing! Our room (205) was spacious, beautiful bathroom, full shower and bath tub and the hotel is spotless! Lovely roof top bar! Great location, near metro station and within walking distance to many places to eat and shop. If we ever return this is where we will stay!
Oh, and for those ladies who HAVE to have their own hairdryer (me), the ones provided at this hotel work great!

Room Tip: Don't worry about the noise, take the room with the balcony and shut the doors when you retire f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello croz1.

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at the Hotel Atlantico. I'm delighted that you and your husband enjoyed our location directly in Gran Via street, only to a few minutes from the main sights of the city. Thank you also for your comments about your room. I am happy to know you appreciate our two hairdryers in room!

I very much look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Atlántico.

Yours sincerely,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Malta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are two couples just back from a week's stay in the hotel. Not only is it very centrally located but the service, room size and cleanliness is impeccable. The personnel all made themselves available to our every queries and showed flexibility whenever needed. The rooms are spacious and with all the amenities required for the stay. We slept over in another town for one night so had to check out and in again the following day. They kept our extra luggage and on our return one couple was given the same room whilst the other an eevn better one than the original. Breakfast was ample and very varied and during the whole stay the atmosphere was one of quite relaxed efficiency.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello 06080950.

I am delighted knowing that you and your friends not only appreciated our location, but also our facilities and especially the service of our staff. Thank you for your high score and kind comment.

Thank you again and hopefully we shall be able to welcome your return.

Yours sincerely,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Couldn't be happier with our choice to have stayed here, the room (a superior room) was spacious, clean and had everything we required. The internet connection was more than good enough to stream a movie or two in bed at night and the location was superb, literally right at a metro stop and bang in the heart of the shopping district.

The shuttle service back to the airport was also excellent, with a very friendly driver who drove with care and attention (unfortunately didn't get his name!).

If I ever return to Madrid, Atlantico will be where I stay.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello jonathonmills10.

Thank you for choosing Hotel Atlántico and for sharing with other travellers your kind opinion about our facilities and services. I am happy that you made use of the free Wi-Fi this is a great benefit and appreciated by many of our guests. Thank you also for appreciate our location. I am pleased knowing that our shuttle driver was attentive and friendly along the way. He will be proud of your review.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming your return.

Yours sincerely,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantico

Address: Gran Via 38, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#4 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#4 Family Hotel in Madrid
#43 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 4 star hotel on the Gran Via Madrid, beside the Callao metro station and just 2 minutes from the Puerta del Sol. Free Wifi access through the hotel, soundproofed rooms and free shuttle to the hotel from Barajas Airport. Breakfast Buffet with panoramic views of the Gran Via and enjoy our terrace with panoramic views of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantico Hotel
Hotel Atlantico Gran Via Madrid
Hotel Atlantico Madrid Centro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atlantico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.