We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good place to stay in Madrid” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cason del Tormes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cason del Tormes to your Saves list
Cason del Tormes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle del Rio 7, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
Niteroi, RJ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A very good place to stay in Madrid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is well located, the neighborhood is quiet, near the metro, with several dining options nearby. Spacious, clean room with excellent wifi connection. It is a very good place the stay in Madrid.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    203
    43
    5
    2
See reviews for
66
155
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

This was my second stay at the hotel. As before (2007), I found it generally quite satisfactory. It has a light, airy atmosphere, the dining room is rather elegant and there are PCs for non-wifi users (like me). Standards of service and cleanliness were high. The room itself was spacious, with a large wardrobe, comfortable bed and widescreen TV (though it may be best not to comment on the programmes...). However, there were two drawbacks: the lighting was dim and - far more serious - loud, raucous voices from the next room kept me awake on the first two nights. I was forced to bang on the wall - which seems to be a ritual in my experience of hotel rooms. A feedback form is provided in every room and I duly completed mine (in Spanish). The hotel is on one edge of Madrid's Chinatown, which frankly is far less smart than London's. Still, it's also very close to the Gran Vía, the Plaza de España and a number of open spaces, all of which help to make Madrid at its best both beautiful and charming.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

We came there by metro, i couldn't have imagined a better position, it's so close to the metro! Very fast check in and check out and friendly staff. The room was big enough and clean. There is a satellite TV, a minibar and a safe, very nice. Bathroom was maybe a little bit small, but it was a good bathroom. Breakfast was also good, a lot of variety. We were very happy with our choice for this hotel. Great price for the quality we've had in Cason del Tormes!

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Excellent hotel and I cannot commend the staff enough for politeness and helpfulness throughout the few days stay (especially Victor on reception). A clean and friendly hotel which caters for most needs and the location is brilliant for either the metro ride to anywhere in the city or a day of sightseeing (Royal Palace etc). Good breakfast and excellent WIFI. I will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Ideal for getting head down and relaxing after a long day of sightseeing/shopping. The price is bril...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

I booked 2 nights at the hotel based on reviews on tripadvisor. Friends of mine had an airbnb on the plaza de espana & I wanted to be as close as possible to them. In my booking I had requested an early check in as my flight was landing around 6.30am. I arrived at the hotel just after 7.30am & was very blunty told by reception that if i had not received an email acknowledging my request for early checkin that I didnt get it. I was then told that I wouldnt be checked in until offical check in at 1pm so I might as well leave & come back then. My friends hadn't arrived in the city yet so I decided to sit in the lobby until they arrived at 9.30am. Around 9am the person on reception changed. Around 9.30am I went up & asked if I could leave my bag to go see my friends & i'd be back at 1pm. Well this receptionist was completely different & said they had rooms cleaned & ready to check in so why don't i check in now instead of 1pm! When I checked out early in the morning it was the same unfriendly receptionist & when I asked some questions about taxi amount, time to airport he blunty said - so what you want to ask is can I call a taxi for you. Now he was listening to english lessons on the computer so maybe the bluntness is due to english skills but it definitely wasn't a good first & last impression. All the other staff were lovely & the bell boy/lobby person remembered my room so it was easy to pick up my key (its old school hotel were you need to drop off your key everytime you leave the hotel).

Other than the reception issue the hotel is very clean, very central, literally a 1 minute walk to the metro. The hotel is down an alley but as its so bustling elsewhere it doesn't feel unsafe. Breakfast was great, a very good choice, fresh food & they have a nespresso machine so it was a decent coffee.

If you want clean, cheap, central location hotel then i'd recommend it.

Room Tip: I faced the plaza & was fine with the noise but I heard some guests complaining at breakfast so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constanta, Romania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Good quality of price/quality report, but need some refurbish. Also cleanliness might be better. Good position and quiet. Near to Placa de Espana, good place to start exploring Madrid, but in a quiet position. Breakfast OK, however, the coffee is petty bad, usually hotel coffee not so good, but this was tasting really bad.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Киев
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Very nice place to spend some nights in Madrid if you are looking for not expensive room. It has a perfect location in city's center, very close to most famous places by walk, but in quiet place enough. Breakfast was poor, but still, someone can find something to eat. But I would recommend not to take breakfast in the hotel, but get it somewhere outsides, luckily a lot of places around. If you need just a room with a bed and bathroom to be ready for city's adventures - it's your choice. The locker in the room was ok.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cason del Tormes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cason del Tormes

Address: Calle del Rio 7, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in Madrid
#113 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cason del Tormes 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cason del Tormes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cason Del Tormes Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cason del Tormes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.