We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atlantico

Save Saved
You added Hotel Atlantico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Atlantico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via 38, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 456 hotels in Madrid
Maracaibo, Venezuela
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel and Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is a very good hotel located in the heart of Madrid (Gran Via). The room was excellent (clean, modern, quiet, free WiFi) and the staff was very helpful. I highly recommend this hotel for a trip to Madrid. Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hello David S.

Thanks for taking time to post your review of our hotel.

We do appreciate all the great comment about our location, room and staff. I have shared your kind words with them.

I hope we get to see you again in the near future. Thank you again.
Best regards.
Eva García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,684 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,752
    723
    144
    41
    24
See reviews for
296
1183
171
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I thought Hotel Atlantico was great. You couldn't ask for a better location. The hotel and room were spotlessly clean. We stayed in a basic room and it was just that....basic. I thought is was a decent size for a European room and was very quiet, considering the location. The Deck on the hotel is very nice, though it was a bit cold in December to enjoy it. I would certainly stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear 1mermaid.

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback.

I am delighted to note that you enjoyed the room, size, isolation and especially the cleaning, very importan for us and very appreciated by most of our customers.

We look forward to welcoming you back maybe in spring or summer to enjoy our terraces.

Kind regards,
Eva García-Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Nice hotel on a main street where there's a crossroads for tons of shopping and department stores. Not much further is Plaza de Mayor and a bunch of bars & night-clubs. Madrid folks are very outgoing and so are the people who visit.

Only cons are that the room is relatively small, for a 4* hotel, and the view was...of the alley way. Yeah not entirely what I thought. Guess it's one of those things where you need to phone ahead and reserve a view for an extra price. But hey, I was traveling alone. If I'm with someone, I've gotta have it right.

Staff was extremely helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Zexworld.

Thank you for your review it is appreciated.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the location to be easy access to all areas of Madrid. Most of all though I am especially pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff.

Regarding the size of the room, please note we have many different types of rooms and the size depends of the room booked in your reservation. Our hotel also offers Deluxe rooms bigger than the Standard rooms. Next time I suggest you ask for an exterior rooms with views in your reservation. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying.

The Hotel Atlántico values your business and considers you one of our most important customers. We look forward to hosting you again.

Best regards.
Eva Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed here for our trip in Madrid for 3 nights. The accomodation was very very nice and the staff very helpful. The room was quite big. I loved the old fashion style! I highly recommend this hotel for a trip in Madrid.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Amber T,

Thank You for choosing Hotel Atlántico and for sharing with other travellers your kind opinion about the accomodation, room size, decoration style and staff.

Thank you also for your recommendations. It will be a pleasure to host you again in future.

With best regards
Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed a week at the Atlantico in October and was very pleased with everything about the hotel: accommodation, service, housekeeping, location and great breakfasts. My room was a double superior overlooking the Gran Via and by stepping out a pace or two on the Juliet balcony I had incredible views of the skyline and street action below. The room was spacious and light and a good size, and I would advise booking a superior room for anything over a stay of 2-3 days if like me, you don’t do well in small spaces. The bathroom was excellent in every way, and the cleanliness throughout gets an A+.

Another A+ goes to the staff: front desk, housekeeping, and a special mention to the friendly helpful young man who supervised the breakfast buffet several mornings. A surprising addition to that ample spread was a bottle of cava positioned right next to the orange juice for those who liked their morning mimosas.

One thing that struck me about the hotel was how quiet it was... one would imagine traffic noise 24/7 but it didn’t happen that way unless bedroom windows were thrown open. The double glazing on doors and windows is sufficient to block out all noise, and in my room I never had a problem.

A block away there’s a Corte Inglés that has a supermarket at the basement level, and there one can find just about everything you’d find in a US Safeway. Great place to stock up on snacks, bottled water and vino!

The prices were very reasonable as I was able to book a special from the Trip Advisor website. As I remember, for seven nights it was 40% off per night, a true ‘ganga’. I plan to return next spring and will watch the site to see if if they continue to offer the specials next year. But if not, I’ll still return to the Atlantico -- I’ve stayed in a lot of hotels in Madrid over the years and this one is the best!

Room Tip: double superior high up facing the Gran Via
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear primrose87.

Congratulations for the two beautiful pictures and thank you for putting on line.

We are very pleased to read your comments about the high standing for our cleaning and staff. Our team strive to deliver the highest levels of personal service and everyone in the team, including the management, like to engage with our guests at every opportunity.

Thank you also for your comments about the hotel location and the soundproof of our rooms.

Finally, thank you also for having shared your satisfaction with us and other travelers.

We are looking forward to another chance to host you.

Warmest regards,
Eva García-Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Visited hotel Atlantico in october 2012 for 4 nights. Old fashioned and stylish, good spacious rooms, decent breakfast, great bar/terrace on the roof. The location is just perfect with metro station and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Henrik M.

Thank you for your honest observations and feedback.

We are very sorry that you has not been hundred percent satisfied with your expectations because the style and decor of the hotel were not to his liking. Please note we try to follow the decoration of the building built at the beginning of 1900 with French style.

On the other hand it is glad to know you enjoyed the location, breakfast, size of the room and the roof bar.

Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
Eva Garcia
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Our stay at the Hotel Atlantico was absolutely brill! The hotel was super clean, great location, the staff just couldn't do enough for us! I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone going to Madrid! Just super!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Patricia D.

Thank you for choosing Hotel Atlántico and for sharing with other travellers your kind opinion about our cleaning, location and the services provided by our staff.

Thank you also for your highly recommendations.

It will be a pleasure to host you again in future.

With best regards,
Eva García
Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantico

Also Known As:
Hotel Atlantico Madrid Centro
Hotel Atlantico Madrid
Atlantico Hotel
Hotel Atlantico Gran Via Madrid
Address: Gran Via 38, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#3 Family Hotel in Madrid
#25 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#32 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantico 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emblematic stately building built in 1920, crowned by a tower with a French dome and located in the heart of Madrid. Soundproofed rooms provided with the most modern technology and an elegant decoration. The terraces "Gran Vía" and "Real" offer wonderful views over the city. It is just a few minutes away from the most important historical monuments and museums of Madrid, next to the shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atlantico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.