We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boring” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Madrid City Tour

Madrid City Tour
C/ Felipe IV, s/n | (Junto Museo del Prado), 28014 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Hop On Hop Off Bus)
+34 902 02 47 58
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$26*
and up
Ranked #73 of 302 Activities in Madrid
Type: Bus tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Madrid City Tour is the touristic bus to discover the history and emblematic monuments of Madrid. Our 'Hop on & Hop off'bus service will take you to the most important places and you will be able to stop and get on again as many times as you wish. We offer you two routes because we want to assure you accomplish your sightseeing holidays.
Paris, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Boring”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I had done a similar tour inBarcelona and greatly enjoyed it. The tour in Madrid is horribly boring, it sounds like some intern just looked up each landmark on wikipedia and wrote down random useless information, like every name of every single architect who worked on any bit of a building, or details of what you can see INSIDE buildings we were driving by, or better yet, what the head of some science committee did after he resigned (joined priesthood); or, when driving through a riche neighborhood, the essential information that each house had a small garden in the back yard. Boring and short. If it is warm outisde I would recommend staying as long as possible on the top deck. It gets quite cool there and could be a fun way to spend an afternoon.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    72
    15
    14
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Well worth it if you are staying 2 days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Madrid Hop on Hop off City Tour.
Buy a 2 day pass, see the city rather than using the metro. hop on an off around the route.
recommend you go round the full route first to get your bearings. Then jump off see what you want to see then get back on.
Good value too.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Okay Tour - quick and uncomfortable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

This was booked through Viator and the tour was given by Julia Travel in Madrid. It was a 3 hour coach tour of Madrid, and except for the noisey 20 minute stop at the Hard Rock Cafe (to be avoided), it was one of those "hey look at the building through the window" kind of tours. Far too fast, and if the attraction was on your right and you're sitting on the left, then tough luck. The tour guide did an admirable job of using her English, but it's obvious it's not her natural language.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“2 day sightseeing tour is a tourist trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We arrived in Madrid on the 28th October 2011 at 14:00 hrs and we bought a 2 day bus tour tickets at the hotel where we stayed. which we booked till the 30th October. I paid 48 euros for a 2 day tour of madrid for 2 adults and we started the tour at 15:30 hrs on the same day that we arrived., Obviously we thought that we had 48 hrs to enjoy the tour and on Sunday at 13:00hrs,we wanted to do a last round trip of madrid before we left to Malaga, and to our surprise we were refused entrance by the tour guide,saying that our ticket has expired at 10:00hrs. We were quite dissapointed and tried to explain that we bought the tickets later during the day at 15:00 hrs when we arrived and that it should still be valid since it has not ended the 48hrs. Having argued with her to no avail she insisted that the tickets were valid from 10:00hrs from the date we purchased them. The thing is that we were left stranded far away from where we were staying and my wife and i had to walk a long way from Plaza Mayor to Atocha. I have done the same tour in other cities in europe and never had this problem before. Please make sure when you buy tickets for Madrid bus tour that they are truly valid for 2 days so as not to get nasty surprises.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Boring”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Had to be one of the worst bus tours I've been on, very boring - mentioning lots of building and architects, wouldn't recommend.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madrid City Tour also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Madrid City Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madrid City Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.